Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 08, 2023, 10:38:27 22:38


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 433MHz superheterodyne transmitter and receiver modules. (my bad)  (Read 371 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 49

Thank You
-Given: 43
-Receive: 9


« on: January 11, 2023, 01:24:24 01:24 »

Good evening.
Im trying to establish a link between 2 microcontrollers (PIC 12F508), using cheap RF modules (Those used with arduino), and bought 2 kinds of them.... a FS1000A with its receiver and a WL102 341 (superheterodyne) with its receiver.
I know... a lot of people will strt yelling "USE AN ADVANCED MICRO, WITH AN UART!!!!"... and Ill agree with all of them... but I only have 15 x pic 12F508... so, it is the one that Ill use.
Best of all, I was able, (with de FS1000 couple), to interconnect 2 protoboards till 3m distance, and using 3 different on/off switches with the transmitter, and 3 different leds in the receiver.
I have to recgnize that I dont know even a little about radio transmission, only the use of a carrier frequency, and the ASK/OOK protocol which simplifies the data transmission. Thats all.
So, with this equipment, started to try different frequencies of data transmission over that carrier, using the NEC (infrarred led remote control) protocol, and IT WORKED with the FS1000 couple, on a distance up to 3m... Then, when trying to enhance this, stopped working and never connected again... Well, I have 3 couples of each pair, and tried to make it work again, and nothing... So I decided to use the WL102 couple... and worst... Not started even once.
As a try, I conected microcontrollers directly, to evaluate discrepancies between emitter and receiver programs (frequencies, etc), and all was ok, so I discarded problems with the programming step. Of course, there is always a variable, which is the time lenght of each transmitted pulse, wich can affect the performance of the couple, and Im testing this right now... But just in case any of you had tried this before, and have a suggestion (besides the UART thing), Ill accept and thank any one.
Im trying to make it work with 3.3V, and later use higher voltage on the module that accept this.
Of course... youll tell me "just buy some TX/RX devices from amazon for a couple of bucks"... and yes, if I were in a first world country, Ill just dont even hesitate in doing that... but here, in the 6th world, I have to buy one of those (for only one channel) in around U$S24.50... which is a robbery...
So, thanks in advance.
Regards.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2023, 01:39:57 01:39 by Poty » Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
ero
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 38

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 23


« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2023, 08:33:57 08:33 »

Most probably your problem is the level difference between 3,3V logic and 5V logic.

Check the following link and try to make or buy similar circuit.
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12009
You can look for also some simple solutions made by some resistors and transistor also. There are a lot in internet.

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.gadgetronicx.com%2Flogic-level-converter-5v-3-3v%2Fvoltage-level-converter%2F&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.gadgetronicx.com%2Flogic-level-converter-5v-3-3v%2F&tbnid=F2Q_htzDGnnvWM&vet=12ahUKEwi5_onIjb_8AhXUxwIHHfI-CdwQMygEegUIARCaAQ..i&docid=9XrSXhdD3afswM&w=768&h=629&q=level%20converter%205v%20to%203.3v&ved=2ahUKEwi5_onIjb_8AhXUxwIHHfI-CdwQMygEegUIARCaAQ

Ero

Logged
pushycat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 461

Thank You
-Given: 206
-Receive: 1438



« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2023, 02:51:32 14:51 »

FS1000A module TX works on a wide voltage 2.5v to 12v, but even for testing use the module on the same voltage used for the interfacing microcontroller. (5V) But the same gives best range on 9-12 volts . On the Receiver module, 5v is mandatory.
Logged
titi
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 227

Thank You
-Given: 3417
-Receive: 832



« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2023, 04:56:03 16:56 »

Hi Poty,

here is some advices using cheap RF modules.

http://www.romanblack.com/RF/cheapRFmodules.htm

Best regards.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC