Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 16, 2018, 08:58:23 20:58


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Author Topic: PIC KIt 3 programming Error  (Read 17923 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
SANEMB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 0


« on: August 15, 2012, 07:22:26 07:22 »

While flashing the code in pic18f27j13 controller.we are getting the below programming error using PICKIT 3 as well as MPLAB ICD 3 programmer. Please find the attached snapshot.

Target Device ID (00000000) does not match Expected Device ID(00005690).

Please advice.
Logged
gan_canny
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85

Thank You
-Given: 98
-Receive: 25


« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 08:16:41 08:16 »

Read the data sheet for the PIC twice.. especially the programming section
Check MCLR has a pull up ( 10k works)
Check PGC PGD .....now if they aren't on the standard pins (ex RB7 RB6) make sure your fuse points to the pair you have wired.
Check ground and Vcc
Logged
Amon
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 54

Thank You
-Given: 47
-Receive: 50


« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2012, 03:50:15 03:50 »

And power your board.
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2194

Thank You
-Given: 631
-Receive: 557


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2012, 04:42:08 04:42 »

and update your MPLAB copy.
Logged
motox
Cracking Team
Active Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 138

Thank You
-Given: 188
-Receive: 186



« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 06:06:15 06:06 »

Thatís an electrical problem. Check all connections, power supply and keep the cable between the programmer and the device shorter than 15cm. I had soooo many programming issues because the cable was too long.
Logged
Skarden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24


« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 04:49:39 04:49 »

I had the same problem and it was caused by the printer driver (Samsung cpl-310) in my case.
Stopping the application running in the taskbar (the one that gives the ink level status) fixed the problem.
Regards
Logged
piappo
Inactive

 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 2
-Receive: 4


« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 07:35:04 07:35 »

The pic is bad or the problem is in the two line pgc pgd.
Logged
Skarden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24


« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2013, 02:01:07 02:01 »

Hello,
I have another (strange) message like that :

"Target Device ID (0x0) does not match Expected Device ID (0x0)"

This happens since I installed MPLABX 1.6 trying to program a 16F1455 with a pickit 3.

Trying to program a pic32, this doesn't happens.

The (strange) think is that, if I ignore this message, the pic is programmed properly even in debug mode!

So I think it's a bug of the 1.6 version (maybe in the firmware uploaded in the pickit 3).

Wait for next release ? .....
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 07:06:24 07:06 by Skarden » Logged
xpress_embedo
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 166

Thank You
-Given: 120
-Receive: 215


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2013, 07:12:33 07:12 »

Are you using a Genuine PIC Kit 3 from Microchip or some clone as i read somewhere you are suggesting someone to use PIC KIT 3 Clone from ebay.

May be it is the Problem of that clone.
Try to program some other controller on some other board, to check whether your PIC KIT 3 is okay or not.

I get this error few days back, and my case the controller was faulty, i don't know how  Sad

Also check your connections and power supply voltage.
Logged
Skarden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24


« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2013, 08:14:32 08:14 »

Hello,
my programmer is a clone bought on ebay but it's build on the original schematics and use the original software.
The bug relates just to the error message as, if I ignore it, the programming and the debug works properly.
The snag I found concerns only the 16F1455 as it works without any problem with other kinds of PICs.

I tried to roll back to MPLAB-X 1.51 and I confirm that the problem disappear.
Logged
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 54


« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2013, 09:34:57 09:34 »

I will receive PIC16F1455 in a few days, I have an original PicKit3 so I will try it. You can try to open a case in Microchip's support.
Have you tested also with Mplab IPE?
Logged
Skarden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24


« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2013, 10:00:40 10:00 »

Yes, same problem.
Logged
juvann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 54


« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2013, 07:11:10 07:11 »

Microchip tell me, they will resolve the issue in the next release of MPLabX
Logged
Skarden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24


« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2013, 07:38:58 07:38 »

Same problem for the 16F1459 too !
Logged
thunderer
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 58

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 64


I try to be patient


« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2013, 08:43:26 20:43 »

Those chips are younger than Pickit3 (and even Pickit2) so some hiccups are normal. They said both Pickit 2 and 3 will have a fix for these chips. Go to Michochip forums for more details. Then get back here once solved to let us know  Grin
Logged

Interested and hopefully helpful in: DC brushed motor control (mainly R/C - PPM/PWM), analog audio, PIC (mikrobasic PRO). Feel free to ask, and if I can, I will help. But only on forum topics, any started private conversation will continue in a public topic.
pheonixtech
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 3

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2015, 05:21:45 17:21 »

I'm not too familiar with the 18F series, but it may be worth checking your config bits to make sure that you have the correct ICSP port selected on the micro. I know with the 24FJ64GA002 et al that you have 2 or 3 sets of PGD and PGC pins. I've had a headache before with this...

Posted on: December 29, 2015, 12:19:59 00:19 - Automerged
Logged
BharatSujanani
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42

Thank You
-Given: 27
-Receive: 18

All is Well


« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2016, 06:04:43 06:04 »

I had same problem with MPLAB IDE.
Than i have tried this in MPLAB x IDE than there is no problem.
PLease try this.
Logged

Bharat Sujanani
sakugava
Translator
Junior Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 85

Thank You
-Given: 238
-Receive: 175


« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2016, 08:49:08 08:49 »

Did you try the Pickit3 software? Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B53UZBCi_9pFXzc0ekxlWGFFMVE
Logged
hanle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 6


« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2017, 10:21:22 22:21 »

You can use function "Download PICkit Operating System" from Tool menu. It maybe resolve this problem.
Logged
hunter07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 19

Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 2


« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2017, 02:28:31 14:28 »

Clean your PCB with isopropyl alcohol then pressured air. There may be some shot circuit or low resistance between pads/tracs due to solder paste residue.
Good luck
Logged
GroundPlaneLoop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 13


« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2017, 01:52:13 13:52 »

Check comm on PGC/PGD and MCLR level w scope. Seems to be a problem related with connection. Also try to reflash the bootloader in the Pickit - holding the button and connecting USB, then download OS with the pickit3 app.
The pickit3 standalone app is somewhat buggy, and regarding clones, I have also a clone and sometimes the OS upgrade is stuck, but with the button trick, it is possible to recovery it. Have some problems with uploading OS from MPLAB also, but only use it for programming.
Logged
natur3k
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 10


« Reply #21 on: March 29, 2018, 12:18:21 12:18 »

I came across a similar problem with PIC18 and original PICKIT3.
At first we suspected a HW issue but many more brand new MCUs were tested with the same result.

I checked and excluded other problems first i.e. configuration, MCU to PICKIT3 connection, software.

Environment:
MPLAB X IDE v4.05 @ Windows 7 x64

Solution that worked for me:
I tried the older firmware from MPLAB IDE v8.92, i.e. PK3FW_012890.jam (2013-06-13), from Microchip archives.
In your project go to Options, 'Firmware' category, uncheck 'Use Latest Firmware' and choose the older firmware.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2018, 11:40:20 11:40 by natur3k » Logged
PM3295
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85

Thank You
-Given: 90
-Receive: 19


« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2018, 01:06:25 01:06 »

I found, for some reason, when I use MPLAB IDE v8.84, I get the same ID problem, but only on a Win 7-64 machine. On a 32 bit machine, it works without a problem.
Logged
towlerg
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 196

Thank You
-Given: 353
-Receive: 82

What is this for?


« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2018, 06:25:04 06:25 »

Given the previous post this clearly isn't the problem but for anyone reading this thread at a later date. On another board it was pointed out the with PGD and PGC TISE'ed as outputs, MCLR disabled and some combination of fuses it was necessay to use the "Use Vpp first program entry" option (available on both Pickit2 and 3 GUI and IPE).
Logged

Win 7 Ult x64 SP1 on HP2570p
natur3k
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 3
-Receive: 10


« Reply #24 on: April 03, 2018, 11:33:32 11:33 »

Given the previous post this clearly isn't the problem but for anyone reading this thread at a later date. On another board it was pointed out the with PGD and PGC TISE'ed as outputs, MCLR disabled and some combination of fuses it was necessay to use the "Use Vpp first program entry" option (available on both Pickit2 and 3 GUI and IPE).

Well, my solution was an answer to a rather different question, i.e. 'my PICKIT3 is properly attached to target MCU, I followed the documentation and googled a lot, but still the device ID cannot be found', and flashing brand new MCUs.

Just now I checked Microchip forums, where 8.92 version was mentioned as a working one (however, older than 8.92 versions were disadvised). PICKIT3 reflashing is not such a problem, really.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2018, 11:43:36 11:43 by natur3k » Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright © 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC