Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2016, 11:04:28 11:04


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need Help for Home Automation  (Read 4514 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« on: September 13, 2009, 08:11:21 08:11 »

I am doing home automation project

in that more then 32 nodes are connected to one master ciruit
all nodes requires to send data simultaneously to master.

I am using CCS PCW compiler by using microchip 18F series chip.

currently I not completed my hardware design

we need some hardware design and which protocol suitable for my design.
 
Logged
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2009, 09:23:52 09:23 »

CAN bus offers efficient way to move data around such a network.
Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2009, 09:58:12 09:58 »

hello oldvan

In my home automation project I want to use twisted pair for sending data.
so I prefer 485 network

whether CAN works with 485 ?

whether I need special chip for CAN ?
Logged
glenndr_15
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 72



« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2009, 11:38:34 11:38 »

greetings!
I suggest the PIC18F452

best regards,
Logged
cipiloi
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 158

Thank You
-Given: 215
-Receive: 22


« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2009, 12:37:39 12:37 »

Hi localcrack !  look hier  http://www.abcelectronique.com/bigonoff/domocan.php?par=5e6d1  is very intersting!
« Last Edit: September 13, 2009, 12:43:33 12:43 by cipiloi » Logged
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2009, 01:58:12 13:58 »

hello cipiloi

I can't find any things regarding my project

are you posted wrong link...? or I am wrong...?
Logged
cipiloi
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 158

Thank You
-Given: 215
-Receive: 22


« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2009, 09:01:13 21:01 »

Sory!  hier is domocan (home automation project)   http://www.abcelectronique.com/bigonoff/domocan.php?par=93b59     Is ok for you?
Logged
leptro
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 61

Thank You
-Given: 240
-Receive: 20


« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2009, 09:05:34 21:05 »

hello,
the link from cipiloi is good but is in french.
here is the direct link to the can page.


http://www.abcelectronique.com/bigonoff/domocan.php?par=30456
Logged
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2009, 06:30:30 18:30 »

anybody uses multi master over RS485

is it possible ?
Logged
hate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 556

Thank You
-Given: 156
-Receive: 354


« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2009, 10:25:54 22:25 »

rs485 uses 1 twisted pair so multi master is possible but u have to check for collision!

Regards...
Logged

Regards...
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2009, 04:10:17 16:10 »

hello hate

how can I detect collision on RS485

do you have any sample code ?
Logged
hate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 556

Thank You
-Given: 156
-Receive: 354


« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2009, 05:15:55 17:15 »

No code but a quick idea maybe checking the line for changes for a certain period of time according to your baud rate. I mean checking the logical state not waiting for some data to arrive. If some transmission is going on, the logical state of the line should change with certain periods according to the baud rate so a second master won't start transmitting when the line is busy. Of course I'm assuming you're using transceiver chips like max485 vs. not some all-in-one 'transceiver encoder decoder' chip. Just an idea, don't know it'll work or not!

Regards...
Logged

Regards...
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2009, 03:35:30 03:35 »

CAN is nothing to do with RS485, is a different protocol, different signal levels, etc.  Uses twisted pair wire.  Is quite commonly used in automobiles.

CAN has built-in collision detection, automatic retry, prioritized send, etc.  Is well-suited to a home automation project.

Perhaps you dismissed CAN a bit too soon in favor of RS485?  CAN be worth another look.  Visit Microchip website and it is easy to find a PIC18... or DSPIC... with 1 or more CAN transcievers built in.
Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
localcrack
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 171

Thank You
-Given: 62
-Receive: 20



« Reply #13 on: September 22, 2009, 09:06:12 09:06 »

which one is the batter among this all

1) Modbus
2) simple RS-485
3) CAN bus
4) DMX512
Logged
cipiloi
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 158

Thank You
-Given: 215
-Receive: 22


« Reply #14 on: September 22, 2009, 01:18:51 13:18 »

CAN is perfect! Smiley
Logged
blacknight72
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 37

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 5



« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2009, 12:12:01 12:12 »

I also vote for CAN (Controller Area Network), it is well-known with its stability and error controlling, used popularly in cars and industry.

I've used CAN for my friend's Smart Home (just help him a little). It's very convenient for you to establish a system that manage all devices in a house.

When a node deliver a message to CAN bus, all other nodes, specified nodes or just one node can receive this message (we can do this by set filter & mask for each node, especially, we can change mask and filter at real time)

The maximum speed of CAN bus is 1Mbit/s

If you prefer Microchip's products, you can use PIC 18F4685-CAN intergrated or some devices in dsPIC33F & 24H family (ex: dsPICJ128GP706, dsPIC33FJ128GP710 ... you can use Microchip MAPS http://www.microchip.com/maps for choose an appropriate device) that support ECAN. In addition, you will need a CAN transceiver (MCP2551).
I've used dsPIC33Fj128GP706 for this application. It is okay Smiley. I also recommend using PIC 16bit family with ECAN (Enhanced CAN) will be better than CAN.

Good luck with you project Smiley
Logged
adrian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30

Thank You
-Given: 27
-Receive: 14


« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2009, 06:06:39 18:06 »

I second on that, Very reliable. I've used 18F2680. I've even send power true cat5 to my nodes. Eg. Cat5E- 3for power, 3 for ground, and 2 for CAN-H and CAN-L. No package lost or watsoever.
With 1 condition- Calculate ur current need.
Only meant as monitoring nodes (power for mcu).
Imagine 20*50mA = 1A :p  
Use separate power source if need more current. Then only need 2 for CAN-H and CAN-L.
best wishes and Good luck.

ps: Please thanks us by clicking on "Thank You" if u find it useful/ contributed to any new ideas. Wink
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 06:10:02 18:10 by adrian » Logged
janakfun
Junior Member
**
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 36

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 4


« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2009, 05:48:57 05:48 »

Well if you have time to undersatnd the CAN protocol then go for it. It is best suited for your project.
Modbus is  simpler one but I dont prefer it for time critical applications.
Microchip already has controllers with in built CAN facility. and you can find the source code for that too.
But undersating the code will be a bit headache for you..
Anyway All the best..
Logged

Regards,

Janak
orange
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 126

Thank You
-Given: 703
-Receive: 199


« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2009, 08:09:11 08:09 »

I suggest this one.

http://www.hth.com/snap/
Logged
king
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84

Thank You
-Given: 2
-Receive: 21


Jack of All But Master of One


« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2009, 05:27:26 17:27 »

From my point of view Can is Best but if you want to complete your project in simple,easy and cheaper way then go for RS422 you just have to use SN75176A based circuitry to design the hardware for taking data from 32 different slaves devices to one master.Make your circuit in Full duplex mode for this you have to Use Two Sn75176A (RS422 Driver IC) in each master and slave circuit one for the TX and one for the RX.
Logged
Ichan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 840

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 387



WWW
« Reply #20 on: December 23, 2009, 08:18:04 08:18 »

As the topic is about Home Automation then i think X10 is the most used widely, it is a power-line communication protocol. A lot of information on the net, and the wikipedia is a good start http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X10_%28industry_standard%29.

-ichan
Logged

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
MGLSOFT
Junior Member
**
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 68

Thank You
-Given: 32
-Receive: 73



« Reply #21 on: January 02, 2010, 12:29:39 12:29 »

I prefer to use CAN, besides the characteristics mentioned by other users, has an additional advantage over other systems.
It incorporates the ability for any node send messages without anyone's request, this can happen because a variable to measure change in value or because they are programmed to send messages every xx time.
That makes it very powerful, as it lowers the rate of communications in great shape.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC