Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 01, 2014, 01:32:56 13:32


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: What's the diffrent PIC Basic Pro vs Proton  (Read 3844 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
iphone
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 115
-Receive: 10


« on: August 25, 2007, 06:25:12 18:25 »

Hi guys,

Need to know what the diffrent between PICBasicPro (ie ver 2.47) vs Proton (ie ver 3.10).

Can somebody explain the diffrencess, fetuares, limitation etc ... in short form/summary ... for the both basic language.

Thanks for advices.
Logged
mcr
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 84

Thank You
-Given: 168
-Receive: 22


« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2007, 09:35:22 21:35 »

One thing that the PBP does not have is float math, you can use DIV32 or the fp.inc file that they provide, proton does integrate floating point math.

Proton can write to a GLCD, PBP can't.

I use PBP (bought it at Rentron.com) and beeing using it for quite sometime now, but the floating point is really an issue.


That's the main difference to me.


You could do a google search with the topic "PBP vs Proton"
Logged
bluex
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 23


« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 08:36:15 08:36 »

see the comparison at  http://picbasic.org/compiler_comparisons.php

I'll add:  PBP is not protected and Proton is Dongle Protected
Logged
iphone
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 115
-Receive: 10


« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2007, 02:53:10 14:53 »

Thanks mcr & bluex,

BTW ...  anybody want to share the learning document such as ... Getting started with Proton.

I just download the example download for proton lite but unfortunately it's not include schematic. So anybody has tutorial or 'Getting Started with Proton' ... hope dont mind to share over here.

Thanks for info
Logged
orange
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 126

Thank You
-Given: 703
-Receive: 196


« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2007, 12:38:16 12:38 »

Thanks mcr & bluex,

BTW ...  anybody want to share the learning document such as ... Getting started with Proton.

I just download the example download for proton lite but unfortunately it's not include schematic. So anybody has tutorial or 'Getting Started with Proton' ... hope dont mind to share over here.

Thanks for info

Here is the user guide.
http://www.picbasic.org/proton_ds_userguide.pdf
Logged
iphone
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 115
-Receive: 10


« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2007, 07:13:52 19:13 »

Orange,

Thanks ... I already have it. Do you have any other documents, please upload.
Logged
engr.humair
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 2


« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2007, 02:27:38 14:27 »

Proton is an advanced version to PIC Basic Pro Compiler
Logged
simyaci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 16


« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2007, 02:54:18 14:54 »

yes .A proton pbp front yes her language
Logged
Deimos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34

Thank You
-Given: 1
-Receive: 14


Whatever...!!!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2007, 03:56:25 15:56 »

I think the diferens are many, the most importat I think is that Proton have more resourses like that:

- GLCD with KS0108 Controller.
- GLCD with T6963C Controller.
- Floating Point.
- Strings
- Many types of variables:

  • bit
  • byte
  • word
  • dword
  • float
  • string

- USB with EasyHID can generate code with a timer that keep the conection alive
- Have many examples
- USB with CDC

And many other resourses.
Logged

Saludos desde Ecuador
creemstorge
Guest
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2007, 09:03:06 21:03 »

They are similar but there are some different codes between them. And you can do your huge jobs easiliy with little codes at PROTON.
Logged
ginali
Inactive

 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 4

Thank You
-Given: 6
-Receive: 6


« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2008, 05:59:07 17:59 »

with proton,you dont need a hardware programmer.
Logged
Ahmad_k
SCG Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 539

Thank You
-Given: 73
-Receive: 681



« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2008, 07:05:03 19:05 »

with proton,you dont need a hardware programmer.

So the microcontroler programs itself  Grin Grin Grin? you dont know anything about electronics.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC