Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 20, 2024, 09:44:05 09:44

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Newbie question about a Pic programmer  (Read 4425 times)
lou

Thank You
-Given: 13
-Receive: 4

« on: May 03, 2012, 05:27:42 05:27 »

I'm brand new at this and was going to build a Pickit2 Clone programmer, but I saw this on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PIC-USB-Automatic-Programming-Develop-Microcontroller-Programmer-K150-ICSP-/261005621399?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cc525b897#ht_7192wt_944

(made in China programmer).

Is this this or does it accomplish the same thing as the Pickit2 ?  I can hardly buy the part for a Pickit2 Clone for the price of this. need some help.... Thanks Lou
pushycat

Thank You
-Given: 210
-Receive: 1446

« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 09:29:22 09:29 »

It may be a ICSP programmer but doesnt look like a Pickit 2 clone. As i can see the USB is using a converter chip (may be PL2303) whcih can be seen clearly near the USB connector. The firmware of Pickit2 clone will naturally have a 28 pin 18F2550, whereas a 18 pin device is seen in the given link.
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team

Thank You
-Given: 230
-Receive: 960

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 10:40:02 10:40 »

I would have gone for a PICKIT 2 or 3 clone. They interface directly to MPLAB, and make your life much more easy. Also many offers a ZIP socket at some added price. This is just flimflams. The fact is that you do not need a zif socket with ICSP programming. How much can you spend on the programmer?

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
gan_canny

Thank You
-Given: 101
-Receive: 26

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2012, 02:59:23 14:59 »