Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 20, 2024, 10:16:25 10:16

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Passing FCC without RF experience?  (Read 3230 times)
nubelube
Inactive

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 0

« on: November 17, 2012, 05:00:58 05:00 »

I'm making a Bluetooth LE 4.0 device and plan to use an FCC-preapproved module in prototyping. However, if we go into production then it looks like it may make sense to do a custom design and pay the $5k for FCC testing.

Question 1: Do I need to find an RF person to design the RF circuit, or is it likely that I could just follow an application note and get a circuit that passes FCC? I have ZERO experience with RF circuits. If I needed something unusual, I would definitely get an expert; but this is the typical use case for radio ICs, so it wouldn't surprise me if manufacturers tell you exactly how to do it.

Question 2: It seems existing FCC approved modules cost $10-15. And radio ICs like TI's CC2541 cost ~$2.50 in 2500 volumes. Assuming I go with a PCB antenna, what other costs would I be looking at? I think there are a few passives (do I need expensive high quality ones?), and I'm not sure what baluns cost. I would probably also need to go up to a 4 layer board. Do I need to license a bluetooth software stack or do the IC manufacturers typically provide a basic one for free?

I fully admit that I don't know shit about this, so my questions may be idiotic. I could start reading about it and get a better idea of what is involved, but I'm hoping someone can tell me beforehand if it's too difficult and I would be wasting my time.
solutions

Thank You
-Given: 655
-Receive: 900

« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2012, 05:44:15 05:44 »

The answer depends on the volume of product you will make.

You not only need a design, you also need to set up testing on the bench and on the shop floor