Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 04, 2021, 01:04:08 01:04


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: MOTOROLA MC68332ACFC16 QFP-132 32-Bit question  (Read 1219 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191

Thank You
-Given: 175
-Receive: 74


« on: January 10, 2021, 06:29:49 18:29 »

People,

I am repairing an old multi-phase power meter that uses this CPU. From the data sheet, it is an ROMLESS device. I suspect that the CPU may have some non functional ports. Will it be possible to replace this, since I assume all the code lives outside the CPU? I already read all the surrounding EPROMs and they "appear" to be ok.

Any advice as always, much appreciated.

 
Logged
token0
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41

Thank You
-Given: 40
-Receive: 76


« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2021, 08:26:24 20:26 »

First advice would be: dump ROM chip.
The only hassle I see is 132 pins to desolder. Oh, by the way, this MCU made by Freescale nowadays.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2390

Thank You
-Given: 805
-Receive: 645


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2021, 09:59:38 21:59 »

watch those:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OUFYUnMq9c
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZWbPhIBSgs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyaRUv3dS20
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFF6wD9ibi8
Logged
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191

Thank You
-Given: 175
-Receive: 74


« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2021, 02:08:16 02:08 »

 Wish I had the schematic of the unit  Sad.  It would make this so much easier. If anyone has a schematic copy of a XITRON 2500 power analyzer, please share. I could not find anything searching the Internet.
Logged
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191

Thank You
-Given: 175
-Receive: 74


« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2021, 03:02:21 03:02 »

Well, the chip arrived today. I installed it and there is life! I will still have to verify if it is working correctly, but at least it boots up now. Previously, it just displayed zeros.  Smiley
Logged
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 191

Thank You
-Given: 175
-Receive: 74


« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2021, 01:14:05 01:14 »

I am happy to report that everything seems to be working. It also looks much better with a face-lift. The old lcd display was really hard to read on the bench if you don't have direct lighting on the unit.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2021, 01:16:35 01:16 by PM3295 » Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC