The Godfather talking
You think I am funny guy huh?
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2016, 08:58:20 08:58


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pickit3 released Schematic inc..  (Read 16329 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3817

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« on: January 12, 2009, 11:12:22 23:12 »

Link :
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en538340&redirects=pickit3
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 12:00:25 00:00 by bbarney » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
yahoo
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 106

Thank You
-Given: 40
-Receive: 50


« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 04:43:01 04:43 »

I have several pickit2 and I'm completely satisfied of this product. I have read all about pickit3 and I still cannot undestand what is new. Pickit2 also is able to programm all pic and dspic micros and they even look the same except the color :-)
Why we should buy pickit3 in case we already have version 2?
Logged
sittichoke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 2


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 07:36:30 07:36 »

I have several pickit2 and I'm completely satisfied of this product. I have read all about pickit3 and I still cannot undestand what is new. Pickit2 also is able to programm all pic and dspic micros and they even look the same except the color :-)
Why we should buy pickit3 in case we already have version 2?
Different is
PICkit 3 VS. PICkit 2
The PICkit 3 programmer/debugger system is similar in function to the PICkit 2
in-circuit debugger system. Similarities of the two debuggers include:
• Powered via USB cable to PC
• Provides a programmable voltage power supply
The PICkit 3 differs from the PICkit 2 by providing:
• Extended EE program image space (512 Kbytes)
• True voltage reference
• Increased voltage range (1.8-5V VDD; 1.8-14V VPP)

I think its not differrent too much
Logged
tAhm1D
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 336

Thank You
-Given: 103
-Receive: 180



« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 09:03:40 09:03 »

Hi,
 More differences are there:

 Pickit3 supports few more devices than Pickit2.

The main difference is speed. the PIckit2 is very slow when debugging whilst watching a few variables. If you view all the SFRs then expect to wait 10 seconds per step. Pickit3 is much faster.

But all these points are not convincing enough to upgrade to Pickit3 from Pickit2, I consider.
Logged
petarp
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 51


« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 09:32:30 09:32 »

PICkit 3 made with PIC24 and may be faster than PICkit 2.
Logged
pasanlaksiri
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69

Thank You
-Given: 136
-Receive: 59



« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 10:22:29 10:22 »

Still there is no HEX file released for PIC24
Logged

pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3817

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 12:39:03 12:39 »

Still there is no HEX file released for PIC24
The pre release info says you need to install pickit3 via MPLAB, the last update MPLAB ver8.15a don't yet have pickit3 support, but when its released you must get pickit3 firmware. I think the bootloader from pickit2 should work, as it is only needed to upload the control firmware and the device software.
If not I see j2 on schematic will let you read the pic24.
I also see no real need to update to pickit3, it will depend if you need to debug (faster) and develop with the newer lower voltage devices.
I bet they will add more functions for the pickit3, after it is released.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 12:45:18 12:45 by pickit2 » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2009, 04:59:18 16:59 »

Still there is no HEX file released for PIC24

Quote
Features

USB (Full speed 12 Mbits/s interface to host PC)
Real-time execution
MPLAB IDE compatible (free copy included)
Built-in over-voltage/short circuit monitor
Firmware upgradeable from PC/web download
Totally enclosed
Supports low voltage to 2.0 volts (2.0v to 6.0v range)
Diagnostic LEDs (power, busy, error)
Read/write program and data memory of microcontroller
Erase of program memory space with verification
Freeze-peripherals at breakpoint

Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
bunion
Hero Member
*****
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 677

Thank You
-Given: 661
-Receive: 4125


« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2009, 03:42:58 03:42 »

Sorry off topic a bit..   

INSTEAD of buying one of those development modules used for learning is it possible for me build one in Proteus, not a custom one but an actual module thats on sale ..ie like those E-Blocks for Flowcode etc??

ANY "advertised module" would do as i want to start learning from scratch

Ideally the module should have everything ill ever need for learning the basics..

Leds for blinking,chasing
A keypad
Switch(s)
LCD display ,2 lines
Dot matrix display for graphics
USB connector
Serial connector

then i could open a "C"  book at page 1 and start following from there Smiley

bunion
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 04:02:05 04:02 by bunion » Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3817

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2009, 12:39:43 12:39 »

you could use the crownhill dev boards as in proton, so you use proton, & proteus.
I have make the crownhill & microchip dev boards in proteus too. I use them before starting a project.
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
fabric77
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 31


« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2009, 01:24:51 01:24 »

pickit2;

Will you change your name to pickit3 Tongue

PS:Please do not ban me for my silly joke... Roll Eyes
Logged
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2009, 01:40:22 01:40 »

Ok how about a mute instead and he needs a haircut more than a name change:D
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
fabric77
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 59

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 31


« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2009, 05:59:54 05:59 »

Oh no please!

I believe in freedom of speech Smiley
Logged
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2009, 01:37:01 13:37 »

Here's a link detailing the major difference's between the pickit2 & pickit3 and the Icd2 & iIcd3 if anyone is thinking of buying one a an upgrade,doesn't seem like much but the pickit3 has a pic24 instead of a 18f2550 so future software goodies will probably make it worth buying in the future

http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en534451
« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 01:40:10 13:40 by bbarney » Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3817

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2010, 08:41:28 20:41 »

Beta release of GUI for pickit3

http://www.microchip.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=500342
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
blacknight72
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 37

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 5



« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2010, 06:56:47 06:56 »

The main point is Pickit3 supports new PIC32 devices and Pickit2 do not (PIC32MX5,6,7..). If you use PIC32, you must use Pickit3, then Smiley
Logged
mitsos
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 449

Thank You
-Given: 1571
-Receive: 683


« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2014, 10:43:24 22:43 »

hi

in the link below

you 'll find the full schematic of pickit3 clone from sure electronics

I do reverse engineering to recover the circuit.

Only two parts there are not exist to schematic
the U5 (smd marking WR1) and the R21 (0 ohm), the U5 is connected directly to USB connector (+5V,0V,D+,D-), I think it is a kind of supervisor.

regards
mitsos
« Last Edit: April 19, 2014, 07:01:38 19:01 by mitsos » Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC