Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 27, 2018, 12:57:51 12:57


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: Windows 32 vs 64  (Read 1628 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4084

Thank You
-Given: 646
-Receive: 2332


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« on: December 14, 2017, 06:29:07 06:29 »

Why are you still using 32bit in this day.
Logged

Note: A forum without posters is not a forum.
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2163

Thank You
-Given: 614
-Receive: 543


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 11:58:01 11:58 »

for PCs that don't support 32-bit Cheesy
But, this is very rare these days..
Logged
Mega32
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 178

Thank You
-Given: 86
-Receive: 37


« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 01:22:44 13:22 »

To avoid driverproblems w. older hardware.
Not all hw has 64-bit drivers.

Mega32
Logged
Gallymimu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 669

Thank You
-Given: 148
-Receive: 194


« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2017, 10:12:42 22:12 »

I still play super nintendo.  16bit 4eva
Logged
sphinx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 590

Thank You
-Given: 298
-Receive: 147



« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2017, 10:49:44 22:49 »

maybe some things are not supported anymore like simple mechanical apparatus. i know some place where win95 is still
used because of software and drivers to operate lathes and mills that are still in use, and not only that the cad software
that supports the lathe i still in DOS.
Logged

the more you learn, the lesser you get to understand. is it then good know alot but not understand what you know or.......
PICker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114

Thank You
-Given: 76
-Receive: 61


« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2017, 12:15:08 00:15 »

I use Windows at 64 bit but with a lot of "*32" processes.
Sometimes the problem of the old 32 bit drivers is crucial.
The emulation layer of the CPU can help in this  situation (VirtuaBox and others CPU hypervisors ...but this is another topic)
Logged
sambo
Cracking Team
Active Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 128

Thank You
-Given: 180
-Receive: 399


DON'T GIVE UP, BUT CHANGE SOMETHING WHEN NEEDED!


« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 08:52:47 08:52 »

For software reverse engineering I still use 32bit OS. There are lot more tools and softs for this topic. Also I think x64dbg has still too many bugs compare to olly!
Logged

*** rest in peace is good, but living in peace is better ***
towlerg
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186

Thank You
-Given: 343
-Receive: 80

What is this for?


« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2017, 01:47:42 13:47 »

Give me one good reason to upgrade all my existing x86 apps (after all what's the point of upgrading the OS to x64 and running x86 apps?) which I'm completely happy with both in terms of performance and stability.

Will a typical application run faster? Use less memory? use less CPU? be in some spiritual way "better"? offer me any advantage what so ever?

For me it only becomes a meaningful exercise when a significant number of application either no longer support x86 or offer some real advantage to the x64 version. I only know of one app that I would like to upgrade and cannot because the latest version does not support x86 - VidCoder. And even in that case the x86 version still functions perfectly well.
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4084

Thank You
-Given: 646
-Receive: 2332


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2017, 05:02:53 17:02 »

lol
funny you should say Vidcoder, how many cpu threads are you using.
me 6 core, 12 threads cpu, 24GB memory. plus GTX1070 with CUDA Cores: 1920.

I could not go back to x86, I like my 4 lcd screens.
Logged

Note: A forum without posters is not a forum.
mars01
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 384

Thank You
-Given: 419
-Receive: 996



« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2017, 06:46:46 06:46 »

Some people who still use the parallel port and MACH3 with their CNC machine, might still be using x86 Windows OS (not me, I use a FPGA driven BOB).
In x64 OS, parallel port is no longer supported.
LE: Nice rig, pickit!
Logged
towlerg
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186

Thank You
-Given: 343
-Receive: 80

What is this for?


« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2017, 08:53:03 08:53 »

Quote
lol
funny you should say Vidcoder, how many cpu threads are you using.
me 6 core, 12 threads cpu, 24GB memory. plus GTX1070 with CUDA Cores: 1920.

I could not go back to x86, I like my 4 lcd screens.

Ah, the classic tortoise and hare. Do you really need all that processing power, running a mini NSA or bitcoin mining?
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4084

Thank You
-Given: 646
-Receive: 2332


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2017, 01:22:17 13:22 »

no the Seagate Nas is always running. Smiley
Logged

Note: A forum without posters is not a forum.
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 570

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 613



« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2017, 05:33:05 05:33 »

Altium Designer was x86 or 32 bit up to version 18.
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
intel
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 386

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 1562



« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2017, 08:43:39 08:43 »

For Mentor Graphics Xpedition Enterprise VX.2.2, I have been working on installing both 32-bit and 64-bit files together. And I learned from this experience that Mentor Graphics's head is also confused in this matter.
Logged

In life, most genuine mentor is science.
towlerg
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186

Thank You
-Given: 343
-Receive: 80

What is this for?


« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2017, 11:04:26 11:04 »

Quote
no the Seagate Nas is always running.

Sorry that to clever for me (maybe why I won't run x64)
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
boba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17

Thank You
-Given: 116
-Receive: 6



« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2018, 04:57:20 04:57 »

I use W64 but I have a few old W16 apps which I still need with old hardware (eg ancient eprom programmer) so W32 is sometimes handy and I keep a spare PC just for these.
Logged
SB7
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 266

Thank You
-Given: 145
-Receive: 580


Cry Havoc and let slip the dogs of war


« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2018, 06:32:52 06:32 »

wait ... there are still people using 32bit systems in the world ?   who knew ?  LOL
Logged
h0nk
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150

Thank You
-Given: 116
-Receive: 98



« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2018, 11:31:15 11:31 »

You may be able to use a ridiculous old version of Pagemaker
(now InDesign) to produce a book even on 16 bit Windows 2.11.
And nobody will notice the difference in the print.

« Last Edit: April 20, 2018, 11:36:45 11:36 by h0nk » Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4084

Thank You
-Given: 646
-Receive: 2332


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2018, 12:17:02 12:17 »

lol  at work we used A-One  pcb.

all on a 5-1/4 disk using dos1.1

As a bench mark I still have a working Ibm-At and it still has AutoCAD on it.
load the space shuttle demo and hit hide hidden lines, 20 mins later it is still hiding lines.
same on my main pc and its done as I release the enter key.  
Logged

Note: A forum without posters is not a forum.
h0nk
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150

Thank You
-Given: 116
-Receive: 98



« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2018, 12:46:59 12:46 »


> 20 mins later it is still hiding lines.

I would assume the socket for the Coprocessor is empty.
You should get a 80287XL and try again.

Best Regards
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 570

Thank You
-Given: 193
-Receive: 613



« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2018, 02:18:59 14:18 »

As long as we are reminisceing Do this bring back any memories for anybody. I was able to fire it up last week. But have problem whith the mouse even if it is a 9 pin serial mouse. It does not work yet.

Posted on: April 20, 2018, 02:11:42 14:11 - Automerged

As long as we are reminisceing Do this bring back any memories for anybody. I was able to fire it up last week. But have problem whith the mouse even if it is a 9 pin serial mouse. It does not work yet.
> 20 mins later it is still hiding lines.

I would assume the socket for the Coprocessor is empty.
You should get a 80287XL and try again.

Best Regards

Nah.... get a Cyrix Math-coprocessors from Cyrix far more bang for the bucks. I used one in my 386SX computer

Posted on: April 20, 2018, 02:15:29 14:15 - Automerged

lol  at work we used A-One  pcb.

all on a 5-1/4 disk using dos1.1

As a bench mark I still have a working Ibm-At and it still has AutoCAD on it.
load the space shuttle demo and hit hide hidden lines, 20 mins later it is still hiding lines.
same on my main pc and its done as I release the enter key. 
Ah remember that from the days back autocad 2.11. That file was named columbia.dwg. The shuttle that went up in flames
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
h0nk
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 150

Thank You
-Given: 116
-Receive: 98



« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2018, 02:39:47 14:39 »


Hello,

a simple No to:
> Cyrix Math-coprocessors from Cyrix

The 80287XL is a backport of the 80387SX, made compatible with the 80286 of an IBM-AT.
I paid around ten Deutsche Marks for a new 80287XL, original boxed with the utility disk
at a german surplus store years ago.
The 80287XL contains all the enhancements of the 80387 and a clock multiplier for
full coprocessor speed.


Best Regards
Logged
CocaCola
Senior Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 448

Thank You
-Given: 128
-Receive: 207



« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2018, 05:28:41 17:28 »

On this note, for the longest time, I kept a 486/33 laptop with Windows 3.11 on it because it had hands down the best DOS based parallel and serial port for the 'older' programmers I was using and reluctant to upgrade...  That said most of the actual development was done on bigger and better machines, just used that 496 as networked burning station...

And up until recently, I had a Pentium 266 with Win 98SE setup as a private FTP and chat server, it handled that job quite well and was stable and reliable as hell...
« Last Edit: April 20, 2018, 05:50:14 17:50 by CocaCola » Logged
mars01
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 384

Thank You
-Given: 419
-Receive: 996



« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2018, 07:42:51 07:42 »

They still use some of those old processors in equipment's that are meant to be reliable, like medical stuff, space (I guess military) etc.
Logged
towlerg
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 186

Thank You
-Given: 343
-Receive: 80

What is this for?


« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2018, 09:20:48 09:20 »

Bit the bullet, and installed win7 x64 ult from scratch, hours downloading and installing 64bit versions of apps (surprised how few), tweaking back to the way I like it and the end result is I can't tell the difference. What a total waste of time.
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC