Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 06:46:46 06:46


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5
Print
Author Topic: JLink V8  (Read 64496 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
thavali
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 203

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 144


« on: December 03, 2011, 02:54:33 14:54 »

This is schematic and firmware of Jlink v8 clone.

please see video file in attached file for more info. Not tested

link: http://www.mediafire.com/?5zlvbl0k86bj1im

pass: sonsivri
Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 11:24:19 23:24 »

Thank you,

This is interesting but, as far as i know, Segger with the latest JLink driver has introduced a kind of "digital signature" of the original firmware. All my JLink clones don't work anymore  Cry

At office we have one original JLink and that, instead, works perfectly. Hope someone will investigate what the original latest firmware checks and find the medicine  Wink
Logged
sharning
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 6
-Receive: 1


« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2012, 06:00:04 06:00 »

I have used a V8 clone on V4.42A and works perfectly. What version have you tried?
Logged
Make_Pic
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 54

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 9


« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2012, 10:47:07 22:47 »

I have used a V8 clone on V4.42A and works perfectly. What version have you tried?
Hmm, Now for clones and new firmware from Se gger 4.39 and more we have problem with trial period 24h Sad
What is firmware u had before a V4.42A?
Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 09:58:08 21:58 »

I can see I am not the only one with issues with JLink clones.

Both Windows and Linux new drivers make JLink clones useless.

I tried to reprogram one of the bricked JLink with an old V7 firmware. JLink gets a successful firmware upgrade, it works but without all the features of V8  Sad
Logged
monkey
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20

Thank You
-Given: 66
-Receive: 10


« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2012, 11:02:47 11:02 »

I can see firmware dated July 26 2011 ok, and later ones do brick.
I am trying re - flash now. Most of the clone ones probably have one of 2 serial numbers that are blacklisted. I tried before looking at the firmware and hex edit a new serial number. Lat time I gave up as perhaps firmware has a checksum ofer some portion of it. I have real J link too so perhaps I can compare. If different serial number perhaps this would solve the "bricking" problem. If somehow they damaged the flash in the ones bricked, just replace the SAM7 processor and re- flash again.

Posted on: April 21, 2012, 10:47:04 10:47 - Automerged

I did further testing and it is quite interesting. The J link is not damaged and the latest firmware has actually updated OK. It is the Windows JLINK DLL that is making the JLINK stop working. I trued the "bricked" Jlink on another PC with older software. This means a HEX search of the Jlink DLL for a serial number blacklist is probably all that is needed. I can see using DLL V4.31J works OK with Firmare on V 8 clone dated Mar 19 2012!
Dont trash your Clone Jlinks!
Logged
Ichan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 840

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 387



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2012, 06:48:06 18:48 »

I just ordered from digi-key the edu version of J-Link (http://www.segger.com/j-link-edu.html), anyone have experience with it?

-ichan
Logged

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2012, 09:09:38 21:09 »

@monkey

Interesting your experiments, I will try soon to flash a bricked JLink changing the serial number and then I let u know here.

In fact I was asking myself how Segger could be able to detect if JLink is the original one or not. A black list in .dll might work, anyway hope to recover my JLink clones.
Logged
omar2009
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Thank You
-Given: 51
-Receive: 181


« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2012, 11:44:47 23:44 »

I can see using DLL V4.31J works OK with Firmare on V 8 clone dated Mar 19 2012!

where can i find these versions: the DLL and Firmare
can you post them here

Thanks
Logged
monkey
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20

Thank You
-Given: 66
-Receive: 10


« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2012, 01:02:39 01:02 »

Older versions dlls and firmware all from http://www.segger.com/j-link-older-versions.html. To go back firmware versions flash clone with original fw then install desired build and run jlink commander and it will offer to update. you can update firmware to very latest version on jlink, but dont use dll after V4.42a. from v4.42b it will spit the dummy!. If you have some need for very latest an use for educational use, just buy real jlink edu as earlier post. At least that model is reasonably priced!

Posted on: May 06, 2012, 12:57:02 00:57 - Automerged

I tried different serial and still no good. Whet we need is the development kit that lists the firmware API, then can trace the function calls to see how it works. You can always reflash your older ones as no damage done and just use older dll.
Logged
Mworks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

Thank You
-Given: 63
-Receive: 7


« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2012, 09:40:31 21:40 »

I have bought two different development boards, both are from renesas for their various MCU, and both contained a Jlink debugger on the board. Curious I tried using the debugger on other devices and it works great, so that is another route to consider.

Made a mistake, the board I have with the segger jlink that works for ARM too is :

http://am.renesas.com/products/tools/introductory_evaluation_tools/renesas_demo_kits/yrdkrx62n/index.jsp

This board is a free promotional board
http://am.renesas.com/products/tools/introductory_evaluation_tools/renesas_demo_kits/yrpbrx210/index.jsp
« Last Edit: June 02, 2012, 09:56:18 21:56 by Mworks » Logged
Diecore
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 77

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 86


« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2012, 11:28:32 11:28 »

Older versions dlls and firmware all from http://www.segger.com/j-link-older-versions.html. To go back firmware versions flash clone with original fw then install desired build and run jlink commander and it will offer to update. you can update firmware to very latest version on jlink, but dont use dll after V4.42a. from v4.42b it will spit the dummy!. If you have some need for very latest an use for educational use, just buy real jlink edu as earlier post. At least that model is reasonably priced!

Posted on: May 06, 2012, 12:57:02 00:57 - Automerged

I tried different serial and still no good. Whet we need is the development kit that lists the firmware API, then can trace the function calls to see how it works. You can always reflash your older ones as no damage done and just use older dll.

Any news if we can use newer dll that 4.42a ? What about Linux? Does anyone tried newer dll with crossworks for example ?
Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2012, 09:34:28 09:34 »

Personally I didn't have time to work about this issue because I am now using OpenOCD under Linux with Olimex-Iso Jtag.

However, I am going to China next month where I have seen they are selling JLink with "original firmware factory" as they state. I will buy some of them, check when I go back and let you know.
If they work perfectly also with the new DLL, I hope to find the right firmware to flash in my bricked JLinks maybe in some Chinese forum.
Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2012, 11:38:20 23:38 »

I confirm to everyone that new JLink clones work as well as the original and are compatible with the latest firmware 4.5, hope to find the original firmware on some Chinese forums.

See here: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16992760539

I am going to China next month, a couple of those are already mine  Cheesy
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2018

Thank You
-Given: 514
-Receive: 477


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2012, 12:43:46 00:43 »

google translate says this is Yuan, is that true?
Logged

nothing to say..
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2012, 04:32:21 04:32 »

google translate says this is Yuan, is that true?

that's  $ 9.00 usd  ?
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2012, 01:24:42 13:24 »

that's  $ 9.00 usd  ?

Yeah Smiley Chinese are my heros
Logged
DreamCat
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 235

Thank You
-Given: 130
-Receive: 77



« Reply #17 on: July 27, 2012, 05:52:32 05:52 »

57 yuan = 8.928309 dollars, today.

all these crack come from outside of China, only the manufacturing done by Chinese.
some people on Chinese forum said that the firmware of JLINK will be updata while it plug into USB port.
@BubbleBobble, you had best to do a test after(before) you bought one.
Logged

May be I expressed the wrong meaning, sorry for my bad english. Please correct it for me if you can.
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #18 on: July 27, 2012, 08:49:32 08:49 »

@DreamCat: yes, I perfectly know I should test it but the price is so cheap that even if they fail with the firmware update, I can still use JLink with OpenOcd.

By the way, no one had experience in extracting the firmware from Segger DLL or how to dump all the traffic through the USB bus? I also have one original JLink with which I can make comparison.



Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #19 on: July 27, 2012, 12:10:26 12:10 »

Dear Friends,

I bought one JLink (Chinese)
Its working fine for LPC21xx, But not working Cortex M0/M4, I tried Firmwares like 4.04, 4.12, 4.15 but no use, its giving error.

Please find attachment, 

Please help me how to come out from this, any hardware changes? or firmware up gradation?


Regards
Chinni
Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #20 on: July 27, 2012, 12:46:19 12:46 »


I bought one JLink (Chinese)
Its working fine for LPC21xx, But not working Cortex M0/M4, I tried Firmwares like 4.04, 4.12, 4.15 but no use, its giving error.

Please find attachment, 

Please help me how to come out from this, any hardware changes? or firmware up gradation?

I think u have bought a JLink V7 instead V8.
If I remember well V7 has not bicolor led while V8 has it. Actually I can downgrade V8 firmware to V7, but I never tried V8 firmware on V7 hardware.

Anyway you can easily upgrade your JLink firmware using USB port and DFU functionality, there is one application note on Atmel website which explain the procedure.

Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #21 on: July 27, 2012, 01:04:47 13:04 »

Hi

Thanks a lot for information, I will go through ATMEL AN,

More input for you is
J-Link is v8.0,
and Some more exercises I have done, I have put this Jtag other system, and executed following command "exec invalidateFw" and back to my system and started working with LPC21xx, and even IAR 6.30. 

Now moved to IAR 6.4 + Cortex M0 and when it asks for firmware upgrade I said "YES" Sad  ( I think IAR_ARM 6.4 uses Jlink V4.50k firmware) Then IAR Work bench hanged, and not able to use JLink. 

at this situation I started 6.3 again on same system and without any firmware change on Jlink and it worked Smiley
but why not on 6.4, and also to use "invalidateFw" command on my system, its not allowing now.

I think I have to try again on other guy's system for "invalidateFw" 

I am totally confused, whats wrong with...

I have Original Jlink, which works on both IAR 6.3 , 6.4 , and Jlink Fw V4.50K or lower with Cortex M0/m4

Logged
BubbleBobble
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #22 on: July 27, 2012, 02:02:57 14:02 »

Let me understand:
- you have one original jlink which works with every EWARM version
- you have one jlink clone which works only with EWARM 6.3
Is this right?

Before going on, do u know you can use your JLink also with OpenOcd? That means all originality checks are skipped and you can simply test your JLink if it is working or not.

Which version of JLink drivers have you actually installed on yr machine?
I guess EWARM 6.4 uses 4.5k DLL for which the genuine check is performed while EWARM 6.3 still uses previous <4.5k DLL where no genuine check are made.
When you install new Segger JLink DLLs usually a popup window appears and you can decide if any of the actual EWARM installation will use that updated DLL.
Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2012, 02:26:42 14:26 »

You are right,
6.4 uses 4.50K version firmware, which may have algorithm to detect genuine Jlink hardware. where lower versions doesn't, 
To come out from my current problem, What I have done is, in fresh Vmware WINXP system I installed JLink Drivers (V4.04 which came with Clone JLink)  and connected Jlink and degraded firmware "exec invalidateFw" command,
and then once it is alright, then I loaded with 6.3 (V 4.40a) its working fine with 6.3

and for 6.4 usage when it asks for firmware upgrade, Iam just skipping :-P and continuing loading my code,

currently this solution working but dont know, may be in future it may effect some where else. we have to search for Genuine check skip process or other problem.
Or any hardware changes in between Clone and original Smiley





Posted on: July 27, 2012, 02:25:39 14:25 - Automerged

Hope my experience helps some one
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 325

Thank You
-Given: 38
-Receive: 1633


« Reply #24 on: July 27, 2012, 04:19:32 16:19 »

The Chinese forums suggest changing string "GDBFull" to "GDBFULL" in V8 firmware to fix problem.

Looking at screenshots at http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16992760539 it looks like that's all they've done!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC