Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 20, 2024, 05:11:34 17:11

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [REQ] Easy 3D CAD for 3D printing  (Read 12502 times)
yahoo

Thank You
-Given: 56
-Receive: 100

« on: July 21, 2013, 01:25:38 13:25 »

I did a lot of 2D designs for my CNC machines using very simple tools but it is time to move on and to try 3D printers for prototyping plastic parts. I have no experience at all for 3D design and the tools I'm using are only for 2D. I'm looking for an easy to learn but powerful enough 3D CAD system to start. The requirement is just to be able to produce STL file. Can you suggest which 3D CAD system is best for beginners?
optikon
Cracking Team

Thank You
-Given: 1092
-Receive: 2000

« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 04:36:41 16:36 »

How about instead of learning on some easy basic tool and switching later to something more advanced, you just go straight after the best there is --> Solidworks.
It comes with tutorials, and the web is also packed with them. It's not too difficult to learn IMO. It will meet all your needs now and down the road.

I can explain this to you. I can't comprehend it for you.
Ichan

Thank You
-Given: 312
-Receive: 392

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 05:16:28 17:16 »

Many 3D'ers use SketchUp and OpenSCAD.

-ichan

There is Gray, not only Black or White.
yahoo

Thank You

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 06:18:04 18:18 »

optikon is right. It is better to find time to learn the best one in order to do it just once. I have ordered my 3d printer that had to be delivered in a few days and I wanted during this short time to learn the basics of some simple 3d tool. But I changed my mind and replaced the order with more advanced model which will be shipped as late as September so now I have enough time to learn Solidworks. I just started and I'm already so delighted by its power.
solutions

Thank You
-Given: 655
-Receive: 900