Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 25, 2024, 02:50:12 02:50

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: KiCad .pos to Neoden import  (Read 4650 times)
cycler

Thank You
-Given: 51
-Receive: 40

« on: October 06, 2021, 07:51:19 19:51 »

A software tool, just a python script to help users of the NeoDen4 Pick and Place machine import the positions of the components to be placed from the relevant Kicad file.

At first I found this one:
https://github.com/szczys/kicad_to_neoden

That script was not perfect though. So I did a few modifications. I am not a python expert, I just patched it to have the columns correct and added an offset feature. The offset permits to have a file with positions very close to the ones needed for the PCB placement you want on the NeoDen machine. The X, Y coordinates numbers on the NeoDen software are absolute, covering the whole area the nozzles head can move. On the other hand, the position of the parts KiCad gives you, is usually relative to the auxiliary axis origin. There must be an easy way to make them relevant. That was my thought and so I came up with the attached script. Please delete .txt extension, leave the .py extension.

Requires Python in your system.

** New version: Now with angle compensation. **

You can run it in a console like this:

Code:
python kicad.pos_to_neoden_chip_v2.0.py  your_position_file_from_kicad.pos

It is tested with python 2.7.18, also with 3.6.12 and KiCad 5.1.10, on Windows 10 and Linux.

The work flow is like this:

• First find out which part will be placed first. Usually a fiducial will be exported on top (if you have the designator – reference- AFID) or a capacitor.
  • Then go to the PnP machine and load the PCB where you want it. Start the procedure as usual and then find the coordinates of the first part to be placed. Note the X and Y values.