Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 10, 2016, 09:49:21 09:49


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Inverter for 50Hz to 60Hz  (Read 983 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
leaveme
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 81

Thank You
-Given: 30
-Receive: 15


« on: December 16, 2014, 01:18:49 13:18 »

Anybody experimented about the Hz (50Hz to 60Hz) inverter project?

To be specific:
I have AC 220V/50Hz in my country but I need AC 110V/60Hz (about 6A) for an equipment. The load is an induction load.
Any help will be appreciated.
Logged
flo0319
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 16


« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2014, 08:22:50 20:22 »


 Have a look here : http://www.frequencyinverter.org/frequency-converter-50hz-to-60hz-design-821996.html
 But in general a simple transformer is enough if your load don't use the phase to sync
Logged
CocaCola
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398

Thank You
-Given: 108
-Receive: 182


« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2014, 08:54:09 20:54 »

What kind of equipment? Have you contacted the manufacture about running in on 50Hz, it might not matter and if it does they might very well have a 50Hz conversion kit available that is generally going to be cheaper then building an external converter...  If it will run on 50Hz, then it's just a matter of stepping down the voltage with a transformer...
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 11:47:45 23:47 by CocaCola » Logged
enzine
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65

Thank You
-Given: 317
-Receive: 38



« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 09:01:36 21:01 »

Could you be more specific on the load?

There are ac motors inside?

Ciao
Enzo
Logged
leaveme
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 81

Thank You
-Given: 30
-Receive: 15


« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2014, 04:56:08 04:56 »

Thank you guys for your responses.

The equipment is a cnc glass scoring machine. There is no inverter for the (air cooled) spindle and mainly runs at AC 110V/60Hz. Speed varies between 4k to 12k. The controller looks like a PID phase control unit.

I tried with a step down transformer, 220V --> 95V. But the spindle is hot like hell within half an hour.

Logged
enzine
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 65

Thank You
-Given: 317
-Receive: 38



« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2014, 02:23:00 14:23 »

No schematic / service manual available for this machine?
It could also be very useful to have a simple electric block diagram ...
Ciao Enzo
Logged
bigtoy
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 153

Thank You
-Given: 132
-Receive: 197


« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2014, 06:04:02 06:04 »

Thank you guys for your responses.

The equipment is a cnc glass scoring machine. There is no inverter for the (air cooled) spindle and mainly runs at AC 110V/60Hz. Speed varies between 4k to 12k. The controller looks like a PID phase control unit.

I tried with a step down transformer, 220V --> 95V. But the spindle is hot like hell within half an hour.

Nothing too unusual about a hot CNC spindle. Particularly after half an hour. That's why the industrial ones have heatsinking fins on them. Are you sure it didn't get hot before?
Logged
CocaCola
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 398

Thank You
-Given: 108
-Receive: 182


« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2014, 06:27:44 06:27 »

But the spindle is hot like hell within half an hour.

Make/Model of the machine or even the spindle?
Logged
Gallymimu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 579

Thank You
-Given: 101
-Receive: 151


« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2014, 06:32:04 06:32 »

Thank you guys for your responses.

The equipment is a cnc glass scoring machine. There is no inverter for the (air cooled) spindle and mainly runs at AC 110V/60Hz. Speed varies between 4k to 12k. The controller looks like a PID phase control unit.

I tried with a step down transformer, 220V --> 95V. But the spindle is hot like hell within half an hour.



This may be normal.  Most equipment works just fine at 60 instead of 50 Hz.  Going the other way is more problematic as low cost transformers can saturate with high volt-sec associated with 50Hz.

you machine might be simply running off linear or switching AC to DC power supplies anyway
Logged
leaveme
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 81

Thank You
-Given: 30
-Receive: 15


« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2014, 12:45:45 12:45 »

The machine has been bought by a local company at 2010 but didn't go for production due to some reason. It was just sitting idle (after installation) till I bought it recently. Then I discovered that the power system is not suitable for our 50Hz. The company is not sure whether there was an inverter for it or it was stolen.

Router runs at AC 110V and has an extra wiring for speed/load sensing. Unfortunately, there is no vendor tag in the router, only the spec. Robotic part (servo) runs smooth by the step down transformer. But the router gets extremely hot shortly and then phase control unit starts malfunctioning. I suppose it is due to 50Hz power.
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2014, 05:13:35 17:13 »

maybe post what's on the spec plate.. or a photo..
best to use a Variable-frequency drive, but I bet the cost will be above the cost of a 50hz router.
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
solutions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1446

Thank You
-Given: 591
-Receive: 851



« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2014, 11:29:54 11:29 »

Thank you guys for your responses.

The equipment is a cnc glass scoring machine. There is no inverter for the (air cooled) spindle and mainly runs at AC 110V/60Hz. Speed varies between 4k to 12k. The controller looks like a PID phase control unit.

"Looks like"?

Are you certain it's not a VFD on that spindle? If it is, you may be completely wasting your time worrying about line frequency.
Logged
leaveme
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 81

Thank You
-Given: 30
-Receive: 15


« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2014, 08:14:44 08:14 »

...
Are you certain it's not a VFD on that spindle?
...
Buddy, it's certain that there is no VFD. But, there is a speed controller and it looks like PID... Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC