Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 28, 2020, 12:22:42 00:22


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Audio Switch Ideas  (Read 7443 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2328

Thank You
-Given: 755
-Receive: 603


Top Topic Starter


« on: September 16, 2019, 10:54:51 10:54 »

I have a problem in my office where I usually use headphones for my mobile and PC audio, and I have to either two headphones for phone and PC and keep removing/putting them according to which audio I need, or use one headphone and move the 3.5mm Jack from phone to PC and vice versa. I know this sounds silly, but it is really annoying when you have to switch between the PC and phone audio during 8~16 hours everyday.

I want to make an audio switch which has two inputs and one output, any brilliant ideas!? audio switch IC recommendation is most welcome.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2019, 11:10:15 11:10 by metal » Logged
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 722

Thank You
-Given: 205
-Receive: 712



« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2019, 11:55:57 11:55 »

How are planning to power this thing using power from a USB port perhaps. Anyway In this situation I would perhaps have selcted the least hitech method like using a mechanical switch or a relay. As 3 pole double throw relays are quite common
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Old_but_Alive
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 280

Thank You
-Given: 401
-Receive: 92


« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2019, 12:36:09 12:36 »

just use a rotary or toggle switch, 2 sockets, i plug, and a few bits of wire - simple
Logged

I fought Ohm's Law ...  and the law won
I only use Mosfets because I have a Bipolar mental disorder :-)
xor
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116

Thank You
-Given: 506
-Receive: 306



« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2019, 01:43:07 13:43 »

you can use single cell switch using the 4016 in your situation need two and make XOR logic on command pins or, a simple R/C network can be put in place of the 20k pot to fade the audio
« Last Edit: September 16, 2019, 01:56:08 13:56 by xor » Logged

Freelance handyman...retired after a long time illness
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 722

Thank You
-Given: 205
-Receive: 712



« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2019, 02:08:51 14:08 »

you can use single cell switch using the 4016 in your situation need two and make XOR logic on command pins or, a simple R/C network can be put in place of the 20k pot to fade the audio
I think the 4016 has to high switch On-State Resistance to be used in a switch for headphones. I think even the 4066 may have to high switch On-State Resistance. So I am still in favor of a mechanical switch here.
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Mr. Spock
Active Member
***
Online Online

Posts: 236

Thank You
-Given: 428
-Receive: 747



« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2019, 05:58:08 17:58 »

Mosfet ?
Logged
Signal
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 190

Thank You
-Given: 106
-Receive: 81



« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2019, 06:20:45 18:20 »

There are bluetooth devices that can be paired with multiple audio sources and could be switched between on the fly by manipulating buttons on headset.
One of the first links from google search: https://www.businessinsider.com/plantronics-backbeat-500-bluetooth-headphone-review-2017-4
Logged

Give a right name to a right game and play it right
enzine
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80

Thank You
-Given: 469
-Receive: 50



« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2019, 08:30:49 20:30 »

https://www.ebay.com/itm/3-5mm-Stereo-audio-Switching-Board-socket-2-IN-1-OUT-1-IN-2-OUT-CA/253225299876?hash=item3af5676fa4:g:83EAAOSwGMNbpFzs

Very simple and inexpensive
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2328

Thank You
-Given: 755
-Receive: 603


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2019, 07:51:51 07:51 »

The last one is an excellent idea! As Sideshow Bob, mechanical appears to be the best solution. I would then do sth like this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Nobsound-Little-Bear-Mc102-Mini-2-1-In-1-2-Out-3-5Mm-Stereo-Audio-Switch-Audio/202772854481?hash=item2f363436d1:g:VX4AAOSwC4NdckOd any idea about the resistance value of the volume control?
Logged
Silent_Thunder
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68

Thank You
-Given: 49
-Receive: 19



« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2019, 11:12:33 11:12 »

hi
If you plan to use mechanical switch to choose between the inputs, put the volume control on the output, a 10k resistor will do, the wiper of the volume is the output, and either ends of the resisitor is the input, the other end is GND, but you have to use dual wiper volume control for stereo.
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 722

Thank You
-Given: 205
-Receive: 712



« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2019, 12:17:09 12:17 »

Come to think about it there are infact Audio IC solutions that may fir your need well also like LM4836 it only needs a single supply max 5.5 volt. It has all you need,like input mux, DC volume control and mute And it is also in a TSSOP Package. It also look like you can score some on say ebay A mechanical switch may be quite attractive if you only want a simple switch. But as you start to ad functions like mute and volume controll. The part cost start to add up. 2 or 3 pole double throw switches and dual logarithmic potentiometers are not free. For your question about the  resistance value of the volume control. You can use that headphones for portable meadia very often have an impedance of 32 ohm @1KHz. So I guess you can start testing with a pot in the Kohm range
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2328

Thank You
-Given: 755
-Receive: 603


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2019, 02:00:29 14:00 »

The reason I need to do it myself is that the phone jack of the mobile is 4 rather than 3, this is sth I remembered today. sth like this for the phone and headphones 3.5mm plugs: https://uk.farnell.com/w/c/connectors/audio-video-connectors-adapters/audio-video-connectors/prl/results?no-of-contacts=4contacts&st=phone%20jack I think I will use a DPDT switch, LA4145 audio amplifier which I knew since I was 14yrs old, and the mic line will connect directly from the phone input jack to the output jack, no need for switching the mic.. https://uk.farnell.com/search?st=TS5A22362
« Last Edit: September 17, 2019, 02:09:48 14:09 by metal » Logged
microwkid
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 2
-Receive: 3


« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2019, 02:45:10 14:45 »

My vote goes to Bluetooth earphones. simple and easy
Logged
Captain_Boblo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 52
-Receive: 45


« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2019, 03:40:57 15:40 »

It might not be exactly what you want (because you'll need a new pair of headphones) but I would also recommend bluetooth headphones.  The Bose QC3 can connect to two different sources at the same time. 
Might be an option to consider for the future. 
Logged
towlerg
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 251

Thank You
-Given: 456
-Receive: 96

What is this for?


« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2019, 11:41:49 23:41 »

This post is starting to sound like the old Irish joke about asking directions and being told not to start from here.
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
bigtoy
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 220

Thank You
-Given: 255
-Receive: 288


« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2019, 06:15:27 06:15 »

This post is starting to sound like the old Irish joke about asking directions and being told not to start from here.

LOL
Logged
pl4tonas
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 145

Thank You
-Given: 304
-Receive: 195



« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2019, 07:00:30 19:00 »

Hello Metal,
I believe that you can do the job easily.
You can use a Latching Relay with 2 DPDT (change over contacts) i.e. one for the left and one for the right channel, and 2 switches to choose the input by changing the Relay's position.  
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2328

Thank You
-Given: 755
-Receive: 603


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2019, 07:40:57 19:40 »

Windows 10 1909 https://wccftech.com/windows-10-2020-18999-call-function-to-your-phone-app/
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4393

Thank You
-Given: 758
-Receive: 3235


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2019, 12:45:35 00:45 »

why not play the audio from the pc via the mobile then you can control the audio with the phone.
Logged

Note: So you have Not made a Post in the Forum. Without Posts we have No Forum, That's ok Can I Mute you now sir
kreutz
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 144

Thank You
-Given: 582
-Receive: 115


« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2019, 11:38:52 23:38 »

Check here: https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/products/analog/analog-switches-multiplexers/audio.html
Logged
~5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 0


« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2020, 02:50:36 14:50 »

(...)
I want to make an audio switch which has two inputs and one output, any brilliant ideas!? audio switch IC recommendation is most welcome.

I am a little confused. Is there a specific reason why you need/want to use an audio switch IC? You should be able to do what you need with a 3PDT toggle switch.

Even if you use an IC-based switch, you would still need a mechanical switch of some sort to decide which input you want to select.
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4393

Thank You
-Given: 758
-Receive: 3235


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #21 on: August 21, 2020, 03:20:08 15:20 »

I am a little confused. Is there a specific reason why you need/want to use an audio switch IC? You should be able to do what you need with a 3PDT toggle switch.

Even if you use an IC-based switch, you would still need a mechanical switch of some sort to decide which input you want to select.
He is not within reach of the unit. if  he was then he could switch without adding more switches to do the switching... simples...
Logged

Note: So you have Not made a Post in the Forum. Without Posts we have No Forum, That's ok Can I Mute you now sir
~5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 0


« Reply #22 on: August 21, 2020, 03:34:33 15:34 »

He is not within reach of the unit. if  he was then he could switch without adding more switches to do the switching... simples...


I'm not less confused. Smiley lol

The unit would use a switch to control an IC that switches the signals. Why not cut the middle man and switch the signals directly? No external power supply and easy/cheap to put together.

Having said that, I entirely understand if one wants to do it as an exercise to try a different may to manage signals.

Another way to switch the signals would be with an Arduino board that controls a few set/reset relays. It would still require a power supply but one can add LEDs, buttons or an extra input without too much effort.

Or instead of the relays, one could use electronic potentiometers to gradually switch between the two signal sources. Perhaps a little bit over the top but pretty cool - especially if one adds some LEDs to show the levels. Wink
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC