Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2016, 03:13:41 15:13


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)  (Read 3999 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
pecpys
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 3


« on: December 18, 2010, 05:19:33 05:19 »

Hi. I change LCD on explorer16 from Tryly's LCD 16x2 3.3V (TSB1G7000-E) to be Lumex LCM-SO1062 (16x2 5V)
I can not see any thing on LCD. Do I modify anything in code? Now i use TCP stack of microchip.
Logged
ALLPIC
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 113

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 72


« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2010, 05:25:09 05:25 »

Previous one is 3.3V and now you have connected 5V make sure that all datalines of LCD connected to microcontroller to 5V tolarrent pin. then only LCD will start otherwise Microcontroller is gone now.
Logged
pecpys
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 3


« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 05:47:05 05:47 »

On explorer16 board have 4 footprint for connect any type of LCD. And I think I use LCD with correct footprint on board.
Power supply to LCD is 5V already.
I worry that the problem is come from code. but I don't know where is it?
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2010, 04:55:03 16:55 »

Sounds like it is a problem with your code. do you have the data sheets for TSB1G7000-E & LCM-SO1062?
A quick google search shows the LCM-SO1062 is used alot on explorer16 board, have you tried your code in proteus?
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
gan_canny
Junior Member
**
 Warned
Online Online

Posts: 85

Thank You
-Given: 98
-Receive: 25


« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2010, 06:47:54 18:47 »

There are very few exceptions to the advice of reading the spec before connecting anything. Some LCD's have a controller and bias support built into an attached PCB. Others don't. There are a number of popular controllers out there but even with a popular controller the interface can be 4 bit or 8 bit. An incorrect bias voltage can ruin a LCD since the crystal fluid acts much like a very sensitive battery that will fail on over voltage. Even with the correct bias and the correct interface LCD's differ in the contrast voltage ( fine adjustments to the bias). LCD's differ in the initialization both to commands and to timing. Simulators are of limited value since they are at best an approximation to reality and at worst simulate nothing of value. Now its cheaper to incorrectly wire a simulator than the real thing which may fail for good so simulators aren't valueless.
Logged
janakfun
Junior Member
**
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 36

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 4


« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 05:46:21 05:46 »

I would rather suggest to compare the datasheets of two LCDs. You may look at LCD initialization mainly command sequences and command value. If you find any difference then do the necessary changes in code where LCD driver is written.
Logged

Regards,

Janak
robban
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 265

Thank You
-Given: 34
-Receive: 38


Warrior


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2011, 03:04:18 15:04 »

I'm not sure, but is Explorer 16 board really meant for TCP/IP stack? Myself, I use PICDEM.net 2 board...
Logged

Code Warrior
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2011, 05:34:48 17:34 »

On explorer16 board have 4 footprint for connect any type of LCD. And I think I use LCD with correct footprint on board.
Power supply to LCD is 5V already.
I worry that the problem is come from code. but I don't know where is it?

Draw circuit in Proteus, run your code. If not works than post your circuit and your code; maybe we can help.

Tom

//===============================//

Actually you can go to "C:\Program Files\Labcenter Electronics\Proteus 7 Professional\SAMPLES\VSM MPLAB Viewer\Eval Boards\Explorer16 with PIC24FJ128GA010" and use this Explorer16 SCH.

Tom
« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 05:43:15 17:43 by TomJackson69 » Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
Bob
Guest
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2011, 01:04:59 01:04 »

Sure does appear like a code problem perhaps you need to check the data sheets again. If you still get problems let me know.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC