Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 06:45:54 06:45


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need help regarding ISOLATION TRANSFORMER.  (Read 922 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jaikumar
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 18


« on: May 29, 2009, 01:21:51 13:21 »

I wired up a isolation transformer like this

1) I have 2 primary 220, 50HZ. Secondary 0-12 volts

I connected the secondary's togother and one primary goes to the mains.

on the other primary I read the voltage with respect to ground i get 55 Volts, should i get zero, because the ground point should be isolated?

Thanks and Regards,
Jai
Logged
DTiziano
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 102

Thank You
-Given: 35
-Receive: 159


« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 04:42:32 16:42 »

Hi

But do you read the voltage between one leg and ground ?
If yes then what you get depends of the parassitic capacity between the coils.
To get zero volt you need a transformer with a (grounded) shield between coils.

Regards
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 10:50:07 22:50 »

Bet your Neutral of your mains is at or near ground at sub station. and this is what your reading.
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC