Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 25, 2021, 05:11:52 17:11


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: PIC config tool  (Read 5938 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2404

Thank You
-Given: 841
-Receive: 651


Top Topic Starter


« on: December 22, 2018, 06:52:34 18:52 »

Hi,

I have been away for ages from MCUs, tbh I feel I lost most of my skills these days. Anyway, is there a tool for PIC that can do what CubeMX does for STM32?

thanks
Logged
Manuel
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 211

Thank You
-Given: 356
-Receive: 114


« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 10:17:30 22:17 »

Hi Metal,
the tool is integrated into the MPLABXide suite...

check menu in the suite:

-->WINDOWS-->MPLAB CODE CONFIGURATOR v3

enjoy.
Manuel
Logged

-> An Apple a Day does not Let U become a Macintosh!
sadman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 558

Thank You
-Given: 1461
-Receive: 1945



« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2018, 06:23:25 06:23 »

Hi,

I have been away for ages from MCUs, tbh I feel I lost most of my skills these days. Anyway, is there a tool for PIC that can do what CubeMX does for STM32?

thanks

here you go my friend
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2404

Thank You
-Given: 841
-Receive: 651


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2018, 05:17:27 05:17 »

Hi Metal,
the tool is integrated into the MPLABXide suite...

check menu in the suite:

-->WINDOWS-->MPLAB CODE CONFIGURATOR v3

enjoy.
Manuel

I think this one has to be downloaded first from tools->plugins

thank you

Posted on: December 24, 2018, 12:56:45 00:56 - Automerged

this is a very poor tool, PIC18F2550 doesn't seem to be supported in code configurator..
Logged
Catcatcat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Thank You
-Given: 168
-Receive: 925



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2018, 03:24:07 15:24 »

I also recommend MCC, I switched to it and without MCC I can no longer Cheesy For PIC32 MHC recommend.

« Last Edit: December 24, 2018, 03:31:11 15:31 by Catcatcat » Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2404

Thank You
-Given: 841
-Receive: 651


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2018, 08:27:50 20:27 »

I just need to work with PIC18 :- )
seems I will stick with stm32
Logged
mars01
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 493

Thank You
-Given: 614
-Receive: 1522



« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2018, 11:36:26 23:36 »

Given how cheap is now stm32f072 (ADC 12bit, DAC 12bit), ARM's the way ... PIC18's the past.
Logged
zokij
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 343

Thank You
-Given: 257
-Receive: 663


Nice time :)


« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2019, 01:46:41 13:46 »

I just need to work with PIC18 :- )
seems I will stick with stm32

or you can see:

https://www.microchip.com/forums/m904370.aspx

mean its depend what you need Smiley

I still vote for PIC - if I have to do a serious project Smiley
Logged
Catcatcat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Thank You
-Given: 168
-Receive: 925



WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2019, 03:35:55 15:35 »

or you can see:

I still vote for PIC - if I have to do a serious project Smiley

PIC - forever! Grin
Logged
Kombinator
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76

Thank You
-Given: 33
-Receive: 31



« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2019, 05:45:20 17:45 »

In the last 5-6 years, I have been starting to encounter the use of the Micrоchip digital signal processors of the 33 series.
Replaced Motorola processors in 3phases inverters, induction cookers, and more.
The unpleasant thing is that they are locked up, we can not replace them and rewrite them, and we're forced to throw out appliances that have more life.
I think it makes sense again to pay attention to the PIC processors.
Logged
Poty
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 43

Thank You
-Given: 30
-Receive: 8


« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2020, 01:48:20 01:48 »

Hello. The problem with this mplab configurator, is that only support a few chips (all from different families), so, you have to select the specific one that has the adequate pin configuration, and copy the generated config file and adapt it to your actual pic. It is a little messy, because it has files calling files including files that call other files.... ad infinitum. But.... well, this is what we do, right? To learn how all the peoble who developed mplab, the libraries, the pic families, and the compilers (whatever you use) think, and encrypted all... LOL
Just a little patience, and good reading interpretation, and all will be ok.
Regards.
Logged

You can't have your cake and eat it too... except if you do.
Catcatcat
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296

Thank You
-Given: 168
-Receive: 925



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2020, 10:19:32 10:19 »

I want to confirm that the use of MCC gives a tremendous advantage in the development of new projects, but in MCC everything is not perfect yet. Often one and the same libraries work perfectly on one type of MC, and on the other do not work. Those. it is necessary to approach the MCC with the understanding that the MCC is also written by people and there may also be errors in it. Often I have to use my homemade libraries to get around the flaws of the MCC.
Logged
Manuel
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 211

Thank You
-Given: 356
-Receive: 114


« Reply #12 on: December 11, 2020, 07:31:22 07:31 »

Pic Pic Pic, Agree.

X!
Logged

-> An Apple a Day does not Let U become a Macintosh!
jartur
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

Thank You
-Given: 1
-Receive: 0


« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2020, 10:34:19 10:34 »

Helo, maybe you could try with CCS PIC with options menu ( File / New / Project Wizard )
Sometimes is good to achieve one good initial configuration and this not need PIC with new peripherals almost works with all also old PIC.
Logged
avrlover
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 91

Thank You
-Given: 43
-Receive: 181


« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2020, 03:52:01 15:52 »

Have you tried this one
http://www.sonsivri.to/forum/index.php?topic=62528.0
Logged
tumbleweed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30

Thank You
-Given: 45
-Receive: 32


« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2020, 03:53:05 15:53 »

Sometimes is good to achieve one good initial configuration and this not need PIC with new peripherals almost works with all also old PIC.
You have to be careful with that... one of the biggest problems I see with PICs is assuming that code for one is the same for another, and many times that's not the case.

They change the peripherals almost as often as they change chips!
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC