Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 29, 2024, 01:09:47 13:09

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Q]In circuit hardware debugger  (Read 3606 times)
biomed12

Thank You
-Given: 67
-Receive: 5

« on: April 13, 2017, 01:10:52 01:10 »

Hello,

I have a question about ICDs. I have an arm eval. board and it has an ICD. I have been using it for 4-5 months but, I have wondered short time ago the concept of ICD principles. I know the ICSP concept of PIC MCUs. Are ICDs same to it? Briefly, how it works?

Thanks.
Miss-Electro

Thank You
-Given: 6
-Receive: 3

« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 02:25:57 02:25 »

To be short, ICSP is used to program a uC while it's still connected to the application circuit.
ICD allows you to control firmware execution on your uC so that you can see how it performs on real hardware.
For example you can set break points in the code or read out memory and port values. An ICD can also animate the execution of code, power the application circuit, program the uC...
I think these are the main purposes of the two mentioned interfaces, but of course every constructor can implement additional features.
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team

Thank You
-Given: 230
-Receive: 959

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2017, 01:29:56 13:29 »

As an aside. For some strange reason students often think their programmings skills are so good. That they do not have to use nor understand the concept of debugging. Some students can coast through a computer class. But barely know how to use the debugger tool at hands.

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Miss-Electro

Thank You

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2017, 02:39:58 14:39 »