Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 05, 2016, 05:34:00 17:34


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Wind speed sensor question  (Read 1129 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
fredfoot2001
Guest
« on: March 03, 2008, 09:12:04 21:12 »

I have built a wind speed sensor with a rotary encoder but it seems to top out at 46mph.  I know there have been gusts greater than that since I started using it.  Does anyone have an idea why that might happen?
Logged
FriskyFerret
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 358


Put it in, take it out.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 12:31:16 00:31 »

Would you post a picture of the sensor unit, please? Have you calibrated the unit with an automobile? You may be missing edges of the encoder signal because of processing overhead. Is the encoder counter routine interrupt driven?
Logged

Dancing pants and leotards, that's what I'm talkin' about!
seaspac
Inactive

 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 2


« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2008, 11:41:23 11:41 »

Hi,

there may be 2 reasons, the mechanical design has nonlinear response, other may be as frisky expressed the circuitry is not able to handle fast counting signals coming from sensor,

for the 1st problem it should be calibrated, for the 2nd problem circuitry should be analyzed.

we hope we can help more if we know more about ur design , both mechanical and electronic part.

Regards

seaspac
Logged
FriskyFerret
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 358


Put it in, take it out.


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2008, 08:17:49 20:17 »

Quote
the mechanical design has nonlinear response,

This was my first thought and why I asked for a picture of the sensor. There are many physical factors of the sensor that could affect its performance. Fortunately, mechanical wind speed sensors are well-studied and characterized. This is not new technology. Waiting for a picture...
Logged

Dancing pants and leotards, that's what I'm talkin' about!
donno
Guest
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2008, 12:38:20 12:38 »

I agree with all above, if you visit Vector Instruments you will find what you are looking for but setup and calibration is essential
for accurate readings!

Link removed due to Warning, Sorry old chap!
« Last Edit: March 10, 2008, 07:06:37 07:06 by donno » Logged
fredfoot2001
Guest
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 05:13:35 17:13 »

It turned out to be the encoder.  I replaced it and now it works fine.  Thanks for the help.
Logged
billy77
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 02:45:56 02:45 »

where i find wind sensor?
Logged
armandiaz
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2008, 06:59:39 18:59 »


Note that you could make a wind sensor also without an encoder, you can use the "hot wire" principle and save a lot of money.
Logged
FriskyFerret
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 564

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 358


Put it in, take it out.


WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2008, 07:50:54 19:50 »

Quote
Note that you could make a wind sensor also without an encoder, you can use the "hot wire" principle and save a lot of money.

Wrong. A hot wire sensor has several subtle drawbacks and is not suitable for measurement of wind speeds in a fixed outdoor location. Although very simple in principle, there is a complex relationship between air speed and the sensor's output. There is also the issue of the effect of rain and snow on the instrument.

Sorry, the linear relationship between a cup anemometer's rotational speed and wind speed, the inherent averaging effect of the rotational inertia of the vane, plus the dirt-simple direct interfacing of the instrument to a microcontroller's digital port still makes it the top choice for amature wind speed measurement.
Logged

Dancing pants and leotards, that's what I'm talkin' about!
hugo
Guest
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2008, 03:25:40 03:25 »

How are you reading the sensor information?
Logged
ravenfeather
Active Member
***
Online Online

Posts: 107

Thank You
-Given: 682
-Receive: 418


« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2008, 12:01:28 00:01 »

Has someone used a fan for wind speed measurement? Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC