Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 23, 2014, 07:00:53 19:00


Login with username, password and session length


Author Sticky post (Click Here to visit source)
Top
Fix for MPLAB® XC Compilers

http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en_us/promo/mplabxc/

Windows, Linux & Mac OS X

13-Aug-2012; Updated for v1.10 compilers.
14-Aug-2012; MPLAB XC32 C++ license activated.
01-Jan-2013; License info update.
12-Jun-2014; Updated for v1.32 compilers.
19-Jun-2014; Fixed issue with XC32 compilers.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 12:00:49 00:00 by Top »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
Print
Author Topic: XC Compilers - Software ONLY  (Read 67647 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 1506


« on: March 29, 2012, 01:08:30 01:08 »

Fix for MPLAB® XC Compilers

http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en_us/promo/mplabxc/

Windows, Linux & Mac OS X

13-Aug-2012; Updated for v1.10 compilers.
14-Aug-2012; MPLAB XC32 C++ license activated.
01-Jan-2013; License info update.
12-Jun-2014; Updated for v1.32 compilers.
19-Jun-2014; Fixed issue with XC32 compilers.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 12:00:49 00:00 by Top » Logged
LithiumOverdosE
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 278

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 372


« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 05:14:50 17:14 »

XC8 is based on HiTech PICC + PICC18 with compatibility mode for C18.
XC16 is ex-C30.
XC32 is ex-C32.

Since MPLABX 1.20 all XCx tool chains are present.

However, now my Proteus tool chain disappeared but that's hardly a problem for the moment.
Logged
MichelM
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 24

Thank You
-Given: 31
-Receive: 94


« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2012, 11:28:08 11:28 »

Hello

You will find user guide and instruction to add compiler plugin to mplab X here

http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en_us/promo/mplabxc/
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/52053A.pdf
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/Market_Communication/addXC8ToMplabX.pdf
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 1506


« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 02:21:24 14:21 »

The link in dl.txt is not working any more.

Original post updated; new links in dl.txt.
Logged
LithiumOverdosE
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 278

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 372


« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2012, 01:11:37 13:11 »

I just tried this fix with XC8 1.10 and the compiler stays in Free mode.

With XC8 1.00 and 1.01 everything is fine.
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 308

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 1506


« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2012, 01:50:39 13:50 »

I just tried this fix with XC8 1.10 and the compiler stays in Free mode.

Try replacing xclm.exe in C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v1.10\bin folder.
Logged
LithiumOverdosE
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 278

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 372


« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2012, 02:05:56 14:05 »

Ah, so that was the trick. In previous versions it was enough to replace it in C:\Program Files\Microchip\xclm directory.  Wink
Logged
marcodassi
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 37

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 20


« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2012, 12:09:13 12:09 »

Just downloaded XC8, XC16 and XC32 1.10; tested with current fix; results:

- XC8 1.10 - fine, works in Pro mode with all optimizations;
- XC16 1.10 - fine, works in Pro mode with all optimizations;
- XC32 1.10 - DOESN'T WORK - the compiler stays in Free mode, no optimizations allowed

I've tried to copy xclm.exe in the "\Program Files\Microchip\xc32\v1.10\bin" folder too, with no luck.

Please fix it, if possibile Smiley
Thank you very much in advance! Smiley
Logged
cranor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 11


« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2012, 04:23:12 16:23 »

The version v1.41 of MPLAB® X IDE is available from here : http://www.microchip.com/mplabx-ide-windows-installer

It solves some of compilation and compiler detection issues with XC compilers but introduces new problems too..
Logged
SpaleKG
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42

Thank You
-Given: 16
-Receive: 15


« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2012, 12:44:27 00:44 »

Just to confirm that current fix works fine on Mac OSX on all XC compilers.

I have one question about MPLAB X IDE.
How to configure project when using bootloader in PIC. For example bootloader uses first 200 bytes of FLASH memory, so how to tell compiler to generate hex to start after that ?
Logged
jukinch
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 1


« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2012, 12:54:45 00:54 »

SpaleKG:
     you can use a project specific "linker script" to start after that memory location.
               Jukinch     
Logged
odessa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 39
-Receive: 11


« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2012, 10:47:22 10:47 »

You can set a code offset from within MPlab X. If you right click your project - select properties - then click linker - Choose additional options from the drop down menu on the right you'll see a code offset option.
Logged
SpaleKG
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42

Thank You
-Given: 16
-Receive: 15


« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2012, 01:33:34 13:33 »

You can set a code offset from within MPlab X. If you right click your project - select properties - then click linker - Choose additional options from the drop down menu on the right you'll see a code offset option.

Does this move interrupt vector adresses too or I need to do that somehow?
Logged
Gallymimu
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398

Thank You
-Given: 57
-Receive: 109



« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2012, 06:36:53 18:36 »

Does this move interrupt vector adresses too or I need to do that somehow?

I'm pretty sure you can't move the interrupt vector addresses.  Some of the PIC processors have alternate interrupt vector tables which follow directly in memory after the primary interrupt vectors but that doesn't help you much with typical bootloader related issues.

You can however point the interrupt vectors to a jump table that resides in your application memory space that can then be overwritten when you load a new firmware.  That way you can update interrupt function locations without overwriting the first segments of memory.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2012, 06:39:41 18:39 by Gallymimu » Logged
RedAlert
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 165

Thank You
-Given: 155
-Receive: 299


« Reply #14 on: October 30, 2012, 08:11:07 20:11 »

Mplab XC8 v1.11

Download:
Windows: http://www.microchip.com/mplabxc8windows
Linux: http://www.microchip.com/mplabxc8linux
MAC: http://www.microchip.com/mplabxc8osx
« Last Edit: October 30, 2012, 08:30:26 20:30 by RedAlert » Logged

"Life would be easier if we had its source code"
marcodassi
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 37

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 20


« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2012, 11:50:05 23:50 »

XC8 1.11 works with latest "medicine" too Smiley Smiley Smiley
Logged
j2mb
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 0


« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2012, 04:48:26 04:48 »

I'm using MPLAB X IDE v1.51 and compiler XC8 v1.11 and is working well!  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1834

Thank You
-Given: 384
-Receive: 382


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2012, 04:50:55 04:50 »

u'r kidding me!?
Logged

nothing to say..
TucoRamirez
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 217

Thank You
-Given: 131
-Receive: 60


Tuco ... dead or Alive


« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2012, 09:31:47 09:31 »

the thing that confuses me about mplabX is that even if my code is ok, mplab show me "!" signs ... (even with XC demos or the application libraries -that compile 100/100 ok ) ...  anyway, the config tool inside is quite nice Smiley 

but, mplabx is crappy slow on my eeepc netbook (1G Ram ... )  ...but in a 4GB elitebook hp runs ok Smiley ...
Logged

Whoever double crosses me and leaves me alive... he understands nothing about Tuco.
LithiumOverdosE
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 278

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 372


« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2012, 12:06:14 12:06 »

I'm using MPLAB X IDE v1.51 and compiler XC8 v1.11 and is working well!  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Well, same here on Win7 x64.
Logged
Gallymimu
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398

Thank You
-Given: 57
-Receive: 109



« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2012, 04:26:02 16:26 »

the thing that confuses me about mplabX is that even if my code is ok, mplab show me "!" signs ... (even with XC demos or the application libraries -that compile 100/100 ok ) ...  anyway, the config tool inside is quite nice Smiley 

but, mplabx is crappy slow on my eeepc netbook (1G Ram ... )  ...but in a 4GB elitebook hp runs ok Smiley ...

I have a lot of problems with this as well.  They don't have the parsing working quite right yet.  It's especially bad in XC8
Logged
gamegurus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 32

Oh what a wonderful morning!!!


« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2012, 10:04:41 10:04 »

After install, How to check, if XC compiler is free or PRO versions?
I tried all ways 1) cmd 2) compile test and see output in MPLABX
but didnt find any such info.
Logged

Indian Gaming Guru
TucoRamirez
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 217

Thank You
-Given: 131
-Receive: 60


Tuco ... dead or Alive


« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2012, 02:07:32 14:07 »

check the project properties, in the part of compiler tou will see the options of optimisation
Logged

Whoever double crosses me and leaves me alive... he understands nothing about Tuco.
Gallymimu
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398

Thank You
-Given: 57
-Receive: 109



« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2012, 05:22:27 17:22 »

check the project properties, in the part of compiler tou will see the options of optimisation

I don't think that tells you, all options always show in the properties.

You need to run the compiler and look at the output.  It should say it is running in free mode and omniscient code generation is disabled if it is in free mode.
Logged
ximo
V.I.P
Inactive
*****
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 0


« Reply #24 on: December 24, 2012, 10:37:32 10:37 »

XC8 v1.12 is working ok with this fix. Tested on Ubuntu 12.04.
Regards
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright © 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC