Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 26, 2020, 04:01:37 04:01


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Needed: Spice model of a vacuum tube (must include filament action)  (Read 1415 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 174

Thank You
-Given: 151
-Receive: 68


« on: November 18, 2020, 06:02:13 18:02 »

People,

I am looking for a spice model of a vacuum tube where the anode current will also react to the applied filament/heater current. The specific tube model is not really that important, as long as I can get between 4-15mA of anode current and handle up to 700 V max of anode voltage.

I want to design a jig to test the emission's regulator power supply used in some mass spectrometers.

They vary the ion source emissions by sensing and controlling the filament current. All the spice tube models I found so far, ignores the heater in the model.
I think it is possible to use a cheap vacuum tube when testing these regulators, without risking damage to the expensive ion source tube.

Before I start building the design, I would like to simulate it first.

Any help or ideas appreciated.
Logged
optikon
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 787

Thank You
-Given: 910
-Receive: 1932


« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 07:56:20 19:56 »

People,

I am looking for a spice model of a vacuum tube where the anode current will also react to the applied filament/heater current. The specific tube model is not really that important, as long as I can get between 4-15mA of anode current and handle up to 700 V max of anode voltage.

I want to design a jig to test the emission's regulator power supply used in some mass spectrometers.

They vary the ion source emissions by sensing and controlling the filament current. All the spice tube models I found so far, ignores the heater in the model.
I think it is possible to use a cheap vacuum tube when testing these regulators, without risking damage to the expensive ion source tube.

Before I start building the design, I would like to simulate it first.

Any help or ideas appreciated.


Can a high voltage transistor not be used?

I am kind of doubtful you will find a full tube model with heater dynamics.. if you must use a tube, you may have to just model the effects yourself if they are relevant.

I do not quite understand your application.
Logged

I can explain this to you. I can't comprehend it for you.
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 174

Thank You
-Given: 151
-Receive: 68


« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2020, 08:28:12 20:28 »

optikon,

I would like to use a tube model if possible. I will make up a macro if I can't find a model. I have seen some mentioning on old tube forums of spice models, including heaters, but none of the links work anymore.
 
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4401

Thank You
-Given: 760
-Receive: 3255


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2020, 12:39:39 00:39 »

links are working - models may not, but text says heaters are used in the models.

http://tdsl.duncanamps.com/dcigna/tubes/spice/
Logged

Note: So you have Not made a Post in the Forum. Without Posts we have No Forum, That's ok Can I Mute you now sir
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 174

Thank You
-Given: 151
-Receive: 68


« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2020, 01:50:16 01:50 »

pickit2,

Thanks for the link. It appears that the heater is a separate model if I read it correctly. Any idea how one would install this complete model so that it uses the data in the tube model?

Logged
TucoRamirez
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 305

Thank You
-Given: 252
-Receive: 110


Tuco ... dead or Alive


« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2020, 07:46:51 07:46 »

for example, on ltspice IV  you can invoke them just attaching a spice textblock that includes the lib file path (you can put it on the same folder of your design to point it easily)

check this:  https://www.ieee.li/pdf/viewgraphs/ltspice_importing_third_party_models.pdf
Logged

Whoever double crosses me and leaves me alive... he understands nothing about Tuco.
solutions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1796

Thank You
-Given: 636
-Receive: 892



« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2020, 01:29:29 13:29 »

This looks pretty good: http://www.normankoren.com/Audio/Tubemodspice_article.html

Heater model: http://tdsl.duncanamps.com/dcigna/tubes/spice/heater.inc
Logged
sadman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 528

Thank You
-Given: 1383
-Receive: 1797



« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2020, 03:58:15 15:58 »

have you ever heard that a complete spice simulation model pack available for Proteus if you interested I will share
Logged
PM3295
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 174

Thank You
-Given: 151
-Receive: 68


« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2020, 04:27:38 04:27 »

have you ever heard that a complete spice simulation model pack available for Proteus if you interested I will share

Yes, I am definitely interested!
Logged
sadman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 528

Thank You
-Given: 1383
-Receive: 1797



« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2020, 10:18:33 10:18 »

Yes, I am definitely interested!

As all these models are created with Proteus 6.6, so they work properly in new version you have to recompile to do this first you have to import the design file under legacy import option.
To view the associated model from design menu then Goto Sheet option, to recompile use tool menu and model compiler hope this will help.

sadman
Logged
solutions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1796

Thank You
-Given: 636
-Receive: 892



« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2020, 12:41:22 12:41 »

Is there an export option in Proteus to non-Proteus platforms like PSPICE, SPICE, or LTSPICE? For those of us who don't use Proteus?
Logged
sadman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 528

Thank You
-Given: 1383
-Receive: 1797



« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2020, 02:16:39 14:16 »

Is there an export option in Proteus to non-Proteus platforms like PSPICE, SPICE, or LTSPICE? For those of us who don't use Proteus?


Proteus models are based on spice3f5 if I am not mistaken you can export model netlist by accessing the child sheet of model and then import that netlist for conversion for an idea look at this web page

https://techdocs.altium.com/display/AMSE/Linking+a+Simulation+Model+to+a+Schematic+Component

 
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC