Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2024, 03:36:24 15:36

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: MCU serial communication with Hyper Terminal....... Need Help  (Read 11523 times)
abcsantosh

Thank You
-Given: 33
-Receive: 3

« on: November 04, 2009, 06:04:21 18:04 »

Hi all, so many times I made some projects including PIC Micro controllers on board serial communication, and each time I don't get any response with hyper terminal. Recently I compiled one project with Attiny2313 using it's serial com port. Some settings and other functionality will be configured from Hyper terminal. So I connected this project to computers serial port and started the Hyper Terminal. But I didn't get any message on screen. I don't know what went wrong ? will somebody help me on this ? I am familiar with Pic uC and this is my first project in AVR. 
cncbasher

Thank You
-Given: 107
-Receive: 51

« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 06:07:40 18:07 »

firstly , do not use hyperterminal for any type of development testing , it's just terrible .

post your project or pm me with it and lets see what is wrong

sam_des

Thank You
-Given: 124
-Receive: 146

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 03:09:39 03:09 »

Hello cncbasher,

I've use HyperTerminal on many of my projects when a independent full-fledged program wasn't necessary or requested. If you are not getting any output on hyperterminal then check hyper-terminal settings match with your settings..
0) COM port you are connecting is same as your selected port in HyperTerminal
1) Baud Rate
2) Stop Bits
3) Data Bits
4) Parity Bits
5) Flow Control - Hardware/Software, XON/XOFF chars
6) You must manually enable local key echo which is disabled by default
7) You terminal emulation - Usually 'Auto Detect' will do

If everything is OK, check the your uC software.
1) Are you correctly initializing USART ?