Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 05, 2016, 05:33:14 17:33


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [REQ] 16*2 LCD datasheet....  (Read 3279 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« on: October 15, 2008, 07:18:59 19:18 »

Does anyone have this lcd datasheet......? Huh Huh Huh

Solomon LM2338SGR 16*2 lcd

It is a 14 pin lcd........

Thnks in advance
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
Biggles
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 22



« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2008, 01:58:35 13:58 »

Have you tried to look up the datasheets for the display IC's?
Logged

Man who act in haste, repent at leisure.
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2008, 04:17:09 16:17 »

yes
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2008, 07:55:12 19:55 »

Does anyone have this lcd datasheet......? Huh Huh Huh

Solomon LM2338SGR 16*2 lcd

It is a 14 pin lcd........

Thnks in advance

Hi Maxpayne,

I tried to search for the LCD data sheet for your part number but no luck. What I think is that if your LCD has the HD44780 (or compatible) and has 14 or 16 pins than you can try to connect your LCD according to the most popular LCD; like Hantronix, CrystalFont and other.

As far as I concern, most LCD manufacturers follow the standard pin out so that they hope customer can use their LCD to replace the existing design. I have used Hantronix, Sony and Lumex with 16x2, 20x2 and 20x4 and found that they all have same pin out (with HD44780 driver).

Ignor pin 15 and 16 if your does not has back-light. Please precause if you have only one LCD. Go to Hantronix download the data sheet.

Good luck
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2008, 05:02:38 17:02 »

Hello TomJackson69,
       I already tested the display as connected in standard pinout but the display didn't work...... i think it is not HD44780 compatible. it doesn't have anybacklight........
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
Biggles
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 22



« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2008, 10:11:52 22:11 »

Post the part numbers of the chips on the display.  If you can locate a datasheet for a similar display chip in the family, you could get some driving clues.
Logged

Man who act in haste, repent at leisure.
Matrixx
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 35

Thank You
-Given: 59
-Receive: 16


« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2008, 10:22:13 22:22 »

Have a closeup picture of back/top of the board... ?
Logged
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2008, 04:36:35 04:36 »

Post the part numbers of the chips on the display.  If you can locate a datasheet for a similar display chip in the family, you could get some driving clues.

This is a "COB" type lcd (2 COB) , so it doesn't have any part no. on it............
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2008, 09:55:11 21:55 »

This is a "COB" type lcd (2 COB) , so it doesn't have any part no. on it............

Maxpayne,

Before you go any further, first of all, you must have your LCD routine works. Did you try your program on something else like Proteus? What compiler are you using? Do you have LCD driver work?

If it is work on the Proteus but not on you hardware than, there is timing problem. Try to increase delay for when you send command and data. I used longer delay for Command than dalay for data. For CMD try delay 8mS and for write data try delay 15uS. If its work, decrease the delay until the display display with missing char.

If you need LCD routines, I will post.

Tom
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2008, 04:17:50 04:17 »

Maxpayne,

Before you go any further, first of all, you must have your LCD routine works. Did you try your program on something else like Proteus? What compiler are you using? Do you have LCD driver work?

If it is work on the Proteus but not on you hardware than, there is timing problem. Try to increase delay for when you send command and data. I used longer delay for Command than dalay for data. For CMD try delay 8mS and for write data try delay 15uS. If its work, decrease the delay until the display display with missing char.

If you need LCD routines, I will post.

Tom

Thnks Tom for uor reply.
i tetsted another module and it is working. So i think i am not connecting the solomon lcd rightly.
please post the lcd routines...

regards
MAX
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2008, 01:48:31 13:48 »

Tom I have a Lumex 16x2 here that doesn't follow the normal pin-out, pin 1 is power and pin 2 is ground and if I didn't read the datasheet it would have been ruined,so even name brand lcd's have some wierd pin-outs not just the cheaper ones.By the way I bought that one at Digi-Key(2 years ago) and was not expecting that weird pin-out so don't assume that just because it's a name-brand lcd your getting a normal lcd pin-out from them so that's why you should alway's try and find the datasheet if possible.
Max if you can't find it though just try it with the normal pin-out and if it blows it will be as useless as it is right now sitting there doing nothing
Hi Maxpayne,

I tried to search for the LCD data sheet for your part number but no luck. What I think is that if your LCD has the HD44780 (or compatible) and has 14 or 16 pins than you can try to connect your LCD according to the most popular LCD; like Hantronix, CrystalFont and other.

As far as I concern, most LCD manufacturers follow the standard pin out so that they hope customer can use their LCD to replace the existing design. I have used Hantronix, Sony and Lumex with 16x2, 20x2 and 20x4 and found that they all have same pin out (with HD44780 driver).

Ignor pin 15 and 16 if your does not has back-light. Please precause if you have only one LCD. Go to Hantronix download the data sheet.

Good luck
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
Biggles
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 22



« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2008, 03:31:43 15:31 »

Thnks Tom for uor reply.
i tetsted another module and it is working. So i think i am not connecting the solomon lcd rightly.

Have you put a contrast resistor on the solomon? Your display may be working, you just cant see the characters.

http://www.pacificdisplay.com/lcd_cont_adj.htm

Try pin 3 connected to the wiper of 10K pot from 5V to 0V.
Logged

Man who act in haste, repent at leisure.
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2008, 07:04:36 19:04 »

Tom I have a Lumex 16x2 here that doesn't follow the normal pin-out, pin 1 is power and pin 2 is ground and if I didn't read the datasheet it would have been ruined,so even name brand lcd's have some wierd pin-outs not just the cheaper ones.By the way I bought that one at Digi-Key(2 years ago) and was not expecting that weird pin-out so don't assume that just because it's a name-brand lcd your getting a normal lcd pin-out from them so that's why you should alway's try and find the datasheet if possible.
Max if you can't find it though just try it with the normal pin-out and if it blows it will be as useless as it is right now sitting there doing nothing

Maxpayne and Bbarney,

Sorry on my mistake. I did not clearly explain.
And Biggles is right, pin 3 (if it is right pin for contrast) connect to 10K wipper. I used 10K connected to +5V and 330 ohms to GND for contrast. Without contrast adjustment, you may not see the display.

Maxpayne, what compiler are you using? I will post the routine in MCC18 tonigh when I get home.

Regards,

Tom

« Last Edit: November 22, 2008, 07:11:54 19:11 by TomJackson69 » Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2008, 01:31:59 01:31 »

Thnks Tom for uor reply.
i tetsted another module and it is working. So i think i am not connecting the solomon lcd rightly.
please post the lcd routines...

regards
MAX

Hi Max,

Here is the LCD driver for MCC18:

Sorry, I can not attach the file, I will try on the Quick Reply.

Tom



Posted on: November 23, 2008, 01:17:15 01:17 - Automerged

Hi Max,

Now it is better, in this quick reply I see many options. Grin

Here is the LCD driver for MCC18:
CustomLCDdvr8bit.c        is .c file
CustomLCDdvr8bit.rar      is .h file

If you have a question, please post. Grin

Good luck,

Tom
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
MAXPAYNE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 320
-Receive: 313


It's a little funny......


« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2008, 03:12:29 15:12 »

Finally I got my lcd working !

According to bbarney I downloaded the datahseet for Lumex 16*2 and connected it and wow !!!!! it is working.....

I am attaching the dtst here if anyone need.......

Thnks to all of u for great support.......

SONSIVRI ROCKS!!!
Logged

Whats the Craziest Project u have done lately...?
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2008, 03:20:05 15:20 »

Good for you Max.
Sometimes you just got to take a chance that it's a normal pin-out otherwise it just sits on a desk never to work -- just like a blown lcd  Grin
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC