Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 10:11:42 22:11


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: A Digital Power Supply  (Read 15361 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« on: February 11, 2007, 09:06:23 21:06 »

Yesterday I finished building (actually it took half a day) the Digital Power Supply from tuxgraphic.org. It is a power supply controlled by the 8bit Atmel’s mCu Atmega8. The article is located here:
Code:
http://www.tuxgraphic.org/electronics/200506/article379.shtml

I used the last version of firmware located here:
Code:
http://www.tuxgraphic.org/common/src2/article389/digitaldcpower-0.4.9.tar.gz

I went for the 30 volts version of the firmware. I made some changes to the source code also to match my slightly different hardware. I used a 4x16 HD44780 LCD. There is also a precompiled version of the code for the 22 volts version, so you don’t need to compile the source if you plan to go exactly as the schematics for the 22 volts version. To compile the source you will need avr-gcc. I did it under Archlinux with avr-gcc 4.0.2. I tried it with version 4.1.1 also but the code wouldn’t compile correctly.

The power supply works very good without problems. You have to pay attention to use a good cooler for the power transistor because it is getting hot quickly enough when a sort circuit occurs or when the load is heavy. 

I designed the board with the help of Loch Master 3. I left the serial communication away because I did want to communicate with the pc. For someone that needs that option is very easy to include it by just connecting a DB9 connector.

The loch master file can be found here:
Code:
http://rapidshare.com/files/16057951/power_supply.zip.html


 



Logged
kolin
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 40

Thank You
-Given: 25
-Receive: 19


« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 07:07:41 19:07 »

Hello, thank you for lochmaster file, it will be usefull. I'm planning to build it. Is your supply working well? Maybe I will use PCB from 0.3.0 (last version with pcb included) and will make modifications to meet 0.4.9 schematics. Do you have any suggestions to build? Do you have photo of finished device on stripboard?
Logged
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007, 10:20:56 22:20 »

Hello, thank you for lochmaster file, it will be usefull. I'm planning to build it. Is your supply working well? Maybe I will use PCB from 0.3.0 (last version with pcb included) and will make modifications to meet 0.4.9 schematics. Do you have any suggestions to build? Do you have photo of finished device on stripboard?

Ιt is working just fine without problems. I have made some modifications to the source code in mine. I use a 4x16 character LCD and I have added some extra info for the power consumption of the device being supplied. It is just a multiply of the Voltage with the Current. I have also removed the code I didn't want to use. Fore example the part for the communication with the pc. I also would recommend to turn the wires of the LCD that leads to the MCU through a ferrite core to reduce some unwanted noise. A coil with a small capacitor to the output as a filter would be something you might need if you plan to power for example an fm transmitter that is sensitive to power source noise. I will try to post some photos tomorrow.
Logged
munaf
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 2


« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2007, 10:25:29 10:25 »

hello
please  upload the code which you modifi,  schematics and photos.
thanks
Logged
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2007, 11:12:01 11:12 »

hello
please  upload the code which you modifi,  schematics and photos.
thanks

Later this day.
Logged
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2007, 11:31:29 23:31 »

Some photos:












The modified source code:

Code:
http://rapidshare.com/files/69992699/digitaldcpower-mod.tar.gz.html


« Last Edit: October 11, 2010, 11:19:16 11:19 by firewalker » Logged
Wizpic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 976

Thank You
-Given: 197
-Receive: 344



« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2007, 12:38:08 00:38 »

firewalker what was the schematics drawn in  ?
Logged

When you think, "I can't do anymore. I need a break," that is the time to challenge yourself to keep going another five minutes. Those who persevere for even an extra five minutes will win in life..
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2007, 01:37:45 13:37 »

firewalker what was the schematics drawn in  ?

If you mean the program, I believe it is gEDA. I haven't design it my self.
Logged
kolin
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 40

Thank You
-Given: 25
-Receive: 19


« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2007, 07:10:09 19:10 »

Thank you for images and modified source code. Is the blackbox with coil, fuse and cap output filter as you mentioned before?
firewalker what was the schematics drawn in  ?
their really drawn in gEDA. I tried to open them, but gEDA is little stupid, as it doesn't save symbols to .sch (as every CAD do), but links every component to library files. Author didn't publish some libraries with it, so if you open it, some of them will be missing.
Logged
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2008, 11:23:02 11:23 »

Thank you for images and modified source code. Is the blackbox with coil, fuse and cap output filter as you mentioned before?

Yes the black box is a fuse and a coil with a small capacitor.

Posted on: November 19, 2007, 09:34:31 21:34 - Automerged

I have made some changes to the psu. I replaced the power unit with a "stronger" switched-mode psu (from a useless laptop) and convert it to the 22 volts 2.5 amps version. I used the new version of the code (0.5.1) witch I modified to fit my needs. I also added some extra ferrite cores to reduce some noise. I also added two small neon lamps to eliminate a high voltage component that would make an ac voltage testing screwdriver to glow. There was no way to measure this voltage (with my instruments) and it didn't interfered in any way. I found that many smpsu (actually every smpsu I tested) will make a testing screwdriver to glow when testing the output. I considered as a good thing to eliminate this voltage. I connected one neon lamp between the positive and the negative output and one to the negative output with the case's ground (not the circuits ground). I also removed the resistror included to the neon lamps. The high voltage disappeared.

The new official version of the software:
http://www.tuxgraphic.org/common/src2/article07071/digitaldcpower-0.5.1.tar.gz

The modified version of the software:
http://rapidshare.com/files/95029570/digitaldcpower-0.5.1-mod.tar.gz.html

Logged
sindbadmourad
Guest
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2008, 06:57:45 18:57 »

power supply simulation
www.sindbadshop.jeeran.com
http://www.files2net.com/files/99212051/sindbad power supply.zip
Logged
DINESHjp
Guest
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2009, 01:45:26 01:45 »

i have made the 22v version and its working perfectly, but i wants to make  30v version.
i tried to compile it through winavr gcc(i am using windows xp) but i failed to compile,
plz help me or post the hex file for 30v version
Logged
praksk
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 133

Thank You
-Given: 248
-Receive: 1293


« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2009, 11:54:49 11:54 »

i have made the 22v version and its working perfectly

Congratulations! How good is the load regulation?
Logged
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2010, 04:53:35 16:53 »

there is a new version of the power supply. Unfortunately the schematics aren;t for free.

http://tuxgraphics.org/electronics/201005/bench-power-supply-v3.shtml
Logged
Wizpic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 976

Thank You
-Given: 197
-Receive: 344



« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2010, 06:30:19 18:30 »

there is a new version of the power supply. Unfortunately the schematics aren;t for free.

http://tuxgraphics.org/electronics/201005/bench-power-supply-v3.shtml

Why arent the schematics for free now ?
I've not fully looked at the web page to see What's the difference between this one and the older one, Is there much inprovments ?

Is there any way we can get a copy of the schematic and we could make a PIC version ?

Wizpic
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 06:41:07 18:41 by Wizpic » Logged

When you think, "I can't do anymore. I need a break," that is the time to challenge yourself to keep going another five minutes. Those who persevere for even an extra five minutes will win in life..
firewalker
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 88


« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2010, 08:48:20 20:48 »

Why arent the schematics for free now ?
I've not fully looked at the web page to see What's the difference between this one and the older one, Is there much inprovments ?

Is there any way we can get a copy of the schematic and we could make a PIC version ?

Wizpic

This version uses R2R-ladder and PWM for the 12 bit resolution D.A.C.

The schematics are shipped with the following kit (24 euro).

http://shop.tuxgraphics.org/electronic/detail_microcontroller_powersupply.html
Logged
mastertushar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 18


WWW
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2010, 04:02:30 04:02 »

Hi any one know briefly how to design digital power suppy with digital signal controller. I know basic behind analog power supply. Actually i am designing it now a days . But how to design it using DSC? Which books i have to read for that. Can anyone has any idea. Thanx in advance.  
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 04:46:44 04:46 by mastertushar » Logged
Wizpic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 976

Thank You
-Given: 197
-Receive: 344



« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2010, 08:42:46 20:42 »

mastertushar If you are designing a power supply what would the voltage and current ouput of it ?

please share your ideas/design just so we can get an idea then  may be then we all can work on it and come up with a good vesrion.

I can produce 10bit PWM to control the current/voltgae aslong your desing can be controled via 0-5V. I have some where the code/schematics that aleady does this.
Logged

When you think, "I can't do anymore. I need a break," that is the time to challenge yourself to keep going another five minutes. Those who persevere for even an extra five minutes will win in life..
sadman
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231

Thank You
-Given: 718
-Receive: 688



« Reply #18 on: June 17, 2010, 01:13:39 13:13 »

mastertushar If you are designing a power supply what would the voltage and current ouput of it ?

please share your ideas/design just so we can get an idea then  may be then we all can work on it and come up with a good vesrion.

I can produce 10bit PWM to control the current/voltgae aslong your desing can be controled via 0-5V. I have some where the code/schematics that aleady does this.

can you please share it
Logged
mastertushar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 18


WWW
« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2010, 06:17:37 06:17 »

can you please share it
sure






Posted on: June 20, 2010, 06:11:56 06:11 - Automerged

mastertushar If you are designing a power supply what would the voltage and current ouput of it ?

please share your ideas/design just so we can get an idea then  may be then we all can work on it and come up with a good vesrion.

I can produce 10bit PWM to control the current/voltgae aslong your desing can be controled via 0-5V. I have some where the code/schematics that aleady does this.

thanx for yoyr reply// i generally designing power supply having capacity

12v 100A, 50A, 30A

24v 30A

48V 50A

and i also interested to interface more than one power suppply to a single computer to monitor their state like curret,voltage,temp.... etc..

and control voltage from computer...
 

and @Wizpic can you tell me for which DSC the code which you have ??
Logged
Wizpic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 976

Thank You
-Given: 197
-Receive: 344



« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2010, 10:59:23 10:59 »

sure






Posted on: June 20, 2010, 06:11:56 06:11 - Automerged


thanx for yoyr reply// i generally designing power supply having capacity

12v 100A, 50A, 30A

24v 30A

48V 50A

and i also interested to interface more than one power suppply to a single computer to monitor their state like curret,voltage,temp.... etc..

and control voltage from computer...
 

and @Wizpic can you tell me for which DSC the code which you have ??

I think the power supplies we had in mind are 2 different types,we was talking abut a bench power supply, Looks like your's are more heavy duty,  Not sure what you menan by DSC ?
Logged

When you think, "I can't do anymore. I need a break," that is the time to challenge yourself to keep going another five minutes. Those who persevere for even an extra five minutes will win in life..
mastertushar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 18


WWW
« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2010, 12:00:40 12:00 »

I think the power supplies we had in mind are 2 different types,we was talking abut a bench power supply, Looks like your's are more heavy duty,  Not sure what you menan by DSC ?

DSC means Digital signal controller which have DSP(digital signal processor ) + microcontroller in combined

see this  

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_signal_controller

Posted on: June 20, 2010, 11:59:20 11:59 - Automerged

.



and i also interrested to low power supply like 12v 1 to 10 A
« Last Edit: June 20, 2010, 02:27:09 14:27 by mastertushar » Logged
sadman
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 231

Thank You
-Given: 718
-Receive: 688



« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2010, 09:14:18 09:14 »

Wizpic
Quote
I can produce 10bit PWM to control the current/voltgae aslong your desing can be controled via 0-5V. I have some where the code/schematics that aleady does this.

please share your design

sadman
Logged
Wizpic
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 976

Thank You
-Given: 197
-Receive: 344



« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2010, 07:56:21 19:56 »


please share your design

sadman
The code is complete well I say complete I'm waiting to try it on a design, This is due to the fact me not knowing the max output voltage and current, This is so you can see the max set voltage/current and the codes in a mess needs tidying up.
May be once I have completed then I will share has others will struggle to understand my code
 wizpic
« Last Edit: June 21, 2010, 08:09:10 20:09 by Wizpic » Logged

When you think, "I can't do anymore. I need a break," that is the time to challenge yourself to keep going another five minutes. Those who persevere for even an extra five minutes will win in life..
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2010, 08:03:03 20:03 »

The code is complete well I say complete I'm waiting to try it on a design, This is due to the fact me not knowing the max output voltage and current, This is so you can see the max set voltage/current and the codes in a mess needs tidying up.
May be once I have completed then I will share has others will struggle to understand my code
 wizpic
better you release the wizpic decoder first then. Tongue
« Last Edit: June 21, 2010, 08:09:43 20:09 by Wizpic » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC