Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 08:10:56 20:10


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Help required for using PicKit2 with Mplab 8.50  (Read 2869 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Sepiroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 6


« on: May 18, 2010, 01:54:49 13:54 »

Hi all, hope this is correct place to open this topic:) Yesterday my ICD2 gone off so i wanted to use my PicKit2 as debugger with mplab 8.50, but i couldnt get it work. I've included a 18F6520 in my design, when i program the device using (target powered) pickit2 software, it works like a champ. However, whenever i want to use within the IDE, it gives me this error:

Initializing PICkit 2 version 0.0.3.63
Found PICkit 2 - Operating System Version 2.32.0
PICkit 2 Unit ID = MG
PICkit 2 Settings: Using target power always.
PK2Error0023: Target Vdd measured at 0.00V which is outside the programmable range of this device ( 2.50V - 5.50V)
PICkit 2 Ready

All my ICSP cable connections etc. are all correct. However, i can use PicKit2 when i choose powering from pickit2, but all my connections and Vdd supplys are enough to power from target, How can i fix this?
King Regards
Logged

-sepiroth >_>
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 08:28:18 20:28 »

Sounds like target has a problem, see this
http://www.microchip.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=192175
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Sepiroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 27

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 6


« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2010, 06:13:39 06:13 »

i've read all those posts on microchip forums and tried every single soultion saw there.. but what makes me crazy is pickit2 can be powered from target without any probs while using its own software, but if i use mplab, it can't be powered from target, this leads me target has no vdd probs at all:\i thnk new versions of mplab doesnt support pickit2 at all anymore:P
Logged

-sepiroth >_>
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2010, 12:56:57 12:56 »

have you tried to use the pickit2 / tools /troubleshoot to test your hardware.
you need a volt meter to check it.

also has your pickit2 got 4k7 pulldown on PGC & PGD pins.
note: Installing the 4.7k Ohm pulldowns on ICSPCLK(PGC) and ICSPDAT(PGD) is required for proper debug operation.

also you could remove the target Vdd link to the pickit2, and tell Mplab the pickit2 is to power the board.
make sure you set vdd to match your boards vdd.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 01:05:41 13:05 by pickit2 » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC