Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 04, 2023, 04:42:20 16:42


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 433MHz superheterodyne transmitter and receiver modules. (my bad)  (Read 1526 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 52
-Receive: 10


« on: January 11, 2023, 01:24:24 01:24 »

Good evening.
Im trying to establish a link between 2 microcontrollers (PIC 12F508), using cheap RF modules (Those used with arduino), and bought 2 kinds of them.... a FS1000A with its receiver and a WL102 341 (superheterodyne) with its receiver.
I know... a lot of people will strt yelling "USE AN ADVANCED MICRO, WITH AN UART!!!!"... and Ill agree with all of them... but I only have 15 x pic 12F508... so, it is the one that Ill use.
Best of all, I was able, (with de FS1000 couple), to interconnect 2 protoboards till 3m distance, and using 3 different on/off switches with the transmitter, and 3 different leds in the receiver.
I have to recgnize that I dont know even a little about radio transmission, only the use of a carrier frequency, and the ASK/OOK protocol which simplifies the data transmission. Thats all.
So, with this equipment, started to try different frequencies of data transmission over that carrier, using the NEC (infrarred led remote control) protocol, and IT WORKED with the FS1000 couple, on a distance up to 3m... Then, when trying to enhance this, stopped working and never connected again... Well, I have 3 couples of each pair, and tried to make it work again, and nothing... So I decided to use the WL102 couple... and worst... Not started even once.
As a try, I conected microcontrollers directly, to evaluate discrepancies between emitter and receiver programs (frequencies, etc), and all was ok, so I discarded problems with the programming step. Of course, there is always a variable, which is the time lenght of each transmitted pulse, wich can affect the performance of the couple, and Im testing this right now... But just in case any of you had tried this before, and have a suggestion (besides the UART thing), Ill accept and thank any one.
Im trying to make it work with 3.3V, and later use higher voltage on the module that accept this.
Of course... youll tell me "just buy some TX/RX devices from amazon for a couple of bucks"... and yes, if I were in a first world country, Ill just dont even hesitate in doing that... but here, in the 6th world, I have to buy one of those (for only one channel) in around U$S24.50... which is a robbery...
So, thanks in advance.
Regards.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2023, 01:39:57 01:39 by Poty » Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
ero
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 38

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 25


« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2023, 08:33:57 08:33 »

Most probably your problem is the level difference between 3,3V logic and 5V logic.

Check the following link and try to make or buy similar circuit.
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12009
You can look for also some simple solutions made by some resistors and transistor also. There are a lot in internet.

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.gadgetronicx.com%2Flogic-level-converter-5v-3-3v%2Fvoltage-level-converter%2F&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.gadgetronicx.com%2Flogic-level-converter-5v-3-3v%2F&tbnid=F2Q_htzDGnnvWM&vet=12ahUKEwi5_onIjb_8AhXUxwIHHfI-CdwQMygEegUIARCaAQ..i&docid=9XrSXhdD3afswM&w=768&h=629&q=level%20converter%205v%20to%203.3v&ved=2ahUKEwi5_onIjb_8AhXUxwIHHfI-CdwQMygEegUIARCaAQ

Ero

Logged
pushycat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 463

Thank You
-Given: 210
-Receive: 1444



« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2023, 02:51:32 14:51 »

FS1000A module TX works on a wide voltage 2.5v to 12v, but even for testing use the module on the same voltage used for the interfacing microcontroller. (5V) But the same gives best range on 9-12 volts . On the Receiver module, 5v is mandatory.
Logged
titi
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 227

Thank You
-Given: 3567
-Receive: 833



« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2023, 04:56:03 16:56 »

Hi Poty,

here is some advices using cheap RF modules.

http://www.romanblack.com/RF/cheapRFmodules.htm

Best regards.
Logged
jackjames
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 28
-Receive: 3


« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2023, 06:44:48 18:44 »

I have used the HC-12 module with great success.
It is an RTX with more than 100 channels and can be programmed with AT commands.

https://it.aliexpress.com/item/32805756453.html?pdp_npi=2%40dis%21EUR%212%2C52%E2%82%AC%212%2C09%E2%82%AC%21%21%21%21%21%40211b80c216843454258023950e0001%2112000031355642123%21btf&_t=pvid%3A7dd7e899-0413-4d2f-8dfc-c65141c8ee34&afTraceInfo=32805756453__pc__pcBridgePPC__xxxxxx__1684345426&spm=a2g0o.ppclist.product.mainProduct&gatewayAdapt=glo2ita
Logged
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 52
-Receive: 10


« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2023, 12:12:56 00:12 »

Thanks for you suggestion. I was checking it on Ali Express, and seems to be a nice RTX, but looking for it in here, in this country, the price is crazy.... Almost U$S 50 Each one.. Not a good medicine...
Besides that, what are for those parameters following the URL of Ali Express and the ht12 (marked in red)?

https://it.aliexpress.com/item/32805756453.html?pdp_npi=2%40dis%21EUR%212%2C52%E2%82%AC%212%2C09%E2%82%AC%21%21%21%21%21%40211b80c216843454258023950e0001%2112000031355642123%21btf&_t=pvid%3A7dd7e899-0413-4d2f-8dfc-c65141c8ee34&afTraceInfo=32805756453__pc__pcBridgePPC__xxxxxx__1684345426&spm=a2g0o.ppclist.product.mainProduct&gatewayAdapt=glo2ita
« Last Edit: May 18, 2023, 12:40:48 00:40 by Poty » Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 582

Thank You
-Given: 494
-Receive: 133


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2023, 01:37:11 01:37 »

Sorry if my reply is out of topic but I think this could help solve your problem.

I gave up with the common 433 MHz or 325 MHz modules and now solely use NRF24L01 modules from ebay or such.
I find NRF24L01 are cheap and give awesome range with ease of application.

Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4604

Thank You
-Given: 818
-Receive: 3975


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2023, 08:10:29 20:10 »

Sorry if my reply is out of topic but I think this could help solve your problem.

I gave up with the common 433 MHz or 325 MHz modules and now solely use NRF24L01 modules from ebay or such.
I find NRF24L01 are cheap and give awesome range with ease of application.


Also look for NRF24L01 plus SMA Antenna 2.4 GHz 1100M & NRX6M2 you can find all 3 for very little money.
Logged

Note: I stoped Muteing bad members OK I now put thier account in sleep mode
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 52
-Receive: 10


« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2023, 10:28:40 22:28 »

Nice suggestions! NRF24L01 is a pretty effective RTx... In fact, I have 4 modules, 2 with SMA antenna, and 2 with onboard ones. But I didnt tell you all the story. Im trying to make those work with a PIC12F508, which has only 8 pins... and NRF needs 4 or 5... which make it unusable in this project. It is intended to make a remote control from one TX to multiple RX, and then command lights, or whatever I want... and using NEC protocol. In fact, I made it work until 3m(10ft) distance... But I want more distance, to make something really useful...
Regards.
Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 582

Thank You
-Given: 494
-Receive: 133


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2023, 11:53:00 23:53 »

With the CE and CS line tied to the supply, you only need 3 pins to control SCK, MISO and MOSI lines.
12F508 should be able to control this, I think.
This I have not yet tried so I might be wrong.
Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 57

Thank You
-Given: 52
-Receive: 10


« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2023, 11:57:31 23:57 »

I agree, but there is another issue.... program memory.. 12F508 is almost the smaller one that you can get on 12F series.... Anyways, Ill try. Thank you.
Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 582

Thank You
-Given: 494
-Receive: 133


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2023, 11:13:04 23:13 »

Looking through my past work, I found that rather than standard serial transmission, I tend to use a modified Manchester coding to carry the signal across with an old 315 MHz transmitter and receiver.

I used 15ms of high signal as a "1" and 5ms as "0" and read the code at 10ms time slot.

I would send $AA as preamble then a series of codes to ensure that the right transmitter goes to the right receiver.
Then a short payload of not more than 10 bytes.
Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC