The Godfather talking
You can run, but you can't hide.
Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 25, 2024, 08:22:46 20:22

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Noise elimination in Flyback SMPS  (Read 6593 times)
techneo

Thank You
-Given: 120
-Receive: 41

« on: January 20, 2019, 02:51:28 02:51 »

Hi,

I have designed a switch-mode variable PSU which is a flyback topology based on UC1843 PWM chip. The PSU is working good with an output voltage adj from 15 to +24VDC. Schematics attached .

The problem is that i get a spike of +10V on my output every 400 to 500 msec. I have tried to use a pi filter but to no avail.

Kindly help.

-techNeo
« Last Edit: January 20, 2019, 03:12:01 03:12 by techneo » Logged
vern
V.I.P

Thank You
-Given: 7

« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2019, 04:59:39 16:59 »

I have developed a SMPS that uses the LMV431 (but with a different controller, LM5020). I have no experience with the UC1843.
The circuitry around the LMV431 is a bit different, adds a slope to the compensation loop and a filter to the optocoupler supply.
See attached pdf.
fpgaguy

Thank You
-Given: 154
-Receive: 166

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2019, 09:37:39 21:37 »

When you say 10V spike, do you mean it's Vout + 10V, or do you mean Vout - 10V ?

Without more data I would guess the pwm controller is sensing >1V on isense and skipping a pulse, or on comp

Does it change  this behavior if you vary the load by 50% or so ?

witsanukai

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 9

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 11:01:21 11:01 »

How long of spike period?
I am not so sure about your maximum current capability.
Try to take constand load for stability by add 240 Ohm 5W at out put and see the response and spike gone?
you may need to apply some small load for feed back stability.
techneo

Thank You

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2019, 06:26:00 06:26 »