The Godfather talking
You may crack software. How about me?
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 04, 2022, 10:06:09 22:06


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: i made a 4 layer board layout a 100khx esr meter design  (Read 717 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
sphinx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 784

Thank You
-Given: 554
-Receive: 215



« on: November 07, 2022, 09:19:54 21:19 »

this a project from nuts and volts magazine 100khz capacitor esr meter

it is my first time i am fiddling with 4 layer board using top layer as signal it seemed enough while routing it
so i chosed to make the other layers as +5v -5v and a ground layer i am looking for input on the idea itself
and if i made a bad/good decision and if the routing istelf is ok, maybe the order of s.c. planes are in a good
order

one thing that could be changed is to use smaller footprint voltage regulators like SOT-223-4 or TO-252-3
Logged

the more you learn, the lesser you get to understand. is it then good know alot but not understand what you know or.......
bobcat1
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 271

Thank You
-Given: 3667
-Receive: 82


« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2022, 08:06:01 08:06 »

this a project from nuts and volts magazine 100khz capacitor esr meter

it is my first time i am fiddling with 4 layer board using top layer as signal it seemed enough while routing it
so i chosed to make the other layers as +5v -5v and a ground layer i am looking for input on the idea itself
and if i made a bad/good decision and if the routing istelf is ok, maybe the order of s.c. planes are in a good
order

one thing that could be changed is to use smaller footprint voltage regulators like SOT-223-4 or TO-252-3

Hi
You should add a PDF schematic for anyone who don't have install the software
Logged
sphinx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 784

Thank You
-Given: 554
-Receive: 215



« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2022, 10:54:30 10:54 »

info/docs are in the file above

here is pdf wirg schematics and layout
layer 1 = signal
layer 2 = +5v
layer 3 = -5v
layer 4 = gnd

layout is sorta straight forward
from left to rirght
power input
oscillator
capacitor test
panel output

p.s. every project i make i have a folder with documentation and other extra info like compoent exchange or other info

a schematic was already in the doc/info  folder
« Last Edit: November 13, 2022, 03:05:36 15:05 by sphinx » Logged

the more you learn, the lesser you get to understand. is it then good know alot but not understand what you know or.......
digitalmg
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 124
-Receive: 85


« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2022, 03:19:36 15:19 »

For 4-Layer Stackup.
Very common, but not ideal Stackup
Top layer 1 - High Speed Signals
      layer 2 - GND
      layer 3 - Power Plane
      layer 4 - Low Speed Signals

Recommended
Top layer 1 - Signals/Power
      layer 2 - GND
      layer 3 - GND
      layer 4 - Signals/Power
Why? there is a lot to explain, watch a webinar that explains why:
https://go.teledynelecroy.com/l/48392/2022-05-12/8g9wzc?&utm_source=si-academy&utm_medium=banner-ad&utm_campaign=22-06-14-bogatin-3-design-tricks

I think you should change layer 2 to be gnd. 
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 893

Thank You
-Given: 223
-Receive: 880



« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2022, 04:02:44 16:02 »

For 4-Layer Stackup.
Very common, but not ideal Stackup
Top layer 1 - High Speed Signals
      layer 2 - GND
      layer 3 - Power Plane
      layer 4 - Low Speed Signals

Recommended
Top layer 1 - Signals/Power
      layer 2 - GND
      layer 3 - GND
      layer 4 - Signals/Power
Why? there is a lot to explain, watch a webinar that explains why:
https://go.teledynelecroy.com/l/48392/2022-05-12/8g9wzc?&utm_source=si-academy&utm_medium=banner-ad&utm_campaign=22-06-14-bogatin-3-design-tricks

I think you should change layer 2 to be gnd. 
I think in this particular design with 100Khz signals. It do not matter much much. In fact 4 layers is kind of overkill. Not that it will do any harm though. 
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
bigtoy
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 233

Thank You
-Given: 291
-Receive: 293


« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2022, 07:40:34 19:40 »

Agreed - 4 layers won't really help anything, but it won't hurt either (well, aside from the hurt wallet due to the more expensive PCB).

Just a warning that if changing to a smaller voltage regular package, first make sure you know its power dissipation. Sometimes a larger part is required for dissipating the heat.
Logged
sphinx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 784

Thank You
-Given: 554
-Receive: 215



« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2022, 08:09:03 20:09 »

yes one has to think about the thermal aspect of a smaller package, i was also thinking about the price as well
if a smaller package was more expensive, i wouldnt choose it
Logged

the more you learn, the lesser you get to understand. is it then good know alot but not understand what you know or.......
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC