Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 08:54:32 08:54

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Pinhole lens and a photodiode  (Read 4413 times)
htrx93

Thank You
-Given: 6
-Receive: 1

« on: November 27, 2012, 05:32:42 17:32 »

I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on whether using a pinhole lens with a photodiode is feasible for picking up a modulated LED a few meters away. My background is mostly electrical, so when it comes to optics I get a bit lost. The general idea I had was to use laser cut holes on a thin piece of metal over a bunch of photodiodes. Having 100 surface mount photodiodes is feasible for me to make... but 100 induvidual lens assemblies is not, so I wanted to explore other options.
Thank you.
Toxible

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 3

« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 06:32:33 18:32 »

Hi htrx93.
If i understand, you want receive a led light with a photodiode at a distance of few meter.
We need to know if you want a narrow angle for the receiving or you are looking for an "isotropic" receiver.
why use a pinole lens? is there any particular reason?
FTL

Thank You
-Given: 170
-Receive: 33

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 07:55:16 19:55 »

Again, I'm not sure of exactly what you want to accomplish, but using a pinhole to achieve a narrow field of view will only work if you have lots of signal strength or lots of gain.

The light projected by a lens or a pinhole is defined by its f-number. That is the distance to the image divided by the diameter of the aperture. With a pinhole the f-number can be very large. For instance, a 0.5mm pinhole (which is pretty big for a pinhole), projecting an image 50mm away, will have an f-number of 50/.5 = 100.