The Godfather talking
Share your stuff or I will make you regret it.
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2016, 02:40:15 14:40


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Power-on delay circuit  (Read 1502 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
dotm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149

Thank You
-Given: 61
-Receive: 47


C15H15NO2S


« on: January 16, 2014, 01:04:10 13:04 »

Yesterday I designed this (in a hurry) for an old drumbox.
The goal was that the CPU will start a few seconds after the drumbox is powered on (reset is inverted).
The secondary goal was that even if you switch the box on and off quickly, the delay will start again, so a simple RC won't do it.
This schematic actually works, but I'm wondering if there is a more simple solution.
My idea was that C1 can discharge faster through R2 which is smaller than R1, because D1 will be conductive when the power supply is missing.
The problem is that the smaller R2 is, the faster C1 can be discharged but the more supply current the circuit needs.
Logged
UncleBog
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86

Thank You
-Given: 110
-Receive: 136


« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 02:13:24 14:13 »

Hello dotm,

Why don't you just use the RC (R1, C1) with a diode across R1 (cathode to +ve rail). Then as the +ve rails falls the capacitor will discharge into it.

So in your schematic:

Remove D2 (and connect R1 directly to C1)
Remove R2
Logged
dotm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149

Thank You
-Given: 61
-Receive: 47


C15H15NO2S


« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2014, 03:07:09 15:07 »

Then as the +ve rails falls the capacitor will discharge into it.

you mean that the attached load will discharge the capacitor..
thats clever. thanks.


Logged
MTong
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 91

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 170


« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2014, 10:29:08 22:29 »

I usually used a 555 configured as in here
http://clarkson-uk.com/555-timer/operation/frames3.html
Logged
UncleBog
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 86

Thank You
-Given: 110
-Receive: 136


« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2014, 10:43:01 22:43 »

I think dotm wants simple. A 555 timer can be used but if you're going to use an IC then why not use a dedicated reset / supervisor IC such as those produced by Linear Technology, Maxim, TI etc. Then you get a well defined reset period plus some combination of options such as integrated buffer, voltage monitoring, watchdog etc.
Logged
dotm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149

Thank You
-Given: 61
-Receive: 47


C15H15NO2S


« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2014, 02:21:15 14:21 »

I usually used a 555 configured as in here
http://clarkson-uk.com/555-timer/operation/frames3.html

there can be a case with this circuit that when the RC is not fully loaded, and the device is switched on and off again, then the delay will be too short.
lets say it's 2 seconds delay, I switch the device on for 1,5 seconds, the cpu wont start then switch off and on again, the RC will continue to load and the delay will be then 500msec.
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3817

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2014, 03:10:51 15:10 »

try looking for oneshot smitt trigger, it will do what you want, and you could do it with parts from your original post.

but using a 40hc93 is better option.
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
CocaCola
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 399

Thank You
-Given: 108
-Receive: 182


« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2014, 08:33:57 20:33 »

I have become so lazy as I get older (and cost has come down so much) that I would just use a small micro, that and the fact that I always have micros on hand, can't say the same for many other components...
Logged
zac
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78

Thank You
-Given: 25
-Receive: 17


« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2014, 06:41:54 06:41 »

There are also reset ICs:

http://www.maximintegrated.com/products/supervisors/reset_ics/

and some voltage regulators have reset outputs:

http://www.maximintegrated.com/products/supervisors/regulators/
Logged
Gallymimu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 579

Thank You
-Given: 101
-Receive: 151


« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2014, 12:15:43 00:15 »

RC with single diode across the R is a pretty typically asymmetric charge/discharge circuit.  It's the best way in my humble moron opinion.
Logged
dotm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149

Thank You
-Given: 61
-Receive: 47


C15H15NO2S


« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2014, 12:39:23 00:39 »

I just did not see the most obvious solution.
I designed the circuit above without load on the power rails. That's why.
Logged
picavr
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 169

Thank You
-Given: 184
-Receive: 100


« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2014, 01:04:22 13:04 »

you do use lm2675 with delay start up (rc circuit on pin N5)
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC