Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 08:17:15 20:17


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Microchip Development Boards -> does it worth it ???  (Read 2487 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
codemaniac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 5


« on: April 05, 2008, 02:13:49 02:13 »

Hi, I'm new to the forum. And I think that every newbie in developing projects with PIC MCU's is asking this question. So it will be good if people with your experience tell us how to chose the right one, and does it really worth choosing one.
Logged
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2008, 05:50:06 05:50 »

What exactly do you want to know?
try to explain what you want a little better
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
codemaniac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 5


« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2008, 01:50:21 13:50 »

I want to know does it worth to buy one. Or you can start only with one PCB with a PIC on it. And if it worths, witch is the best for beginners. And what is the best sync between money and quality (peripherals and so on). 10x in advance Smiley
Logged
Stefkeb
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Thank You
-Given: 81
-Receive: 30


« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2008, 02:43:40 14:43 »

Hi,

If you are a starter and not so sure if you can build your own boards you won't be disappointed. The quality of the boards I got from them is very good.
I mean the hardware will not be the problem if you run in to crazy situations and are not sure the problem comes from hardware or software.

What board to pick simply depends on what you want to do, a high pincount device, USB, Can, for nearly all PIC's you can find a board at Microchip.

Rgds,

Stefkeb
Logged
samomni
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 2
-Receive: 2


« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2008, 11:10:05 11:10 »

When I started learning to control and develop application program uSing PIC microcontroller, I do it the oldway "breadboard" the good thing about it, you dont need a big amount of money to start learning, I use the free version of MikroBasic and look at the examples and started working with it.
I still remember the first LED blink of that PIC16F84A very nostalgic Smiley .  By this way also you can practice your troubleshooting skills and PATIENCE (especially patience Smiley ).   
Logged
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2008, 03:58:45 15:58 »

Don't forget that some of Microchip's boards are 4-layer because of signal noise while most are just double-sided and can be made there are a few that can't at least at the hobby level so just download the files for the board's your interested in and read up on them before deciding to buy or make it, all the gerber files are usally supplied with the files which you can view with something like Gerbview
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
margo
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

Thank You
-Given: 38
-Receive: 33


« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2008, 10:37:43 22:37 »

if you are new to builing pic based projects why not start with a breadboard??..mistakes are easy to put right, and you will make plenty of them,,,,Ive used them up to 20MHz without problem..so 4MHz should be no problem..and there cheap...ebay has loads, with the money you save invest in a decent power supply, a 20x4 lcd perminatly wired to the breadboard, and hook up a RS232 link to a bootloader........a bit of time/money invested up from will pay back many many times..good luck
Logged
msnm4
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42

Thank You
-Given: 41
-Receive: 11


« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2008, 11:51:53 23:51 »

Chek this site in spanish: http://picmania.garcia-cuervo.com/Proyectos_RRBoard2.php
It is a small development system fully documented with schematics and even the pcb´s and all necessary to make a lot of experiments which are described in the rest of the site. It implies a very small investment and you can just equipp those peripherals you actually need. I think it provides an excellent service for a low cost.

msnm4
Logged
codemaniac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 5


« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2008, 03:06:29 03:06 »

I was planning to begin with DV164120 that will be the best way i think to gain experience. And then to make my own PCB. That was my plan.I think that it's better not to worry for the hardware first Smiley
Logged
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2008, 03:46:27 03:46 »

I think that is a good joice as you will recieve an awsome package for the price and for add on's you can look at mikro-E's schematic's and make your own board's from them just goto the bottom of the page and you will see all the add on boards
http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/easypic5/
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
anuraggoyal221
Guest
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2008, 06:44:40 06:44 »

For 8, 16, 32bit micro-controller development board in India visit:

www.agileworldwide.com

They have very good boards for all range.
Logged
carlos789
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 46

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 19


« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2008, 02:24:11 02:24 »

But of that page , I cannot be seen the circuits schematic Embarrassed
Logged
johnri
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

Thank You
-Given: 21
-Receive: 12


« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2008, 04:58:33 04:58 »

only hobbyist websites give circuit schematic for free,

a beginner only needs a breadboard to start making simple projects.

If you need info. on interfacing things to MCUs then there are many books for that,
just search the ebooks section.
Logged
jenya7
Newbie
*
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 15


« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2008, 03:18:50 15:18 »

As long as Proteus exists you don't actually need hardware development board.
Logged
zed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 22
-Receive: 9


« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2008, 08:57:40 20:57 »

As long as Proteus exists you don't actually need hardware development board.

LOL, you don't do real hardware for living, don't you?
Logged
jenya7
Newbie
*
 Warned
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 15


« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2008, 08:51:32 08:51 »

I can draw schematic, to debug it with Proteus without need to use any development board, then i do real hardware.
Logged
zed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 22
-Receive: 9


« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2008, 10:51:53 22:51 »

I can draw schematic, to debug it with Proteus without need to use any development board, then i do real hardware.


Sure... try to design and debug a PLL (for example).
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC