Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 22, 2018, 05:53:16 17:53


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6
Print
Author Topic: JLink V8  (Read 95400 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2197

Thank You
-Given: 635
-Receive: 560


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #25 on: July 27, 2012, 09:27:15 09:27 »

You mean this one is safe to buy?
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 1671


« Reply #26 on: July 27, 2012, 09:53:54 09:53 »

You mean this one is safe to buy?

No, I mean this is probably just the same as all the others but with patched firmware.

The GDBFULL trick will be easy for SEGGER to detect in future DLL releases. What you want to see is a clone running 4.50 and reporting GDBFull as a feature and not GDBFULL in uppercase.

I have disassembled the DLL and I have found some code that detects clones; it looks for serial numbers 11111117 or 805306163 and checks for the GDBFull feature if some other flag is set.

If you already have a V8 clone then just reflash with patched firmware.
Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #27 on: July 28, 2012, 02:48:48 02:48 »

Where can I get patched flashed firmware!
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2197

Thank You
-Given: 635
-Receive: 560


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2012, 06:20:26 06:20 »

No, I mean this is probably just the same as all the others but with patched firmware.

The GDBFULL trick will be easy for SEGGER to detect in future DLL releases. What you want to see is a clone running 4.50 and reporting GDBFull as a feature and not GDBFULL in uppercase.

I have disassembled the DLL and I have found some code that detects clones; it looks for serial numbers 11111117 or 805306163 and checks for the GDBFull feature if some other flag is set.

If you already have a V8 clone then just reflash with patched firmware.
That's what I expected. Unfortunately, I don't have one at hand now to experiment with it.

Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 1671


« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2012, 07:19:04 07:19 »

Where can I get patched flashed firmware!

Try my modified firmware and let me know if it works?

I cannot test 100% as I only have v7 hardware Sad
Logged
dipchip
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 25



« Reply #30 on: July 28, 2012, 08:09:39 08:09 »

I have a v8 clone also.
IAR 6.30 updated the firmware to jlink v4.42 and a few power cycles later it bricked.
I am wondering if anyone else has had experience with this?

So far, I cannot recover it.  The ERASE/TST sequence does not put the AT91SAM7S64 back into
usb program mode.  Is the new Segger firmware malicious, or is this just an isolated case
of hardware failure?

Any comments are welcome.

--Chip
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 1671


« Reply #31 on: July 28, 2012, 08:28:59 08:28 »

So far, I cannot recover it.  The ERASE/TST sequence does not put the AT91SAM7S64 back into
usb program mode.  Is the new Segger firmware malicious, or is this just an isolated case
of hardware failure?

I found nothing malicious so maybe it was a hardware fault but does it show up in Device Manager when you connect it?
Logged
dipchip
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 25



« Reply #32 on: July 28, 2012, 01:14:57 13:14 »

@Top
It 'tries' to show up in the device manager.  Win7x64 just shows it as an 'Unknown Device' when ever I plug it in.
I've done the ERASE/TST sequence more than a couple times... left it sit for more than a minute on each phase.
And, yes I have the SAM-BA and friends installed.

So, after hearing you found no malicious code, I'm leaning toward a hardware failure.
This is really bad timing Wink

--Chip

Posted on: July 28, 2012, 08:01:36 20:01 - Automerged

I've found a supplier that sells the J-Link EDU for 60USD, kinda hard to argue with that.
How may disclaimers have you ever read that said "support the developers, if you like it, buy it!" Wink
I'll order another mcu at the same time to try and repair the clone.  Should be an experience.

--Chip
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 1671


« Reply #33 on: July 28, 2012, 01:42:50 13:42 »

It 'tries' to show up in the device manager.  Win7x64 just shows it as an 'Unknown Device' when ever I plug it in.
I've done the ERASE/TST sequence more than a couple times... left it sit for more than a minute on each phase.

Are you sure you're following procedure for entering SAM-BA Boot Recovery?

TST, PA0, PA1 & PA2 pins high, power up, wait 10 seconds, power down. PA0, PA1 & PA2 will default with internal pull-ups but make sure nothing external is pulling them down.
Logged
dipchip
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 71

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 25



« Reply #34 on: July 28, 2012, 03:42:00 15:42 »

Top,
Thanks for the time and concern.
I went back to the documentation and re-read it to confirm I am shorting the right pins with the right voltage.
I dug out my logic probe... even sharpened the end of it with a file.. glad no one was watching.. lol.
Checked the levels on PA[012] and seen that they were correct while in TST mode.
I thought maybe the suppressor for DM+/- went bad... but that didn't make sense since I had 3V3 elsewhere.
I've tried the entire procedure on an XP-SP3 box (with SAM-BA installed) also, same result.

Like you... I hate to give up on it but I feel the magic smoke is gone.

--Chip
« Last Edit: July 28, 2012, 03:44:36 15:44 by dipchip » Logged
orange
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 126

Thank You
-Given: 702
-Receive: 199


« Reply #35 on: July 29, 2012, 12:34:42 00:34 »

There are many J-Link 8 price in this web site

http://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?SearchText=j-link&catId=0&manual=y
Logged
monkey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20

Thank You
-Given: 74
-Receive: 10


« Reply #36 on: August 03, 2012, 02:20:07 02:20 »

I can confirm the new Chinese units work with 4.50K and latest .DLL files, and the features are spelt as per prior posts.
Logged
Top
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 1671


« Reply #37 on: August 03, 2012, 05:32:44 05:32 »

I can confirm the new Chinese units work with 4.50K and latest .DLL files, and the features are spelt as per prior posts.

You mean with GDBFULL in uppercase?
Logged
nooknikz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 115


WWW
« Reply #38 on: August 09, 2012, 02:04:54 02:04 »

Try my modified firmware and let me know if it works?

I cannot test 100% as I only have v7 hardware Sad

Thank you very much, It work very good
Logged

Mr.PICMan
Alex5532
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 36


« Reply #39 on: September 02, 2012, 03:30:09 03:30 »

has anyone tried the clone of thavali?
Logged
baybay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 25

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 27


« Reply #40 on: November 15, 2012, 01:32:26 13:32 »

solution for verison v4.56d:

open JLinkARM.dll file using a hex editor (for example: HexWorkshop)

go to file offset 0x42220

replace 0xE8 0x8B  bytes to 0xEB 0x03

Logged
BubbleBobble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #41 on: November 16, 2012, 06:45:28 06:45 »

For those who need to recover the Chinese JLink clone:

- open the V8 firmware compiled on 2009 which can be found on this forum
- replace "GDBFull" with "GDB" string
- reflash the SAM7S64 using the SAM-BA procedure

I have an original JLink and the correct string is "GDB" and not "GDBFULL" despite it work in both cases.
I have tested it on several bricked JLink and everything is fine  Smiley


Logged
reksbg
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 48


« Reply #42 on: November 16, 2012, 05:35:48 17:35 »

solution for verison v4.56d:

open JLinkARM.dll file using a hex editor (for example: HexWorkshop)

go to file offset 0x42220

replace 0xE8 0x8B  bytes to 0xEB 0x03

Thanks baybay, your fix plus the firmware I'm attaching worked fine for me. Also the firmware can be updated to the one in 4.56d without any problem. Thanks again  Cheesy.
Logged
CrankCase
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16

Thank You
-Given: 67
-Receive: 3


« Reply #43 on: December 27, 2012, 03:13:46 03:13 »

I have a pretend J-Link V8 that was working fine until a few days ago on Segger 4.42a with an XP / SP3 system.  Its been working fine for months.  No changes on machine.  Suddenly it won't connect: get the "Device has Malfunctioned", Windows doesn't recognize it, etc.  Power rails are OK, etc.  Try different PC, same thing.  Removed Segger 4.42a from PC, wipe out any j-link USB drivers, reinstall everything, no change.  So I install SAM-BA 2.12, raise the TST pin high on the J-Link SAM7S64, power up the board for 10 sec, power cycle and re-connect.  Same thing - Windows XP shows as Unknown Device in device manager, and now when I go to update driver from list of devices it just shows "Unknown Device" as the only possibility.  Before I did the TST pin rick at least I could select a Segger or Atmel usb to serial driver from the list, but now its really dead.

I'm wondering if this J-Link has bit the dust?
Logged
BubbleBobble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #44 on: December 27, 2012, 04:35:59 04:35 »

@CrankCase

I suggest you to:

1- verify the voltage regulator it works supplying the 3V3 to the Atmel microcontroller
2- Boot a Linux live image (like Xubuntu or Mint Mate), open the terminal, then plug the J-Link and see the output of the command "dmesg". At least you can see if the Atmel microcontroller is working or not.

If the Atmel respons, you might think to erase the entire flash using the ERASE pin and then flash a new J-Link firmware. I did this lot of time without any issues.
Logged
CrankCase
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 16

Thank You
-Given: 67
-Receive: 3


« Reply #45 on: December 27, 2012, 05:26:47 05:26 »

Getting closer - 3.3V rails verified OK.

Yeah, that's what is was.  I had to hit the ERASE pin with the VDD while it was powered up, THEN did the procedure with the TST pin. NOW it will connect up to Windows where I've got SAM-BA installed, and it will install the the driver for "AT91 USB to Serial Converter".  That's all good now.

Except when I run SAM-BA, I select the USB deivce / Com 9 (That's what the driver reports it as) , select 'Sam7S64,, and connect - and the rest of Sam-BA never opens up.  I have double-checked the crystal at 18.432Mhz.

If I could just get to the next step of loading firmware....

Posted on: December 27, 2012, 12:02:50 12:02 - Automerged

Well, I moved to another PC.  Got SAM-BA installed and this time it went slicker than snot - got the modified BIN file loaded, power cycled the cloned J-Link and now it thinks its a J-Link again, and this time Segger 4.58 is running fine.

Seems to be talking to the M3's again.

Thanks BB!!
Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #46 on: December 28, 2012, 02:40:05 02:40 »

Hi,

can some one help me with .BIN file programing to JLink with SAM-BA, any snapshot of settings or any procedure?

Regards,
Chinni
Logged
BubbleBobble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 5


« Reply #47 on: December 29, 2012, 04:16:41 04:16 »

@CrankCase
You can find an old version of J-Link V8 firmware on Internet. Google for it.

After found the BIN file, you have to open it with an hex editor and change the string "GDBFull" with "GDB" and also change the serial number.
As far as I remember the serial number is not a string but just raw hex data nearby the address where the "GDBFull" string is located. Remember the raw data are little-endian. For the new serial number use something like "4054xxxx" where xxxx are random numbers.

Save the new BIN file and flash the erased J-Link using SamBa procedure.

At the moment I am on holidays and I can't provide you the BIN file patched just now. If you have any troubles please wait till the second week of this January when I go back to office. Update us how is going.

@chinninitin
At the moment I am on holidays, I can explain step by step the procedure after the 1st week of this January when I go back to office.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 04:20:07 04:20 by BubbleBobble » Logged
urosg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 0


« Reply #48 on: January 03, 2013, 02:28:55 14:28 »

I just fixed my cloned jlink with the firmware in attachment.

I did the "ERASE" and "TST" procedure to get the SAM-BA functionality back to the MCU and then flashed it with the new firmware after that I also did the upgrade JLINK software suggested and it works AOK.
Logged
chinninitin
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 37



« Reply #49 on: January 04, 2013, 08:25:20 08:25 »

I just fixed my cloned jlink with the firmware in attachment.

I did the "ERASE" and "TST" procedure to get the SAM-BA functionality back to the MCU and then flashed it with the new firmware after that I also did the upgrade JLINK software suggested and it works AOK.

Hi,
Can you post screenshots/procedure  of SAM-BA, to flash JLINK with .bin file which you posted.

Thanks
Chinni
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC