Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2016, 03:47:35 03:47


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: Is PIC Basic Pro usable for huge projects?  (Read 7394 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Memoly
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 28


« on: November 29, 2007, 07:53:29 07:53 »

Hi,

My friend is trying to develop a huge project (the code size about 30Kb) by using picbasic pro v2.50, and he is living a lot of interesting problem with his code. For example, his variables are changing, he is setting A, but B is changed etc..

I couldn't find a bug list for v2.5, or a bug fix like professional company do.
Do you think PIC Basic Pro is really a professional tool? Or just for hobbyist?

10x
Logged
8051
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 38

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 14


« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2007, 08:03:54 08:03 »

Yes, PIC Basic Pro is really a professional tool.
but some limitations, eg. sd card, mmc, float
Logged
piclover
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 97


« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 08:14:12 08:14 »

I'm using PBPro ten years and from my expirience, every time when something not work - it was my mistake, not bug in PBP. My bigest code is about 20 kB.
Logged
Memoly
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 28


« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2007, 08:26:58 08:26 »

I'm using PBPro ten years and from my expirience, every time when something not work - it was my mistake, not bug in PBP. My bigest code is about 20 kB.

For example, his code never touchs TRISB register. PORTB is always input. But while program is running, trisb register is able to change and portb is becomming to output. This is the simplest problem that he lives.
Logged
iguana
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2007, 10:22:07 10:22 »


He should contact Melabs if it is a problem then at least it will get fixed. I take it he paid for it?

Logged
Memoly
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 28


« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2007, 11:06:26 11:06 »

He should contact Melabs if it is a problem then at least it will get fixed. I take it he paid for it?


yes he is using licensed, but his problem is that he never catches the problem and can't define it. the problem is chaotic, not static. he starts running the code and waits for the problem to occur about two days. So he prefer controlling trisb still has value desired every cycle. He can't find problems, just patch them.
Logged
8K51
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80

Thank You
-Given: 86
-Receive: 39


« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2007, 11:20:53 11:20 »

Hi

Did your friend applied 250a patch ?
http://www.melabs.com/support/patches.htm

The problem could be submitted to PBP Forum:
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/

Such erratic bug is frequently caused by power problem...
Is there around the chip an inductive component : relay, motor...

Regards

IMHO PBPro is a 'Debian like' compiler : stable and sure.
Many internal tests between new version release !!
Logged
Memoly
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 48

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 28


« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2007, 11:36:38 11:36 »

Hi,

I don't think he uses this patch. I will inform him.
Also I found a few tricks to be careful at their forum.

10x

I also forget mentioning that the design pass all strong emc tests such as eft/esd/surge/rf immunity without any problems. all problems occur on long term and the base of the all problems are same, unexpected variation on RAM area.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2007, 11:43:38 11:43 by Memoly » Logged
nini
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 1
-Receive: 6


« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2007, 01:36:49 13:36 »

...do not use Microbasic or Micropascal for huge projects.
Logged
iguana
Guest
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2007, 04:42:19 16:42 »



Standard Pbro is a very basic product and they update hardly ever. So after years of testing and doing no updates you would expect it to work reliably.

PbproL is new and has not been out there long enough to have been tested fully.

However the problems you report are probably user error. A few simple test would help resolve the problem like regular tests on the Tris and to debug at that point all the info it can to narrow down to the exact cause.




Logged
btkd
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 1
-Receive: 0


« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2007, 07:29:47 07:29 »

Our professional projects work just fine with PicBasicPro.
Logged
kokos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 4


« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2007, 08:39:12 08:39 »

hi Memoly:
I think your friend has to re-check his code
I am working with PBPRO for 5 years now mostly for R/C projects
All of the time was user error when sth was wrong  Wink
Except from the fact PBPRO must be a little slow for time-crititical application there is no problem
for a huge variety of projects!

I don't know what exactly your friend's project is about but he could better use a simulator and check his code there , like PIC SIMULATOR IDE (low price) or PROTEUS (excellent - high price).
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 08:45:05 08:45 by kokos » Logged
8K51
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80

Thank You
-Given: 86
-Receive: 39


« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2007, 09:14:43 21:14 »

Hi
In fact the only serious problem with 'huge projetcs' with PicBasicPro ( and PDS) il the lack of local variables, functions, procedures..... No real structured language.
All variables are global  Sad
PicBasicPro is robust but the programmer must be very carefull when projects have hundred of lines !!
Regards
Logged
CoolWombat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 10


« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2007, 12:03:56 12:03 »

Like all the other chaps who posted, no problem so far. My biggest program so far is around 20K.
Logged
andybiker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22

Thank You
-Given: 55
-Receive: 22


« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2007, 01:05:03 13:05 »

I always find PBP superb. As others say, it is always stable.
I have filled the memory of 18f876 with one project, plenty of i/o and interrupts happening, and it all worked.
If there's a problem, Either I didn't read the datasheet properly or I've mistyped!
Andy.
Logged
mister_e
Guest
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2007, 12:39:24 00:39 »

PBP all the way, hundreds of different commercial products, some of them using close to 128K of code.  No problem at all.
Logged
iguana
Guest
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2007, 09:59:49 09:59 »



I know many many pic programmers and 99% were Pbpro users who left due to problems as the code requirements got bigger.

The majority of programmers leave Pbpro for other compilers very few go the other way.



Logged
jasonix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 48
-Receive: 3


« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2007, 06:54:43 18:54 »

I had develop some projects relationed with industrial Control, Communications and Robotics with PBPro and they are work very well without any problems. Is important to read, and understand the datasheet of the PIC involved in order to minimize any error.
Logged
paxmowa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 18


« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2007, 12:04:09 00:04 »

The problems with shifting ports are either caused by errors in the software (the code is very large, perhaps he missed an error somewhere) or bad hardware design. He did use decoupling capacitors? No floating pins or other obvious nonos? Then the error will be in software somewhere, to my experience it will be a small but obvious error for as far as that's possible with that code size.

Steve
Logged
alsabbag
Guest
« Reply #19 on: December 25, 2007, 10:25:11 22:25 »

In my personal experience, Pic Basic Pro is good for many applications where fine control on resources and timing cycles is not important. However, I faced scenarios where it was relatively easier to develop the program using mpasm just to maintain control on signals timing and memory.
Logged
9thwonder
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 26

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 11


« Reply #20 on: December 27, 2007, 04:45:32 16:45 »

hello friend i am also using pbp pro complier it is very easy for all complex program and lcd program also very very easy if you want more information please goto www.picbasic.org and click discussion form got many more details
Logged
sheriefaly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 4


« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2008, 01:59:31 13:59 »

it is really profitional with no bugs
Logged
orcasdeveloper
Guest
« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2008, 11:43:07 11:43 »

YOU CAN RELY ON
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2008, 08:56:06 20:56 »

Thai



translated into English = I love you too Max
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
matelda
Guest
« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2008, 08:43:27 20:43 »

hi friends :
first i used for programming PBP , PicBasic Plus proton , Mikrobasic .... as i see that PBP is very professional software but its limitation is the libraries , while proton is more flexibale with good libraries ...Mikrobasic still at the begining  but i think after one year it will be the best ...if u want to go to proton maybe this will be good decision .
best regards
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC