Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 04, 2016, 12:53:25 00:53


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pickit3 and PIC12F675  (Read 4950 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« on: February 11, 2013, 10:05:54 22:05 »

Hi all!

I can't program a PIC16F675 with my pickit3 clone. Someone has programmed a PIC16F675 using a pickit3?
I would understand if the problem is my programmer (it's a chinese clone)
Logged
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 544

Thank You
-Given: 357
-Receive: 126


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 11:02:48 23:02 »

are you talking about PIC12F675?

Not sure I ever seen PIC16F675, not even listed on Microchip site  Grin
Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 11:10:16 23:10 »

and I read it as PIC16F676 Tongue
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 11:19:13 23:19 »

If you use the PICKIT3 to power your board during programming. You must switch the power on in MPLAB. As default this option is set to off
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2013, 09:47:30 09:47 »

 Sad Yeah, 12F675 and 12F683, sorry for mistake!


Posted on: February 12, 2013, 09:46:00 09:46 - Automerged

Sad Yeah, 12F675 and 12F683, sorry for mistake!


I don't use mplab but the stand alone programmer. Anyhow, using mplab the problem still the same.
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2013, 10:18:09 10:18 »

You say not work. That is very little to work. Can you tell why it is not working. What kind of errors do you get
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 12:51:31 12:51 »

You say not work. That is very little to work. Can you tell why it is not working. What kind of errors do you get
second that, plus the code your trying to burn, may have errors.

I think there is a problem with internal osc/or/if you set one of the programming pins to output, I think the programmer needs to program the  pic12fxxx at 12V, can your clone do this voltage?
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2013, 02:49:37 14:49 »

I'll try to explain step by step

1) the programmer is a Pickit3 clone from Sure Electronics

2) the software is PICkit 3 GUI and Scripting Tool v3.00 BETA from Microchip

3) the .hex file is generated from Mikrobasic

4) no programming problem using the picflash programmer integrated on my easypic5 board, and all work fine

Here the mikrobasic source code

*******

program wif675

' Declarations section
dim I as byte
dim VOLT as word

main:
'   Main program
CMCON = %00000111
ANSEL = %00000010
ADCON0 = %00100101
TRISIO.1 = 1
TRISIO.4 = 0
GPIO.4 = 1

while(1)

VOLT = Adc_read(1)

if VOLT > 128 then

GPIO.4 = not (GPIO.4)

for I=1 to 20

delay_ms(1000)

next I

end if

wend

end.

*******

fuses setting: wdt off, intosc, mclr off

I used this pickit3 clone programmer to program some PIC16F628, PIC16F887, PIC16F877A and PIC18F45K22 and all work fine.

But I can't program pic12f675 and pic12f683

« Last Edit: February 12, 2013, 02:54:09 14:54 by bigmaurizio » Logged
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2013, 02:59:41 14:59 »

It is something on chip. Could you try to erase the chip. Then program it
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2013, 03:14:21 15:14 »

After erase the osccal value is corrupted and the following message is showed "Invalid OSCCAL value detected". Anyhow the device is not really erased, but osccal yes  Sad
After erase all still the same and I can't program the device. 
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2013, 04:03:11 16:03 »

Do you use the PICKIT to power your device during programming?
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2013, 04:59:49 16:59 »

Try this to get your oscal setting back

http://picprojects.org.uk/projects/recal/recal.htm
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2013, 05:24:27 17:24 »

Your Oscal value is not lost. Look at the picture in post #7 Wink
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
bbarney
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2403

Thank You
-Given: 405
-Receive: 544


Uhm? where did pickit put my mute button


« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2013, 05:36:20 17:36 »

That's a picture before you told him to erase the chip , post a new pic since you erased the chip
Logged

Ever wonder why Kamikaze pilot's wore helmet's ?
titi
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 192

Thank You
-Given: 1434
-Receive: 705



« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2013, 07:29:32 19:29 »

Hi bigmaurizio,

To program pic12f675 and pic12f683, you need absolutely in "PICkit 3 Programmer" Software, in menu Tools, check "Use VPP First Program Entry".
If you don't check this option and uses MCLR as IO Pin you can program the PIC one time, the second time you have an error.
To have good programming for these PICs, PICKit 3 MUST supply VDD to target. (it is indicated by the software when you check "Use VPP First Program Entry" option).

If you have or can use a PICKIt 2 there is an option to retreive the lost OSCAL value by using menu Tools in "PICKit2 Programmer" Software (Tools, next OSCCAL, next Autoregenerate).
Unfortunately in "PICKit 3 Programmer" you have only Tools, next OSCCAL, Set Manually.

I hope this help you and other people that programs these small usefull PICs.

Best regards.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2013, 07:42:01 19:42 by titi » Logged
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2013, 09:16:35 21:16 »

Now "Use Vpp first program entry" is checked but all still the same. It's very strange  Lips sealed
I also tried don't use INTOSC and set HS oscillator, but nothing to do.
I hope to find here someone has a genuine PICkit3, that can try to program these pics to know if work fine or not.   
« Last Edit: February 12, 2013, 09:21:50 21:21 by bigmaurizio » Logged
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 544

Thank You
-Given: 357
-Receive: 126


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2013, 10:57:53 22:57 »

If the programming done by ICSP,
Is there loading on the PGD, PGC and VPP pins?


« Last Edit: February 12, 2013, 11:00:56 23:00 by Parmin » Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
thunderer
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54

Thank You
-Given: 18
-Receive: 61


I try to be patient


« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2013, 01:11:28 01:11 »

Please try with MCLR ON (link it to Vdd with 10k) and program again. Let us know if it worked. Some Microchip chips do not like the MCLR OFF (the one I hate the most, and I have a bunch of them is the 16F630).
Logged

Interested and hopefully helpful in: DC brushed motor control (mainly R/C - PPM/PWM), analog audio, PIC (mikrobasic PRO). Feel free to ask, and if I can, I will help. But only on forum topics, any started private conversation will continue in a public topic.
Cain
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90

Thank You
-Given: 102
-Receive: 106


« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2013, 02:41:08 02:41 »

If the programming done by ICSP,
Is there loading on the PGD, PGC and VPP pins?

Some good advice all around and if there are load on PGD and PGC try using ~10k resistor in series.

Logged
demure
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 6


« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2013, 01:57:36 13:57 »

Hi everyone;
I bought clone pk3. It works. but  it didn't program 32mx795 series. Can everyone help me?
Thanks
Logged
Sideshow Bob
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 457

Thank You
-Given: 160
-Receive: 494



« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2013, 03:46:31 15:46 »

Hi everyone;
I bought clone pk3. It works. but  it didn't program 32mx795 series. Can everyone help me?
Thanks
Why did you hijack this old thread about a 12F PIC. It is bad forum etiquette to do this
Logged

I really am ruggedly handsome, aren't I?
demure
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 6


« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2013, 05:56:26 17:56 »

Ok. Sorry. But I thought it is same subject.
I will open a new subject.  Thanks.
Logged
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 544

Thank You
-Given: 357
-Receive: 126


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2013, 11:00:23 23:00 »

I dislike those who got in, ask questions repeatedly then silent..
No feedback...

Hey bigmaurizio  did the problem solved itself?
OR did you throw the whole rubbish into the dump?

Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
bigmaurizio
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 1


« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2013, 09:43:55 21:43 »

Hi all! Sorry for delay. Finally I found the problem that was on the zif board. A bad metalization on the pcb.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC