Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2024, 07:12:45 19:12

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [REQ] Need to factory manufacture a linear SMD chip  (Read 3198 times)
Faros

Thank You
-Given: 141
-Receive: 178

« on: May 30, 2014, 08:47:21 20:47 »

I have a linear chip that needs to be SMD manufactured for (1) space saving (2) design protection, the targeted quantity is 200k. I didn’t need to do this task before so I have limited experience concerning what is needed. Any suggestions or recommendations?
Thank you in advance.
CocaCola

Thank You
-Given: 169
-Receive: 232

« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 09:29:51 21:29 »

IMO you would be better off contracting the entire project out to a COB manufacture based on your schematics and having them produce your boards with the COB in place...  This is something you simply don't want to jump into with no experience and I doubt tooling up for an IC packaging is going to be profitable at 200K...
Faros

Thank You

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2014, 08:55:53 08:55 »

The Chip is versatile and will be used in various products that have different PCB shapes and sizes at a production rate of 200K/Quarter and even more, the client is currently applying the designed circuit using on-shelf component;  the Pick’n place time is considerable and if those component are packed then he can increase his rate of production by shortening the Pick’n place time . With COB solution the PCB’s should move to different location where the COB is to be printed. It is not applicable in this case.

Correct me if I am wrong, I am looking for semiconductor manufacturer that you can contract with NDA covering your design rights to produce the chip, the semiconductor manufacturer should have his staff translating design to wafers and produce the targeted chips.
CocaCola

Thank You
-Given: 169
-Receive: 232

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2014, 05:18:27 17:18 »