Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2016, 05:13:37 17:13


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Help needed- Conflict on UPS and Generator  (Read 1109 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
night_mare
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 1


« on: December 17, 2008, 06:32:01 06:32 »

My UPS cant recharge from backup generator. When power failure, my pc  backed up from UPS until backup generator started. UPS cant recharge from generator.The frequency and voltage are same compared with main power line.What's the problem Huh  Please help me..............
Logged
sohel
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 437

Thank You
-Given: 140
-Receive: 124



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2008, 11:21:57 11:21 »

first u need to get data for volt and waveshape, ups have highcut, low cut with a fixed range. either its goes to high cut or low cut , u should use a variac to detect highcut low cut range. or if it is squre wave then its too hard to operate induction drive.  Huh
Logged

A Thousand Miles Journey Start With a Single Step<br />http://www.youtube.com/user/masud58
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 04:15:34 04:15 »

what is the rating of uor generator ? How many pc u r using ?
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
night_mare
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 1


« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2008, 04:57:07 04:57 »

Shohel could you please explain more details and upload any documents ?

Hi MAXPAYNE, could you give any idea?
Logged
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2008, 05:37:14 17:37 »

Shohel could you please explain more details and upload any documents ?

Hi MAXPAYNE, could you give any idea?

first answer my question ? have u measured the generator voltage ?
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
andig
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39

Thank You
-Given: 39
-Receive: 6


« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2008, 05:53:54 17:53 »

Hi,

I have no idea in which part of the world you stay but can shed some light on the working of a PIC based UPS specifically a 16F676 with an internal oscillator of 4 MHz.

I older firmwares the mains was sampled directly from a half wave rectified signal reduced by a potential divider. This means that the zero cross over and the AC waveforms are sampled purely through the ADC and not an interrupt. This method is acceptable for detecting brown-outs, black-outs. However AC generators (especially single cylinder large flywheel) show some hunting (wow) and the crest factor of the sine differs from mains. Thus it is detected as unhealthy mains by the pic as it cannot lock onto the zero-cross in the firmware.

This problem has been solved in the newer firmware.
Regards
Sougata
Logged
night_mare
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 1


« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2008, 04:27:03 04:27 »

Maxpayne, rating of the generator is

            7.5KW rated output
            220V, single phase
            pf = 1
            frequency= 50 Hz

my UPS from  "RIELLO", 400VA,250W


Andig, could you please explain more........
« Last Edit: December 22, 2008, 04:29:35 04:29 by night_mare » Logged
andig
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 39

Thank You
-Given: 39
-Receive: 6


« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2008, 05:58:38 05:58 »

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am from India and talking about UPS manufactured here.. so it might not comply with yours.
However it is very clear that on application of generator power the UPS still detects it as unhealthy thus it does not transfer back to the mains. May be the manufactures can shed some light. If it is not within warranty then take a look under the hood and post some pictures. Better if you could manage some schematic.

Regards
Logged
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2008, 12:46:14 12:46 »

night_mare,
              I checked RIELLO website. their is no info abt the tecnology they r  using in the model u mentioned. So better u grab an oscilloscope and see the waveform of the gen. output when connecting ups and see if there any changes happen. also u may open up the ups case and try to understand which technology they r using.........
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
alejandro
Guest
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2008, 01:07:14 13:07 »

It `s the waveform provided by the generator. The stand by ups are not compatible with these small generators. You need an online double conversion UPS type. I am working with ups and generator 15 years ago
bye
Logged
night_mare
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 1


« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2008, 05:13:13 05:13 »

I can't understand from which point should I start to find out the prob.

Maxpayne could u plz explain ur idea ?.may be  i have to do that ...........

alejandro, online UPS is too expensive for me. But some online UPS also have the same prob..........................
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC