Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2016, 06:53:00 18:53


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Isolated mains voltage measurement  (Read 3435 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
max
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 223

Thank You
-Given: 602
-Receive: 32


« on: September 10, 2011, 05:30:15 05:30 »

Hi friends,

How to measure isolated mains voltage without using isolating transformer?

regards
« Last Edit: September 13, 2011, 12:08:51 12:08 by max » Logged

Fate arrived and made the conscious unconscious It silenced the activity of life.
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 08:19:19 08:19 »

Opto-isolator.
Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
chandra2sekhar2000
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 121

Thank You
-Given: 22
-Receive: 17


« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2011, 02:21:23 14:21 »

Hello,
go though with the idea of the clamp meter.if u want to implement a circuit for that use,some windings like a coil,and use adc, microcontroller.
Logged
microkid
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 19


« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 02:27:25 14:27 »

There are Analog opto isolators (single chip) available.

Another way is to convert the signal to digital and use regular opto isolators

MicroKid
Logged

Never Never Never giveup
max
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 223

Thank You
-Given: 602
-Receive: 32


« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 06:37:20 18:37 »

microkid,  analog opto isolators are expensive, I need low cost solution.
any low cost example for the second option.

max
Logged

Fate arrived and made the conscious unconscious It silenced the activity of life.
microkid
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 19


« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2011, 04:15:48 04:15 »

Any simple Voltage to frequency converter will do the job. (For example a 555 timer can be used as voltage to freq. converter)
Logged

Never Never Never giveup
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2011, 01:46:55 01:46 »

@ max

Your question maybe best answer by this question on the edaboard.com:

measure mains voltage isolated and
Re: What is the best way to measure main voltage with isolat

And here is link:
http://www.edaboard.com/thread158728.html?vm=r

Your question seems very simple but rather complex. It all depend on how you want to used for and your application.

Regards,

Tom
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC