Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 04, 2020, 04:24:01 04:24


Login with username, password and session length


Author Sticky post (Click Here to visit source)
Top
Fix for MPLAB® XC Compilers

http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en_us/promo/mplabxc/

Windows, Linux & Mac OS X

13-Aug-2012; Updated for v1.10 compilers.
14-Aug-2012; MPLAB XC32 C++ license activated.
01-Jan-2013; License info update.
12-Jun-2014; Updated for v1.32 compilers.
19-Jun-2014; Fixed issue with XC32 compilers.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 11:00:49 23:00 by Top »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8
Print
Author Topic: XC Compilers - Software ONLY  (Read 205598 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 55


« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2012, 08:57:53 08:57 »

This is my first message in this forum. I want to share the source code of my xclm, I developed it before register to Sonsivri.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2240

Thank You
-Given: 710
-Receive: 580


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #26 on: December 31, 2012, 11:50:23 11:50 »

Attached is codeblocks project to generate executables.

juvann: does it work for all compilers?
Logged
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 55


« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2012, 06:03:05 18:03 »

Yes works with all compilers. Tested on Windows and Linux with latest version of xc8, xc16 and xc32
With linux and MacOSX you can compile with:
Code:
gcc -o xclm xclm.c
Logged
jayanthd
Guest
« Reply #28 on: December 31, 2012, 08:33:07 20:33 »

Hi! juvann

Should I compile xclm.c and use the xclm.exe with all the XC Compilers? Will it work?
Logged
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 55


« Reply #29 on: December 31, 2012, 09:11:59 21:11 »

Sure jayanthd just replace the original xclm.exe distributed by Microchip with new compiled and you have all optimizations enabled. In new versions the path of xclm.exe is changed. Now every compiler has own xclm.exe, but you can change every xclm with this.
I posted the source code, because I don't like replace file without see the source code. The original post use the same method, replace the original xclm.exe with a fake xclm.
Logged
jayanthd
Guest
« Reply #30 on: December 31, 2012, 10:11:38 22:11 »

Sure jayanthd just replace the original xclm.exe distributed by Microchip with new compiled and you have all optimizations enabled. In new versions the path of xclm.exe is changed. Now every compiler has own xclm.exe, but you can change every xclm with this.
I posted the source code, because I don't like replace file without see the source code. The original post use the same method, replace the original xclm.exe with a fake xclm.

OK. I got it. Where can I get XC32++ Compiler. There is only standard version at microchip site to try. I need the Pro version of XC32++ Compiler.
Logged
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 55


« Reply #31 on: December 31, 2012, 11:49:53 23:49 »

C++ is include in XC32 from version 1.11. You can download a free license from Microchip. I never tested XC32++, I will try it with fake xclm.

EDIT
New version, now is supported also PRO for C++, just replace xclm in xc32/bin/ directory and works C and C++.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 12:40:46 00:40 by juvann » Logged
pumper
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 35

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 17


« Reply #32 on: February 26, 2013, 02:48:48 14:48 »

hi juvan
Can you upload your code here ?
and give us some information about the source.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2013, 03:01:24 15:01 by pumper » Logged

C++ is designed to give the programmer choice, even if this makes it possible for the programmer to choose incorrectly
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 55


« Reply #33 on: March 01, 2013, 09:55:33 21:55 »

You can download the source from link without problem, I tried it now.
What information do you want? xclm with exit code give the level of license to the compiler. For XC8 there is also a lookup table for calculate an hash.
Logged
Ichan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 387



WWW
« Reply #34 on: March 02, 2013, 03:20:58 15:20 »

Will the XC environment (the MPLAB + all the compilers) run side by side with the older one?

Looks like i have to start working with it, but i always hate updating software if it will ruin my current projects.

-ichan
Logged

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 708

Thank You
-Given: 204
-Receive: 695



« Reply #35 on: March 02, 2013, 03:33:12 15:33 »

I Have XC8, and the older Hi-Tech C 9.80, and 9.83, and the 18 series Hi-Tech compiler running under MPLAB in perfect harmony.  You just select the compiler you want to use as normal.
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Ichan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 387



WWW
« Reply #36 on: March 02, 2013, 03:44:41 15:44 »

Thank you, and how about MPLAB 8.x vs MPLAB XC, will they installed and run side by side?

-ichan
Logged

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 708

Thank You
-Given: 204
-Receive: 695



« Reply #37 on: March 02, 2013, 04:00:10 16:00 »

Each time I tried to use MPLABX. I got pissed off. So I dropped it. I have MPLABX installed and they work side by side. But as I see it MPLABX is still beta. And the documentation is still inadequate. Better with the devil you know, as they say
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Gallymimu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 696

Thank You
-Given: 151
-Receive: 205


« Reply #38 on: March 02, 2013, 10:27:59 22:27 »

Thank you, and how about MPLAB 8.x vs MPLAB XC, will they installed and run side by side?

-ichan

yes you can use them both but you have to use the driver switcher tool each time you want to use the other IDE (the usb drivers for the IDEs is different).  The driver switcher tool is easy to use.
Logged
Brosske
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 103

Thank You
-Given: 74
-Receive: 284



« Reply #39 on: March 03, 2013, 10:15:57 10:15 »

Hi Bob, must say that I did a lot of research before I choosed the compiler/linker/programmer-suite (had to do for work - influencing a lot of novice students).
Finaly I went for Wiz-C.

But now I was forced to go back to MPLAB for library reasons (USB, MiWi and next project will be TCP/IP). We can't ignore that MPLAB is the standard, and the only way MicroChip will assure assistance.
So with a little help of an old-student I find the X not so bad finaly....

The clue is to get 'in' it, and to have someone besides you to figure out the most common errors.
I think µC did do some demo-videos, and should invest more in demo-projects (debugger included).

Greetz. :-)
Logged

Do or do not - there is no try
Ichan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 833

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 387



WWW
« Reply #40 on: March 09, 2013, 10:19:20 22:19 »

I hold my hand to play with MPLAB X for now, but i have to with XC8 as the PICC doesn't support newer chips any longer.

Playing with XC8 for a while, a question: What should "License Type" shows? Or perhaps, is it not important?

With Top's xclm.exe:

Microchip MPLAB XC8 C Compiler V1.12
Copyright (C) 2012 Microchip Technology Inc.
License type: w



With Juvann's xclm.exe:

Microchip MPLAB XC8 C Compiler V1.12
Copyright (C) 2012 Microchip Technology Inc.
License type: Node Configuration


Both compiled successful and gave exactly the same flash and ram usage.

-ichan
Logged

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 344

Thank You
-Given: 46
-Receive: 1694


« Reply #41 on: March 09, 2013, 10:22:44 22:22 »

It's not important but it should read 'Node Configuration' as in Juvann's code; mine needs updating Embarrassed
Logged
SpaleKG
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 35

Thank You
-Given: 18
-Receive: 15


« Reply #42 on: January 04, 2014, 07:47:14 19:47 »

Hi,

Just to add about MPLAB X. You also can change xclm executable to hacked/compiled one (it is the same file as in compiler's /bin folder.

The location of bin folder in MPLAB X app (I don't know where is it on windows and linux but there is location for MAC OS X):
/Applications/microchip/mplabx/mplab_ide.app/Contents/Resources/mplab_ide/bin/

So simply replace original xclm executable with cracked one (this is just in case that MPLAB X uses he's own xclm together with compiler binaries).

One more thing about compiling xclm on MAC OS X. Here is output of GCC compile:

Code:
[email protected]:~/Downloads/Safari$ gcc -o xclm xclm.c
xclm.c:28:13: warning: implicitly declaring library function 'strcmp' with type 'int
      (const char *, const char *)'
        if(!strcmp(asArg[iNdx],"swxc8"))
            ^
xclm.c:28:13: note: please include the header <string.h> or explicitly provide a declaration
      for 'strcmp'
1 warning generated.
[email protected]:~/Downloads/Safari$

My platform:
Mac OS X 10.9.1 (Mavericks)
GCC version:
Code:
[email protected]:~/Downloads/Safari$ gcc --version
Configured with: --prefix=/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/usr --with-gxx-include-dir=/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/MacOSX.platform/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.9.sdk/usr/include/c++/4.2.1
Apple LLVM version 5.0 (clang-500.2.79) (based on LLVM 3.3svn)
Target: x86_64-apple-darwin13.0.0
Thread model: posix
[email protected]:~/Downloads/Safari$

Executable working well, but you can see those warnings, so it can be update for OSX (with few precompiled definitions).

Thanks,

Spale.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2014, 07:52:27 19:52 by SpaleKG » Logged
myheadhurts
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 35

Thank You
-Given: 99
-Receive: 15


« Reply #43 on: January 14, 2014, 03:05:24 15:05 »

Hi

Q. Does the replacement xclm.exe allow the xc compilers to run without being authorised by internet?.


I have an induction motor project I'd like to try....possibly using a DSPic33 and using the Microchip FOC examples as a starting point.

but my main work related PC at home is never connected to the outside internet ,just to a home LAN.

I have copied and installed MPLab and the xc compilers .but they want to connect to the outside world to authorise.

cheers Rob

Logged
LithiumOverdosE
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 320

Thank You
-Given: 315
-Receive: 445


« Reply #44 on: January 14, 2014, 06:10:43 18:10 »

Most likely MPLAB X is trying to install or update plugins.
Logged
Catcatcat
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 224

Thank You
-Given: 130
-Receive: 643



WWW
« Reply #45 on: January 15, 2014, 06:44:53 06:44 »

Quote
I have copied and installed MPLab and the xc compilers .but they want to connect to the outside world to authorise.

That is, if you try to set at 60 day trial. Set as the simplest form and then will take the treatment.
Logged
myheadhurts
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 35

Thank You
-Given: 99
-Receive: 15


« Reply #46 on: January 19, 2014, 03:25:24 15:25 »

That is, if you try to set at 60 day trial. Set as the simplest form and then will take the treatment.

YES..that cured it .. Strange thing is... I thought I had opted to set it to the free version and not the trial

thanks Rob.
Logged
ehnonymouse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

Thank You
-Given: 15
-Receive: 10


« Reply #47 on: January 20, 2014, 08:50:12 20:50 »

For XC8 compiler, the medicine works well for V1.21, but for V1.30 I get the following errors on Win 8.1

C:\Users\Ken\AppData\Local\Temp\s2q8.:8016: error: syntax error
C:\Users\Ken\AppData\Local\Temp\s2q8.:8026: error: syntax error

Windows 7 gives me

C:\Users\Ken\AppData\Local\Temp\s1es.:8097: error: syntax error
C:\Users\Ken\AppData\Local\Temp\s1es.:8107: error: syntax error

Selecting V1.21 again, everything works.

Maybe there's something different in the compiler, but the error message isn't helpful.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2014, 01:16:37 13:16 by ehnonymouse » Logged
Catcatcat
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 224

Thank You
-Given: 130
-Receive: 643



WWW
« Reply #48 on: January 21, 2014, 06:11:04 06:11 »

On my projects, everything works without error (WINDOWS 8.0)
Logged
TucoRamirez
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 301

Thank You
-Given: 243
-Receive: 107


Tuco ... dead or Alive


« Reply #49 on: January 21, 2014, 12:46:40 12:46 »

i'm a little bit off topic but... does the xclm fine works with the dspic new simulink blockset ? because they have a bon folder with a xclm implicated.  best regards
Logged

Whoever double crosses me and leaves me alive... he understands nothing about Tuco.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright © 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC