The Godfather talking
You can run, but you can't hide.
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2016, 07:12:55 19:12


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: DC offset removal  (Read 3261 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
odsk
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 12


« on: January 13, 2010, 05:27:58 05:27 »

Hi All,
What is the best way to remove the DC offset from a signal? (15-20V DC (not constant and will be in this range), 1 VPP signal overlayed on top of it) I am trying to get the 1VPP out of it.

Regards,
odsk
Logged
PilotPTK
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 40

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 23


« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 05:50:11 05:50 »

Tons of different ways to do it..  If you're feeding a Micro-Controller (PIC, AVR, etc), probably the easiest way is to resistor divide it (say max is 21V - divide by 4.2 gives you 0-5V).. Read divided voltage into A/D and then subtract the offset in software.

That's just one example.  Tell us what you want to 'do' with the signal and I'm sure myself or someone else can help you further.

PPtk
Logged
borberk
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298

Thank You
-Given: 309
-Receive: 598


« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 07:09:06 07:09 »

Simplest way to do this is capacitive coupling but depending on the nature of useful signal it could be useless. In case of video signal (1Vpp) it can be used.
Logged
waicon
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127

Thank You
-Given: 55
-Receive: 62


I'm learning to Dream...not Relaxing...zzZ


« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2010, 07:11:36 07:11 »

frist: friquency of ac signal ? if high enough, use a capacitor  Grin Grin Grin
second: if very low friquency driff, use op-amp cmrr mode to clamp DC, but u need a referance voltage.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 07:18:34 07:18 by waicon » Logged
odsk
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 12


« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2010, 02:59:21 14:59 »

Thanks Gents for your replies,

Frequency is 40K. the signal contains digital data as bits sent serially and I am going to use a PIC 16f877a to try and read this data.
I am favoring more the way PilotPTK mentioned with a small addition:
1 digitize the incoming signal
2 smoothing on the signal with an LP filter, and read it
3 do 1-2 (to remove the offset dynamically).

regards,
odsk
Logged
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2010, 04:03:05 16:03 »

Opto Isolator may be extremely useful here.
Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
odsk
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 12


« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2010, 04:36:51 16:36 »

Opto Isolator may be extremely useful here.
Thanks,
 but How? I thought about that before but if I get the voltage+signal to the diode how it will make the on/off for the signal to pass.
odsk
Logged
petarp
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 51


« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2010, 05:20:06 17:20 »

Hi. You can use HCPL7840 analog opto-couplers.

Best Regards.
Logged
oldvan
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 375

Thank You
-Given: 152
-Receive: 106


If the van is a Rockin'...


WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2010, 09:12:19 21:12 »

If offset is consistent enough, a zener diode in series with the LED portion of the Opto Isolator would do the job.
Logged

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to fish and he will sit around in a boat drinking beer all day.
borberk
V.I.P
Senior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298

Thank You
-Given: 309
-Receive: 598


« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2010, 09:40:55 21:40 »

Use capacitive coupling and clamper:
http://www.tpub.com/content/neets/14181/css/14181_214.htm
http://www.tpub.com/content/neets/14181/css/14181_215.htm
Logged
hate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 556

Thank You
-Given: 156
-Receive: 354


« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2010, 07:07:48 07:07 »

Opamp subtraction might be another option. It can be done with a single opamp, near infinite input resistance and offset to be subtracted can be varied by a trimpot or something.

Regards...
Logged

Regards...
waicon
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 127

Thank You
-Given: 55
-Receive: 62


I'm learning to Dream...not Relaxing...zzZ


« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2010, 01:43:44 13:43 »

if frequency bandwilth not too big maybe use high frequency transformer, that little trans always in modem nearby phone jack.
trans + differantial pair opamp could do the job.
Logged
sa_mo33958
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 30

Thank You
-Given: 43
-Receive: 28


« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2010, 12:21:38 12:21 »

I think first you have to isolate your circuit from line there are three ways:
1- Transformer isolation : Like the one used in dialup modem or ISDN Line
2- Opto isolation: Like CPC series from CLARE Co.
3- Capacitance isolation:

but in your application I think transformer is the best try products from MidCom Company or Pulse.
www.midcom-inc.com
www.pulseeng.com
Logged
carbontracks
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67

Thank You
-Given: 20
-Receive: 4


« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2010, 02:30:27 14:30 »

Capacitive coupling sounds fine for the application, as far as I understand it, and it will be by far the easiest solution to implement.

If its digital, couple it to half your digital supply voltage (like 2.5V for a 5V supply) then just feed it into a schmiddt trigger buffer, or a comparator if you need a specific amount of hysteresis.
Logged
odsk
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53

Thank You
-Given: 11
-Receive: 12


« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2010, 01:58:57 01:58 »

Thanks all for your help.
I built a circuit that have a capacitor coupling with  Lm2901 comparator and the extracted signal look fantastic  Smiley.
Thanks again for your help.
ODSK
Logged
DreamCat
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 235

Thank You
-Given: 130
-Receive: 77



« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2010, 06:06:41 06:06 »

If the signal can not allow distortion, you also can use a op amp form a subtracter to extracted it .
Logged

May be I expressed the wrong meaning, sorry for my bad english. Please correct it for me if you can.
hate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 556

Thank You
-Given: 156
-Receive: 354


« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2010, 03:59:41 15:59 »

If the signal can not allow distortion, you also can use a op amp form a subtracter to extracted it .

Is this anything different than what I suggested

http://www.sonsivri.com/forum/index.php?topic=27008.msg91046#msg91046

or are u seconding my suggestion?

Regards...
Logged

Regards...
flyback
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 74

Thank You
-Given: 53
-Receive: 28


« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2010, 07:00:31 19:00 »

You may try this circuit:
U1 will remove the DC offset, but inverts the signal
U2 will restore the right polarity
Good luck
Logged
Everflow
Guest
« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2010, 02:45:04 14:45 »

Opto Isolator may be extremely useful here.

Hi there, correct me if I am wrong.
You have an analog signal that has 1Vpp DC offset. You digitalize this signal through a ADC and you process the values in serial stream. Assuming that I've got this right, assuming the conversion resolution is given (lets say 8bit) and the offset symmetric you could "remove" this offset mathematically through your MCU processes. Ofcourse I don't have more info about your circuit or the way you process the data but if you can do that it saves you extra components without compromising the accuracy of your conversion.
So the main idea. If your ADC provides a negative value you can add the mathematical absolute value of the offset divided by 2 (0.5V digitalized depending on your resolution) on the measured value and have the true value w/o the offset. Vise versa on positive value you can substract that absolute value etc etc.
It will require more code and I don't know what's your flexibility on that but if it could be implemented in your case:
1) Saves space on PCB
2) Requires less components
3) It's more accurate (if offset doesn't change)

As I see my info is kinda outdated but may be in use somehow Smiley

Best regards,
Spyros


#Edit# Mistakenly I quoted wrong msg. Sorry about that :/
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 05:33:06 17:33 by Everflow » Logged
DreamCat
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 235

Thank You
-Given: 130
-Receive: 77



« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2010, 03:33:18 15:33 »

Is this anything different than what I suggested

http://www.sonsivri.com/forum/index.php?topic=27008.msg91046#msg91046

or are u seconding my suggestion?

Regards...


oh, sorry, I didn't read all reply before I post...so my post isn't repeat your suggestion.
just same think.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2010, 03:48:46 15:48 by DreamCat » Logged

May be I expressed the wrong meaning, sorry for my bad english. Please correct it for me if you can.
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC