Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 10, 2016, 03:34:46 15:34


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Checking whether mains is present over the insulation !  (Read 1317 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 607

Thank You
-Given: 321
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« on: April 14, 2011, 06:54:52 06:54 »

Is there any way to check if AC is present in a wire over the insulation, without cutting the wire HuhUndecided
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
cncbasher
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 87

Thank You
-Given: 107
-Receive: 50


« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 09:17:58 09:17 »

yes , use a hall effect current sensor , select for range output needed , either the through hole type if the wire can be threaded through , or simply stick a sensor to the outside of the wire
Logged
pushycat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 332

Thank You
-Given: 144
-Receive: 1118



« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 10:27:50 10:27 »

Thank you "cncbasher" I never had this idea about using a hall effect sensor, and wanted to be a bit clarified. If i supply a wire with AC mains 220 volts, Phase, will the hall effect sensor dishtinguish between the wire carrying Phase from the Neutral? Can you kindly explain this with a bit more detail?
Logged
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 10:46:31 10:46 »

DANGER!!!   
   


Using a CURRENT sensor as suggested by cncbasher will not detect that VOLTAGE is present unless there is a load on the circuit.

If you count on a current sensor to determine if there is voltage present, we may no longer hear from you.   

What needs detected is the AC field near the wire caused solely by AC VOLTAGE being present.

Something like this is the correct way to test:

http://www.brighthub.com/engineering/electrical/articles/71915.aspx

Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
solutions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1446

Thank You
-Given: 591
-Receive: 851



« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 10:53:42 10:53 »

He is merely sensing the presence of magnetic field lines around the wire as a result of current flow.  You do have to have current flow for it to work.  A clamp-on ammeter is the cheapest way, unless you have nothing better to do than build everything.  Another way to do it is a few turns of wire around the suspect wire and run that into a phono input of an audio preamp/amp

Every current source has to have a return, so am not sure what you are asking as far as phase and neutral.  Is this single, or three phase?  In three phase, you shouldn't see much of anything on neutral (assuming no faults or phase imbalance). In single phase, what comes at you and goes away from you, reverses direction...you can tell if they are there by instantaneous polarity....for that you'll ditch the current clamp ammeter and use a current probe and a scope.

Seems like a lot of trouble when you can just look at the breaker panel
Logged
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 607

Thank You
-Given: 321
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2011, 11:15:01 11:15 »

Thnaks Oldvan,

I need to detect the voltage, not the current ! cause I wanna know whether mains is present or not in a wire over the insulation. Supply is 230V
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
pushycat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 332

Thank You
-Given: 144
-Receive: 1118



« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2011, 01:34:05 13:34 »

Yes...The volatge present on the conductor cannot de detected without a physical contact. The other option is to detect the AC field arround the wire as "oldvan" replied.
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 495



« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2011, 03:32:23 15:32 »

Are you like 7 years old or something?
No need to be nippy. You can not know all about everything. It is better for everyone using a simple "I think you are wrong on this matter"
@MAXPAYNE I did a search on Google for non contact voltage measurement. You may be interested in some of the hits.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 03:34:48 15:34 by Sideshow Bob » Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 607

Thank You
-Given: 321
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2011, 03:37:34 15:37 »

ya I did so. but didn't get one which fulfill my requirement except the oldvan one as I don't need d measurment, only voltage presence indication ..
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2011, 04:36:31 16:36 »

see post by on1aag
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/electronic-projects-design-ideas-reviews/36268-non-contact-voltage-checker.html




when I was an apprentice we learnt the hard way, "pass the red cable",, "you did not jump, so pass the blue one"
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 04:38:34 16:38 by pickit2 » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 607

Thank You
-Given: 321
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 05:29:20 17:29 »

Thts exactly wht  I am looking for ! Smiley
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
Tanuki
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 0



« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2011, 08:55:02 20:55 »

If you're looking for one ready made this one works well
http://www.service.kleintools.com/Tool/PRD/Category/Non-Contact%20Voltage%20Testers%20TESTERS-CIRCUTVOLT-NONCONTACT
Logged
Thor
Inactive

 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 1


« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2011, 12:59:32 00:59 »

Or maby this circuit....

http://www.extremecircuits.net/2010/05/invisible-broken-wire-detector.html
Logged
Heretic78
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 0


« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2011, 06:26:19 06:26 »

Can always get a multimeter with NCV detector also.

These can be had for a bargain price and they're actually a really nice little meter, accurate and built very solidly. Good for a secondary/backup unit or the hobbyist on a budget.
http://www.extech.com/instruments/product.asp?catid=48&prodid=277
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC