Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 22, 2021, 03:56:57 15:56


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]
Print
Author Topic: XC8 Compilers - Discussion  (Read 175105 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Manuel
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 209

Thank You
-Given: 340
-Receive: 111


« Reply #250 on: November 16, 2020, 07:57:54 07:57 »

No more support.

I still use 8.92 to let ICD2 work ... it's faster in programming some controllers...but it's not supported in Win10. Use it in virtualbox.

take care,
X!
Logged

-> An Apple a Day does not Let U become a Macintosh!
chicowood
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 22


« Reply #251 on: November 16, 2020, 07:07:44 19:07 »

Thanks....however, for me MPLAB 8 has been working fine with Windows 10 (both 32 and 64 bit) for a long time without problems.

But you're probably right about xc8 v2.31 not being supported for use with MPLAB 8...as I recall, in the old days just installing a new xc8 version made it appear in MPLAB 8 as a Toolsuite option...it didn't this time...

I still prefer MPLAB 8 to MPLAB X after all these years, even though it's long outdated...I spend a lot of time fussing with MPLAB X and all its little ongoing issues.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2394

Thank You
-Given: 823
-Receive: 646


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #252 on: November 16, 2020, 07:13:18 19:13 »

may be it is time to move to mplabx..
Logged
Manuel
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 209

Thank You
-Given: 340
-Receive: 111


« Reply #253 on: November 16, 2020, 08:16:11 20:16 »

Exactly,

move to MPLABX , u will have just advantages...

The only limit I had is the fact that MPLABX do not support ICD2 anymore...

Take care
X!
« Last Edit: November 17, 2020, 07:26:36 07:26 by Manuel » Logged

-> An Apple a Day does not Let U become a Macintosh!
chicowood
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 22


« Reply #254 on: November 17, 2020, 01:17:46 01:17 »

Well, indeed, I've been using MPLABX since it first came out.

I'm just not a fan. Of all the IDEs I use, it's by far my least favorite.

When I fired up MPLAB 8 for this old project, it brought back some fond memories of the earlier PIC days.
Logged
tumbleweed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 30


« Reply #255 on: November 17, 2020, 06:34:42 18:34 »

Quote
I don't know how to get v2.31 to register with MPLAB 8
As others have pointed out, AKAIK there's no way to get any of the XC8 v2.xx versions running in MPLAB 8.92.

They stopped including the files you need to get it registered into MPLAB right around the version you have installed that works (v1.43),
although I seem to remember being able to get v1.45 working as well.

I'm with you... even though MPLAB 8 is old, at least it works. I've had nothing but problems with MPLABX, and I've tried them all.
It has SERIOUS problems connecting reliably to the ICD tools and that's across a number of different PC's, OS's and debug tools.


Logged
chicowood
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 22


« Reply #256 on: November 17, 2020, 07:22:12 19:22 »

Yes, I have found the Netbeans IDE structure to be clumsy and difficult to keep running as a problem-free tool.

While not usually a fan of Microsoft products, I like Visual Studio. It has a couple of Arduino plugins that are impressive, much better than the basic Arduino IDE. I also use Visual Studio for .NET work (Visual Basic, mostly).

I haven't used Eclipse but friends tell me it's pretty good, too.

Would love to see a PIC plugin for Visual Studio...(dream on...Wink )

« Last Edit: November 17, 2020, 07:26:49 19:26 by chicowood » Logged
Jagi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 11


« Reply #257 on: December 30, 2020, 04:21:43 16:21 »

Yes, I have found the Netbeans IDE structure to be clumsy and difficult to keep running as a problem-free tool.

Well, someone is seeing from my side. I have had enough problems with the IDE, especially when opening large projects. The background scanning is a mess resulting in the code parser failing to work. Connection to the ICD is another problem area and I don't see much hope from Microchip.

As of now we are continuing our development using MPLAB 8.x and we have created some scripts (actually batch files) which invoke the latest 2.xx version compiler. I will check with my Engg dept if they can allow us to share those scripts publicly, once I get the confirmation, I may be able to share the same with you folks.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2394

Thank You
-Given: 823
-Receive: 646


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #258 on: December 30, 2020, 10:03:31 22:03 »

Jagi,

As long as your company is using MPLAB 8.x, why don't they just use Eclipse for an IDE? it offers superior features compared to those offered by outdated MPLAB 8.x, does it offer auto-complete feature as in modern IDEs?

Also, MPLAB X offers MCC which is handy most of the time, regardless of how buggy it is, you must review the code before using it anyway (this is doable for simple projects). However, this is not applicable in the case of STM32 HAL because the library is huge!

So, Netbeans vs. Eclipse, Eclipse wins, why Microchip did not use it, another bad decision..

chicowood, no body is a fan of MPLAB X, thu it is the only solution currently available.
Logged
chicowood
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 22


« Reply #259 on: December 31, 2020, 12:37:44 00:37 »

As long as your company is using MPLAB 8.x, why don't they just use Eclipse for an IDE? it offers superior features compared to those offered by outdated MPLAB 8.x, does it offer auto-complete feature as in modern IDEs?
<snip>
chicowood, no body is a fan of MPLAB X, thu it is the only solution currently available.

Metal, are you saying that Eclipse could be configured to offer basic PIC debugging, or suggesting it as just a code editor?
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2394

Thank You
-Given: 823
-Receive: 646


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #260 on: December 31, 2020, 12:56:35 00:56 »

What makes you think I am suggesting such insane idea, I would not even bother thinking about that Smiley I just use MPLAB X and live with the issues it has, that's it.
Logged
chicowood
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 22


« Reply #261 on: December 31, 2020, 12:59:45 00:59 »

lol, got it. I agree, I use MPLABX too, but it sure can drive you nuts sometimes...
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2394

Thank You
-Given: 823
-Receive: 646


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #262 on: December 31, 2020, 01:15:50 01:15 »

It did that yesterday when it kept complaining about missing shortcuts somewhere on the PC Cheesy
Logged
Jagi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 11


« Reply #263 on: December 31, 2020, 04:30:48 04:30 »

As long as your company is using MPLAB 8.x, why don't they just use Eclipse for an IDE? it offers superior features compared to those offered by outdated MPLAB 8.x, does it offer auto-complete feature as in modern IDEs?

Metal,
Thanks for the recommendation, we will look into it for future product development.
Logged
Ahmad_k
SCG Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 730

Thank You
-Given: 166
-Receive: 1215



« Reply #264 on: March 08, 2021, 06:24:59 18:24 »

Does anyone know how to debug ELF file generated by XC8 in proteus ? I upgraded an old project from Atmel studio GCC to XC8, but ELF file cannot be debugged.

If i switch from ELF to COFF in settings then the project cannot be compiled.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2394

Thank You
-Given: 823
-Receive: 646


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #265 on: March 08, 2021, 10:03:01 22:03 »

If I remember correctly, I had to use AVR GNU toolchain to be able to produce COFF files.
Logged
Ahmad_k
SCG Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 730

Thank You
-Given: 166
-Receive: 1215



« Reply #266 on: March 09, 2021, 04:42:56 04:42 »

If I remember correctly, I had to use AVR GNU toolchain to be able to produce COFF files.

AVR GNU toolchain has serious problem when debugging also. I cannot monitor variable inside a subroutine until it is a global variable, that's why i'm trying to switch to XC8
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4463

Thank You
-Given: 777
-Receive: 3499


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #267 on: March 09, 2021, 09:57:31 09:57 »

AVR GNU toolchain has serious problem when debugging also. I cannot monitor variable inside a subroutine until it is a global variable, that's why i'm trying to switch to XC8
just a thought have you tried compiling with the tools in proteus. I remember it could not use coff files as the program in a project, until built in tools was used.

Logged

Note: OKNotOK
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC