Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2024, 04:59:52 16:59

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Q]PIC32 vs ARM  (Read 4082 times)
biomed12

Thank You
-Given: 67
-Receive: 5

« on: December 21, 2016, 11:06:15 23:06 »

Hello everyone,

I am a last class EEE student. I had many examples with 8-bit and 16-bit MCUs(PICs). I decided to migrate to 32-bit platforms. So, I need some advices for my future plans. I want to work on embedded systems during my life. Digital systems, signal processing, image processing, RTOS, embedded linux, more and more... These topics always make me excited. So, if I want to be an embedded system engineer, it is not necessary to explain the importance of CPUs. Briefly, which one do you recommend and have more advantages and is a good choice to waste time on, especially experts of embedded systems they develop applications.

Thanks. 
CocaCola

Thank You
-Given: 169
-Receive: 232

« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2016, 11:37:57 23:37 »

It's best to choose the microchip and/or CPU brand and features that best fit the specific design, don't force or try and force a design onto a chip, instead let the design choose the chip...

That said for general purpose designs you can find a family of chips you prefer and get to know best that will make designs more streamlined...  And this is mostly personal preference, I like Microchip brand, some like Atmel, others like TI, others like this or that there is no single right answer...  There are still people that love the 8051 architecture, as they know it inside and out, and even though it's an antique, there is nothing wrong with them liking it and using it...

If there is one thing to take away from the popularity of Android, iOS and Chrome OS in this modern computing age, it's the fact that you don't need the best of the best hardware and fastest chips to make world class products...