The Godfather talking
You can run, but you can't hide.
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2016, 01:09:53 01:09


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: ICD2 clone full working  (Read 22871 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« on: January 18, 2008, 02:25:14 02:25 »

Hello,

I have made a ICD2 from the original PICS (rev B) -a guy-. Because i couldn't find the components that he used in my city, i duplicate the schematic (it wasn't provided) changing the components, route and track width to suit home-made tools. I tried to compress the pcb but it was a hard work incompatible with standard home-made techniques (especially if you use the transfer-tone method).

The ICD2 clone is full working and tested with MPLAB 7.4 and 8.x (for now MplabX sucks):

Updated: Jan 31, 2012

ICD2 clone (alichan + sources) -circuit tested-
http://www.mediafire.com/?3za815qxbtbx3nu

3.3v translation -tested-
http://www.mediafire.com/?88ed46hs9inv5kn

PIC debug mode (example, troubleshooting) -tested-
http://www.mediafire.com/?g51indvi5d0d53i

PICKit2 clone -non tested-
http://www.mediafire.com/?tb2owl7oaaroasv

GTPUSB Lite + Winpic 8.x -non tested-
http://www.mediafire.com/?bdezio6h1m1dmaq

pass (when required): sonsivri

All files contents details and extra stuff. Please report any broken link.

For completely lazy people:  http://www.mediafire.com/?p7pbf14pt63ocky  (just 1 rar)


Updated: Jan 18, 2008

schematic_pcb_notes.zip (2693 KB):
http://rapidshare.com/files/84648895/schematic_pcb_notes.zip.html

Pass: sonsivri_alichan_icd2

Note: pcb is supplied with two copies of same circuit for home made purposes: i used two layers to insolate my pcb because couldn't get total opacity with printes. You can use only 1 if it's dark enough. 0.3 and 0.5 are small holes to aid in centering the drill. Read notes.

Firmwares.zip (56 KB)
http://rapidshare.com/files/84648897/Firmwares.zip.html


no pass

Follow the next steps to make it work:

0. Build PCB Cheesy
1. Install MPLAB
2. Program 2 pics with supplied firmwares. Be aware of configuration settings when burning the code (watch images)
    I use winpic.

   Note: MCLR/RE3 is disabled in code

4. Plug the ICD2 to PC, then:

   a- device will be enumerated (ding!)
   b- drivers will  begin to be installed (MPLAB must be installed previously)

5. Launch MPLAB

6. Select like programmer ICD2 in menu

   *** DO NOT TRY TO CONNECT IN THIS STEP  ***

7. Enable the option "Download operating system". Select the OS to be used for the 877A:
   (by default MPLAB  shows the one .hex suitable for our pic). It will download the OS to 877a

   Message windows will report:

   Downloading Operating System
Connecting to MPLAB ICD 2
...
   Connected
  
Setting Vdd source to MPLAB ICD 2
...
   Reading ICD Product ID

   Running ICD Self Test
...
   Passed
...
   Download Operating System Succeeded
MPLAB ICD 2
   Ready

8. Check volta ges all is correct :
 
   Programmer->Settings->Status-> All tests passed
   Programmer->Settings->Power
         Target Vdd: 4.96  (must be 5V aprox)
         Target Vpp: 13.02 (must be 13V aprox)
         MPLAB ICD2 Vpp: 13.02 (must be 13V aprox)

   All perfect and in range.

9. NOW CAN CONNECT WITH ICD2.
   Push the button Connect.
   The first time it will downdload the OS specific to the target (target PIC connected to icd2)

   For example:
   MPLAB 7.4: ICD12010200.hex


I made and tested it. All the previous steps are verified several times and all is ok without anyproblems.

Notes:
- I provide the files without any warranty. Used by your own risk.
  If have some problem, check edaboard forums: http://www.edaboard.com (note that spawn and illegal contents are not tolerated). Try to search ICD2 clone.

- It's noticed that in some circuntances firmwares could be corrupted (also in original clone circuit). Usually if ICD2 is disconnected without closing MPLAB, USB glitches can put pic in programing mode and fw becomes corrupted. Some people have reported it effects, others haven't.
You'll have to reprogram the 877A and download the OS again. It will fix all (temporary sol). If you experiencie this issue frecuently then:

I recommend, closing first MPLAB and after, disconnect the ICD2 clone.
Check new files updated with further information about it and apply the suggested changes in notes to solve these issue.


Enjoy.

Regards.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 01:58:10 13:58 by alichan » Logged
iphone
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 115
-Receive: 10


« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 08:33:08 08:33 »

Any schematic & PCB file in eagle format (your version)  ?  ....  Wink
Logged
Ahmad_k
SCG Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 604

Thank You
-Given: 111
-Receive: 1061



« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 01:00:10 13:00 »

Have you test it on 3.3V Chip Huh i see that it couldn't work on these chips
Logged
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 11:30:56 23:30 »

Nop, it's is not tested with 3.3V. You need a level adaptor from 5V->3.3V.

Why? I made it some time ago and didn't need 3.3V support. Anyway the original PICS-b can't support 3.3V pics natively, you need a level adaptor. I have a icd2 pcb with minor changes to support it from a friend (but only the PCB in pdf format to be printed). But I need to search it betewn my DVDs xDDDD

If need a clone with 3.3v support, then can make pyoto clone (www.icd2clone.com , here also can find the original PICS b). But i haven't test it.

I forgot to tell that  my version works perfectly in debug mode.

If need eagle sch, try in edaboards forums. I posted them there,  but don't know the exact link. Look for alunaro nickname, and search "icd2 clone". It one of my nicknames in other forums Cheesy
Will look into my dvds for a level adaptor. I have one (at least the schematic, it's very simple).
Logged
MiCrO-BiT
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 10:38:26 22:38 »

yes ICD2 potyo sopport 3.3v dspic.!!!!!!!
Logged
iphone
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 115
-Receive: 10


« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2008, 05:17:23 17:17 »

yes ICD2 potyo sopport 3.3v dspic.!!!!!!!

Can you share over here (the working version) ?
Logged
gasper
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2008, 03:33:52 15:33 »

i' make a potyo2 board but no recognise the pics  Angry
Logged
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2008, 06:41:48 18:41 »

My ICD2 clone is full working, its based in PICS(b). I didn't like Potyo because read many posts about problems and is more complex, therefore i don't need 3.3v support.

You can easily add a level adaptor to PICS version.


Notify if links become broken. I revise my posts from time to time... Wink

Really is ***ing annoying that i can't read my own links....
"You are not allowed to view links, check the Announcements Board"

:/
Logged
jeanninemtv
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 315

Thank You
-Given: 57
-Receive: 25


« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2008, 08:04:30 20:04 »

dear alichan.

did you changerd rj connector from picS orignial design?
because this RJ is not rj12 Tongue

i am editing the PICs design with corel prior to correct this mistake....  so the board is very tiny
Logged
jack12345
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 40

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 108


Happy diy


« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2008, 08:49:34 20:49 »

HI alichan.

Yes, I follow your ICD2 schematic & Firmwares, it is fully working, but has yet to test 3 V!!
Logged
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2008, 05:10:45 17:10 »

to: jeanninemtv

I adapted the board for making at home. I have no tools to make so thin tracks or pad (neither some friends). Size of board increased, but is aceptable and now can be done without any difficulty with simple tools.
About the connector the story is that i couldn't find such in stores of my city. Soa i changed it for a connector more usual (at least here and think in whole world). But shouldn't have problem with it because footprint is standar and holes too.
Maybe i should have used only a SIL connector. But that is another story...


to jack12345:

I repeat, it doesnt support 3.3V natively. You have to use an adaptor.
I had the schm but... couldn't find in my CDs. Sorry.
Logged
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2008, 11:01:39 23:01 »

Hi all,

I came accross this web site and found some very cheap hardwares.

http://www.freewebs.com/batbatdieu/

They have ICD2 for $350,000 VN dong which is about $21 USD (one USD = 16000 VNdong).

I have no idea where will they will ship (international or not). But for $21 USD not a bad deal.

The thing is not an English site. It is Vietnamese.

Tom
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
jack12345
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 40

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 108


Happy diy


« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2008, 04:53:51 16:53 »

Oh! I now have the icd2 can programer 3 volts, because there is no connect Capacitance [Vddcore  --||---(104)], Thank you! Sonsivri forum my friend!
Logged
sem_sam
Guest
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2008, 06:35:49 06:35 »

Hi, have you disk?
http://www.freewebs.com/batbatdieu/

PIC CD Contain (635Mb) :
-PICmicro Data Sheets
-MPLAB IDE 7.40(Newest version)
-Ebook
-Software for PIC
-PIC Compiler full version:
  CCS-C 3.249
  Hi-tech PICC
  Microchip C18/C30
  PicBasic Pro 2.46
  MicroBasic 2.0.0.1
  MicroPascal 3.0.0.1
  MicroC 2.1.0

Logged
TomJackson69
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 221

Thank You
-Given: 23
-Receive: 63


« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2008, 01:00:28 01:00 »

Hi Sem,

I don't have the disk, but, all those softwares you can find them here and or download from Microchip for MPLAB IDE v8.0.
If you search for CCS, Hi-Tech C and MCC C18 you will find links for download.

For CCS go here: http://www.sonsivri.com/forum/index.php?topic=5665.0
For MicroC: http://www.sonsivri.com/forum/index.php?topic=10384.0

The rest you should spend sometimes to search for,

Tom
Logged

Con Rong Chau Tien
altanaltay
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 17


« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2008, 11:44:37 11:44 »

this is good. it is fully working, but has yet to test 3 V
Logged
sohel
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 437

Thank You
-Given: 140
-Receive: 124



WWW
« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2008, 01:59:25 13:59 »

i am confuse , cant find any 3.3V converter from microchip? here a 16-Bit 28-Pin Starter
Development Board User’s Guide.

http://rapidshare.com/files/102758504/DS-51656A.rar
Logged

A Thousand Miles Journey Start With a Single Step<br />http://www.youtube.com/user/masud58
jeanninemtv
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 315

Thank You
-Given: 57
-Receive: 25


« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2008, 07:57:12 19:57 »

microchip in his starter guide to icd says

dont support LVP...  need conditioning of signals...
Logged
sohel
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 437

Thank You
-Given: 140
-Receive: 124



WWW
« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2008, 08:24:59 20:24 »

did u read full pdf ?  Huh

Posted on: March 27, 2008, 08:13:34 20:13 - Automerged



The 16-Bit 28-Pin Starter Development Board has the option of being powered by a 9V
DC power supply or by the USB bus. The position of jumper JP1 determines which
power source is used. Connect jumper pins 1 and 2 for the 9V power supply or jumper
In addition, jumper JP2 selects either a +5V or +3.3V power source for the targeted
device. For dsPIC30F devices, connect jumper pins 1 and 2 for the +5V operation. For
dsPIC33F and PIC24 devices, connect jumper pins 2 and 3 for the +3.3V operation.pins 2 and 3 for the USB.


All dsPIC30F/33F and PIC24 devices use a pair of I/O pins (PGCx/EMUCx and
PGDx/EMUDx) for initially loading your application program into the device, and for
communicating with the MPLAB ICD 2 In-Circuit Debugger. Typically, these pins can
be used by your application program for other functions after your program is loaded
into the device. However, these application functions are not available while you are
connected to the MPLAB ICD 2 for debugging.
To circumvent this issue, most dsPIC30F/33F and PIC24 devices use one or more sets
of alternate pins for MPLAB ICD 2 communication. These alternate pins are identified
as EMUCx and EMUDx, where x designates the number of the pin pair. By selecting
an alternate set of pins for the MPLAB ICD 2, you can safely use the original I/O pins for your application.
Logged

A Thousand Miles Journey Start With a Single Step<br />http://www.youtube.com/user/masud58
MiCrO-BiT
Guest
« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2008, 10:44:46 22:44 »

the version of potyo 2 if bears devices of 3.3v the version of PiCs not or unless adapt him itself a factor of tension
Logged
nakarate
Guest
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2008, 05:16:22 05:16 »

You Have textoll SCH for multiprogram chip ?
Logged
dimolin
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 24


« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2008, 11:13:04 11:13 »

You can chekc this site for not so expensive development tools http://www.olimex.com/dev/index.html
Logged
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2008, 07:12:25 19:12 »

I upload schematic and pcb layout of PICS(b) that i created (eagle 4.16 r2). I forgot it, sorry.

Real pcb:

Better later than never Wink

Remember, it doesn't support 3.3V mcus. Add some level adapter for it. Check the TESKAn's pdf, it's based on   PICS(b) and has a level adapter (but i haven't the layouts).
Logged
alichan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70

Thank You
-Given: 17
-Receive: 67


« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2012, 09:31:21 21:31 »

I gathered some notes from several sources and added others from myself, that help to the circuit stability and could avoid some problems (if they appear -not my case-). Notice there are hardware modifications and others related to the programming stage (fuses mainly)

1) R=10k on MCLR on F4550 is better -even though the firmware in Version B sets "MCLR Disabled for Pic18F4550"-
    1b) If you are really bored you can replace R1=20K with multiturn pot. 22K and do the job: adjust on 12,5V and that is.
2) C=10pF o 12pF for crystal (C6 and C7). (important)
3) C=330nF replace with 100nF and add in parallel 4u7 (elco) for V_USB (+5V) (C8) (important)
4) add 100nF capacitors on USB connector, on F877A and on F4550 (important)
    -between VCC and VSS- (pins 31-32) otherwise could appear problems of communication with MPLAB before unloading the SO the 1st time. These are our lovely decoupling capacitors...
5) osc=RC for F877A (very important) -notice the xtal is for the F4550 and the F877A uses an osc-
6) use 1N4148 instead 1N5819 (not important)
7) use BC327 and BC337 (not important)


These points should be more than enough... but  if you have some problem i suggest taking into consideration the next points:

(*) Cool inductor can oscilate between 100H to 1mH. Tested values are 100-180H (ver datasheet del MC34063A)
(*) 9) set all sectors unprotected for write when burning firmware.
(*) 10) when debugging uncheck Power target circuit from Mplab ICD2 (5v VDD) to avoid errors on mplab.


Suffering from reset of pic 4550?

1) Only after Windows is on plug in usb on ICD2
2) Only after Windows if off unplug ICD2 from usb
3) Only when is deselected ICD2 in menu in MPLAB disconnect ICD2 from target pic


If something from points 1,2,3 happened just clean USB driver and reinstall again.

In my opinion adding the MCLR resistor, decoupling capacitors, and the notes about capacitors are the most important and easy to add to the circuit -even if it's already made in the pcb-

Regards.
Logged
xor
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112

Thank You
-Given: 497
-Receive: 262



« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2012, 02:51:32 02:51 »

hi alichan

can you re-upload archieves again? (ICD2 for any pic -3.3V- (TESKAn).rar and ICD2_layouts_Eagle4.16.rar )

thanks
Logged

Freelance handyman
Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC