Sonsivri

Electronics => RTOS => Topic started by: devfirat on May 14, 2011, 11:11:15 23:11



Title: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 14, 2011, 11:11:15 23:11
Nowadays i want to work on RTOS. Lots of people suggest OSA RTOS. I read instruduction and examples but i didnt built one program yet.
Can you help me in these questions?

First, where will unrar to RTOS files?
Second, i'm using C18, do you send me one example?
Third, i prefer MPLAB X, but i also use MPLAB old version.

I use 18F2520

Thanks..


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: 5dads on May 15, 2011, 06:23:27 06:23
Just open and compile the example files that come in the OSA RTOS download. Every one I have tried compiled without error, and the few that I have tried in hardware worked as documented.

Once you have one of their examples working, you can start modifying it for your own desires.


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 15, 2011, 08:39:56 08:39
Just open and compile the example files that come in the OSA RTOS download. Every one I have tried compiled without error, and the few that I have tried in hardware worked as documented.

Once you have one of their examples working, you can start modifying it for your own desires.

I know that but, can you show me my questions' answers step by step??
Because i dont understand where do i unrar the files?
I always get an error. I cant try example because of that.


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 16, 2011, 01:40:38 01:40
Solved!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Y9nkQ1x0yI


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: sughoi on May 16, 2011, 03:34:37 03:34
Dear devfirat,

could you please upload your source code?

best regards, sughoi


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 17, 2011, 12:40:13 00:40
You can look at here: http://www.fxdev.org/rtosa-giris-osa-rtos/

You can translate it to English.


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: sughoi on May 17, 2011, 06:39:37 06:39
Dear devfirat

Thank you very much for the article. I will use OSA instead of FreeRTOS. By the way Turkish is OK no need to translate in to English.

best regards, sughoi


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 17, 2011, 05:13:40 17:13
Everyone, works with RTOS, tells me to use FreeRTOS.
I'm new at this but i can tell OSA is good for beginning. ;)


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: sughoi on May 17, 2011, 08:14:00 20:14
Dear devfirat

I'm also new in RTOS field and I know that the worse thing at RTOSs is configurations. It takes a lot of time but once you understand it, it becomes so east to use.

Best regards, sughoi


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 17, 2011, 09:51:45 21:51
I'm confusing about using small delay.
If I want 30us delay, or something like that. What should I do about it?

I always use ADC or LCD and like that. And I must always use delay function.

Can I combine this delay functions with RTOS?

I know about RTOS tick and how to use it. I dont mean that.


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: sughoi on May 18, 2011, 08:06:25 08:06
It is also a problem for me. If you ask my opinion may be you can prefer CCS compiler and its RTOS. Also you can find a book that gives a few clear example of CCS RTOS. The book is below;

Dogan Ibrahim - Advanced PIC Microcontroller Projects in C: From USB to RTOS with the PIC 18F Series

http://www.4shared.com/document/OZyhKrds/Advanced_PIC_Microcontroller_P.htm?aff=7637829

Best Regards, sughoi


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on May 21, 2011, 03:38:39 15:38
I don't like and prefer his books. Thanks by the way.

Some people tells me use C++ if you want to work on RTOS professionally.


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: sughoi on May 21, 2011, 06:30:20 18:30
dear, devfirat

If you want to choose C++ than go ahead. but I know that small size microcontrollers are a good target for C++. so it seems to me that you want to focus on powerful processors.

Anyway, please inform time to time. Also it can be a good work of study for me.

best regards, sughoi


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: robban on June 06, 2011, 08:29:53 20:29
I use a 18F97J60 running at 40MHz. I'm experimenting with Pragmatec PIC18OS (open source) and the latency time is 50us but interrupt time is 1 ms, managed by an internal RTC.
You can use these defines:
/* MAGIC : Tmr0.lt = 65536 - (CPU_FREQUENCY_HZ/4/1000 - 232)          */
#define _10MHZ   63320
#define _16MHZ   61768
#define _20MHZ   60768
#define _32MHZ   57768
#define _40MHZ    55768
It should be placed in Yr Interrupt.c file (if You have any!)
Have a look in Yr. datasheet for INTCONbits.TMR0IF or whatever it's called for Yr. PIC. There you also have alternative timer settings

Try it...


Title: Re: Using OSA RTOS?
Post by: devfirat on March 06, 2012, 09:10:05 21:10
This RTOS works very good with Atmel AVR microcontrollers ;)