Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 15, 2021, 03:15:50 15:15


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]
Print
Author Topic: JLink V8  (Read 143029 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
wild
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 431



« Reply #175 on: May 08, 2020, 09:46:23 09:46 »

buy the J-Link EDU ORIGINAL one!
The difference of price is not so high compared to the clones (no warranties at all).
Latest HW version of the original is v11.
I do not suggest to buy the EDU mini because is much slower.
Logged
rajhlinux
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 3

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #176 on: May 18, 2020, 11:33:36 23:33 »

Thanks for replying, would you happen to know where I could buy V11 original edu?

All edu original starts around $63 before shipping and tax.

Also, I could take the EDU original and convert it to the regular J-Link version, right? By flashing the firmware?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2020, 12:04:16 00:04 by rajhlinux » Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4471

Thank You
-Given: 779
-Receive: 3516


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #177 on: May 19, 2020, 01:05:44 01:05 »

the official Jlink looks as if the price has increased.
but my understanding of the regular version and the edu, was they are the same.
to buy and use the edu version was on trust. they issue a note saying not for commercial use.

Logged

Note: OKNotOK
wild
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 156

Thank You
-Given: 513
-Receive: 431



« Reply #178 on: May 20, 2020, 06:22:57 18:22 »

I do not know where you live, but you can find J-Link EDU at least at Digikey, RS, Mouser, Adafruit, ...
From what I know, there are NO differences between EDU and regular one. Just you have to get rid of the once a day nag screen.
On RS the total price is 70 Euros, Shipping and taxes included (22% VAT here in Italy)
On Digikey is 71.55 Euros (shipping and taxes to Italy included)
« Last Edit: May 20, 2020, 06:29:51 18:29 by wild » Logged
millegps
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 33

Thank You
-Given: 37
-Receive: 3


« Reply #179 on: May 20, 2020, 06:48:17 18:48 »

Attached you can find a link for model comparison. edu and base is pretty much the same. On edu version you have also unlimited breakpoints. You don't have J-Flash license, which is included in jflash plus, so you can't use jflash utility, but you can do debug and program internal flash of MCU


the official Jlink looks as if the price has increased.
but my understanding of the regular version and the edu, was they are the same.
to buy and use the edu version was on trust. they issue a note saying not for commercial use.


Logged
eng.elec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 4
-Receive: 10


« Reply #180 on: July 23, 2020, 10:55:59 10:55 »

J-link V10 Firmware, Grin
Logged
nik80
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #181 on: November 07, 2020, 02:59:41 14:59 »

any idea how to remove "features" added with "exec addfeature flashbp" for example?
its a genuine j-link v8 ARM where I added some "features" and now the latest commander say its defective probe
it seems "addfeature" add any string there, and I did type it all lower case, may be that is the reason

edit: just tried "exec clearfeatures" which still doesnt work but show different error, it write only "ERR"
edit2: downgrading the firmware with j-link ARM 4.20 made "exec clearfeatures" work, now that field is empty, but cant add features anymore, it says "ERROR - Too many features"
any ideas?
« Last Edit: November 07, 2020, 07:19:42 19:19 by nik80 » Logged
nik80
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #182 on: November 08, 2020, 01:25:31 13:25 »

thanks for your suggeston
what you mean reflash?
firmware update through segger (already did it, still same error) or the same instructions for unbrick with RST and TST pins?
what is the chance if I fully reflash with firmware for clone to be recognised as clone some day later?
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4471

Thank You
-Given: 779
-Receive: 3516


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #183 on: November 08, 2020, 01:34:18 13:34 »

if you fash to a default j-link your serial number and license should stay with device.
you could always rise a tickit with segger
Logged

Note: OKNotOK
nik80
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #184 on: November 08, 2020, 02:01:12 14:01 »

Im really sorry for my stupid question, and thanks for your time, but could you please tell me which way is that "flash to default" ? may be a link to instructions?
I know only 2 ways - through segger configurator there is 2 options - firmware update/firmware replace (both doesnt fix the problem)
and the other way is with RST and TST pins to fully erase the device and then flash with sam-ba and firmware downloaded from internet, which definitely erase SN and many other things
Logged
token0
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45

Thank You
-Given: 41
-Receive: 83


« Reply #185 on: November 10, 2020, 03:06:14 15:06 »

the other way is with RST and TST pins to fully erase the device and then flash with sam-ba and firmware downloaded from internet, which definitely erase SN and many other things

iirc, the second way is valid, in the end you need to connect "default" j-link to your pc and set your serial via j-link commander, like that:

choose your usb
> usb 0
and set desired serial (if it's genuine, then it's real sn is written on the bottom)
> exec SetSN=58012345
Logged
nik80
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #186 on: November 12, 2020, 10:56:09 10:56 »

I can see that this is the procedure for clones, flash and replace SN, but some people say that after a while they are bricked by segger software, and need to repeat again
what is the possibility that genuine device with genuine SN later to be recognised as clone if I flash it with different firmware downloaded from internet?
its the yellow IAR j-link arm v8, Im not using it regularly, from once a month to once a year, and I really dont want next time when I plug it to be bricked
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4471

Thank You
-Given: 779
-Receive: 3516


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #187 on: November 13, 2020, 12:13:46 00:13 »

clones are not as far as I have heard being bricked, for a few years, even when they were it was a easy fix.
as It;s been said 'if you have a genuine unit, it has the serial number on the label' or read if from the software when you connect.

or rise a ticket with segger support.
Logged

Note: OKNotOK
nik80
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #188 on: November 14, 2020, 01:44:35 01:44 »

I had some spare time today, and tried
after few attempts and no success with 2 different firmwares downloaded from different places (one cant make connection, the other still show defective) I had to edit the bin file to remove all licenses, one that definitely trigger "defective" is RDDI wich was included in one of the bin files, it should be removed, and the other is GDBFULL, it should be only GDB I think
so to be safe I did remove them all and then added manually later in commander, now it seems to connect properly with no errors or warnings, in the next few days I will try to connect to real device, to check if still work as programmer/debugger
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC