Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2016, 05:06:03 17:06


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 2-wire 4-20mA PIC Iterface  (Read 8585 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Hexer379
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 0


« on: January 18, 2008, 11:20:28 11:20 »

Hello @all

i have a problem , with a 2-wire 4-20mA interface ...
this interface is for a "Pressure measurement" ...
the device has an Input of 24V DC ...

i have no idea for an interface to 0-5V AD-Input .


thanks for Help ...
Logged
shaiqbashir
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73

Thank You
-Given: 16
-Receive: 4


Instrumentation..My Extreme Passion


WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 12:47:32 12:47 »

you have to use PIC ADC channels for this task. You need to convert voltage from the pressure sensor into current and then convert that current into voltage again at ADCs input.
Logged
FriskyFerret
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 358


Put it in, take it out.


WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 03:01:31 15:01 »

The 4-20 ma current loop is very common in industry and rather simple to work with.

The pressure sensor will let a current pass through it that is equal to the pressure it senses. The pressure sensor, also known as the 'transmitter' in current loop applications, will let exactly 4 mA of current flow when it senses its minimum pressure and 20 mA when it senses its full-scale pressure.

A simple example: A current loop pressure sensor rated for 0-10 PSIG has no pressure applied to its input port. It will let exactly 4 mA of current flow through the loop. If you then apply 10 psi, it will let 20 mA of current flow. If 5 PSI of pressure is applied, the transmitter will allow 12 mA of current to flow in the loop.

The way you convert the current to voltage is by inserting a resistor in the current loop. The most popular resistor value for this purpose is 250 Ohms, since it will produce a 1-5Vdc signal when 4-20ma flows through it!

Simply measure the voltage across the resistor --> which is exactly equal to the current --> which is exactly equal to the pressure at the transmitter. Choose a 1% metal film type resistor for stability is accuracy is important.

You really need to Google '4-20ma current loop' and understand the simple theory of industrial current loops or you're gonna burn that nice pressure sensor out.
Logged

Dancing pants and leotards, that's what I'm talkin' about!
Taner
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 152

Thank You
-Given: 298
-Receive: 57


« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 08:39:02 20:39 »

Here is a circuits of converter
4-20mA to 0-5V
 Smiley
Logged
free
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115

Thank You
-Given: 66
-Receive: 13


« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2008, 01:28:13 01:28 »

You can use XTR115
Logged

Some dream to escape reality, some to change it forever.
- Soichiro Honda -
FriskyFerret
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 358


Put it in, take it out.


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2008, 04:31:31 04:31 »

Quote
Here is a circuits of converter 4-20mA to 0-5V

Circuit sets zero and gain. This unnecessarily complicates the circuit. Do the span and gain in software. There is no need to buffer the voltage off the resistor since the output impedance is sufficiently low for most any A/D converter.
Logged

Dancing pants and leotards, that's what I'm talkin' about!
Hexer379
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 0


« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2008, 04:25:02 16:25 »

Hello ...


thank you all very much !!! ...
i have test it with a 250Ohm Res. and a Z-Diode with 5,1V to protect the ADC Input ...

IT WORKS !!!

Thanks ... Grin
Logged
super_iori
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 08:25:39 08:25 »

Hello...
I am using the chip xtr115 or xtr117, and I want to know if anyone have used it b4?
Logged
anemon06
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Thank You
-Given: 31
-Receive: 34


« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2008, 11:47:44 11:47 »

I need 4-20 mA to 0-10 V converter circuit. Figure is 4-20mA to 0-5V. How is this schmetics converted 0-10V.
Logged
Taner
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 152

Thank You
-Given: 298
-Receive: 57


« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2008, 08:29:06 20:29 »

This circuit is wrong by me,
look here:
http://www.sonsivri.com/forum/index.php?topic=4092.0

 Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC