Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 06, 2016, 06:42:43 06:42


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need to change Device ID of PIC16F676  (Read 2201 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ALLPIC
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 113

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 72


« on: February 17, 2010, 03:51:30 15:51 »

I am trying to Change Device ID of PIC16F676 so that PICKit2 can able to Identify device. Can any one help me

Thanks in advance

regards

ALLPIC
Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 04:29:51 16:29 »

the pickit2 should be able to show you have 16F676 connected by default.
have you tried to reinstalling the pickit2 and mplab software.
or you can select device by manual selection.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 04:40:08 16:40 by pickit2 » Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
ALLPIC
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 113

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 72


« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2010, 06:58:04 18:58 »

actually my bos is asking, if any one try to read IC through PICkit2 or any programer, the componant number should not shown by programer. means I should able to erase deive ID of microchip. If I am not wrong

regards

Logged
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3816

Thank You
-Given: 567
-Receive: 2049


There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi


« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2010, 09:57:37 21:57 »

sorry I just looked the programing specs for the pic16F6xxx.

4.1 Device ID Word
The device ID word for the PIC12F6XX/16F6XX is
located at 2006h. This location cannot be erased.
so only option for you is, to use code & data protection.  
 (unless there is a way to edit location 2006h in the hex file)
Logged

Note: If you have no posts other than, I want or reporting a dead link Then you can't complain If I remove your post So Stop Leeching
Parmin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 544

Thank You
-Given: 357
-Receive: 126


Very Wise (and grouchy) Old Man


« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2010, 11:17:17 23:17 »

Maybe you can erase or change the device ID if you are using Microchip's PM3 programmer..
I believe it can also put in a serial number into the ID location.
Logged

If I have said something that offends you, please let me know, so I can say it again later.
manish12
Active Member
***
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 164

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 39


« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2010, 04:22:27 04:22 »

or chip may faulty ,partial working ,full working but some ex pins may damage , that may be the case
Logged
solutions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1446

Thank You
-Given: 590
-Receive: 851



« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2010, 08:55:42 08:55 »

You cannot change device IDs by design, so I wouldn't waste a lot of time on it, especially for a hundred parts...it's a pretty common procedure to differentiate devices (features, price, yield, speed grade, etc) in the semiconductor industry, even though they all are the SAME CHIP, so they can charge you more when the feature has a VALUE to you (we all share the profit pot is the rule - don't get greedy.....you don't want your chip vendor to go out of business or not provide you with new innovative devices do you?). 

The IDs are usually electrically (sometimes laser link blown) programmed at wafer test, though occasionally it'll be a mask level ROM, right in front of that memory map register location you mentioned

This is to keep unscrupulous companies from buying a cheaper version of the chip and turning on features that weren't meant to be in that ID.  Now you know why pinouts are eerily similar....sometimes it'll be a nonconnected chip pad as well to keep people from hacking to a more expensive, longer test time, chip functionality as well.

Note that you are also risking turning on UNTESTED features if you should ever succeed in hacking the device ID.
Logged
ALLPIC
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 113

Thank You
-Given: 64
-Receive: 72


« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2010, 02:56:05 14:56 »

I tried in this 2 days but each time I tried I lost a chip. so I think this is enough time I waste on this. And I also personally feel that there is no point to erase device ID if your code is up to mark. Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC