Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2024, 04:47:40 04:47

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Help] Porting OS Android or Linux  (Read 3453 times)
LzEn

Thank You
-Given: 48
-Receive: 86

Lazy Efficient

« on: May 15, 2014, 10:30:09 10:30 »

I am a hardware engineer that worked with different aspects of hardware design (Schematic Design, PCB Layout, Embedded Coding). I made embedded software for many MCUs including 8051, ARM Cortex-M3, PIC, Arduino. In one of my latest project, I am starting to think that porting an OS to my project will make my life easier.

The project will deal with many communication protocols WiFi, NFC, BLE. Instead of handling the stacks and the communication myself, it might be easier if I am able to port an already existing OS and work around it.

I do not have any experience with this, it will be great if anyone here can give some guidance. I am not expecting anyone to do my work for me I will do it myself, what I need is some opinions about how easy is it to start with that type of thing ? is it even possible for someone like me to do this ? if the port worked will it be stable ? should I continue to research about porting the OS or should I drop it ?

Also if anyone can give some guidance about where to start and some important tips/tricks/pitfalls to take care of, anything that can help.

I found this book, and updated the link in this Thread, is this a good start ?

Thanks in advance.
LzEn

~ Laziness Is The Mother Of Efficiency ~
Some Anon Guy

Thank You
-Given: 58
-Receive: 25

« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 03:07:15 15:07 »

Have you thought about using an RTOS that is already configured for your hardware?
something like http://www.freertos.org/

hate
 Warned

Thank You
-Given: 156
-Receive: 355

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 03:17:12 15:17 »