The Godfather talking
You may crack software. How about me?
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2016, 12:51:52 00:51


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: 8051 S series vs C series  (Read 5351 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
glenndr_15
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 72



« on: April 04, 2009, 07:30:46 07:30 »

What is the difference between the s series vs the c series?
Logged
samir
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 180

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 21


« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 09:55:55 09:55 »

in atmel one
one diff is S series can be programed using low volatge in system programing method so only six pin header is req to program chip onboard
Logged
microkid
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 19


« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 05:41:53 05:41 »

There are some other differences too

For example voltage rating is different for 'S' series

Mostly minor improvements added

Checkout the datasheet for more accurate differences

MicroKid
Logged

Never Never Never giveup
ali_asadzadeh
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 12


« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 08:45:27 08:45 »

as others said it can be programmed in system and it also have watchdog and a second DPTR.
Logged
chyun3
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64

Thank You
-Given: 24
-Receive: 5


« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2009, 05:09:55 05:09 »

C series need high voltage parallel programming to burn in the hex code...not recommend...better go for the S series that support ISP...
Logged
avrPassion
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 10

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 4


« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2009, 01:27:28 13:27 »

I have heard  that the protocol of ISP in the S series of 8051 is the same as ISP protocol that is used by the AVR chips. I have AVRISP programmer and the schematic file of it. I can post the pcb file of the AVRISP programmers too. Can we use AVRISP programmer to program the S series of 8051? what software should we use?
Logged
glenndr_15
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 138

Thank You
-Given: 19
-Receive: 72



« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2009, 06:09:58 06:09 »

can I use the source code or hex file of the C series for S series? or vice versa?
Logged
avrPassion
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 10

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 4


« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2009, 10:34:21 10:34 »

Yes, you can
Logged
pak
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 61

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 17


« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2009, 01:58:20 01:58 »

Quote
I have heard  that the protocol of ISP in the S series of 8051 is the same as ISP protocol that is used by the AVR chips. I have AVRISP programmer and the schematic file of it. I can post the pcb file of the AVRISP programmers too. Can we use AVRISP programmer to program the S series of 8051?

I tried both AT89S53 and  ATMega8 with ISP programmer for http://www.lancos.com/prog.html .It's working  Smiley 

for more detail, you may check it out that site. It has hardware and software programmer.
All you need to change is the reset pin polarity.

pak

Happy Microcontroller programming
Logged
oscareev
Newbie
*
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 14

Thank You
-Given: 6
-Receive: 1


« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2009, 07:32:21 07:32 »

The big difference between 89C and 89S is the SPI port, besides its programming.

La gran diferencia entre 89C y 89S es el puerto SPI, ademas su programacion.

regards

cali - colombia
Logged
technovm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 104



« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2010, 01:59:22 13:59 »

if a capacitor 0.1uf is connected to port of 89S51, which is connected to a key, key will not work. whereas it works with 89C51
Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2018

Thank You
-Given: 514
-Receive: 477


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2010, 02:22:00 14:22 »

Strange finding, can you explain why?
Logged

nothing to say..
technovm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 104



« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2010, 07:47:02 07:47 »

Strange finding, can you explain why?

I could not find out why. I have searched in many forums for the answer.
Logged
rentau
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 44

Thank You
-Given: 10
-Receive: 15


« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2010, 05:06:12 05:06 »

.1uF doesn't matter at all IMHO, also you should consider what port,pin your using, if they have internal pull-up or not, or any shared I/O
Logged

everything has its beginning ,not all has its end~
technovm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 104



« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2010, 09:52:30 09:52 »

i have connected key to port 1.7 of 89s52, with a pull up resistor of 3.3k and 0.1uf capacitro to ground. The key does not work. If i replace 89s52 with 89c52 the key functions as desired.
Logged
microkid
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 19


« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2011, 08:54:36 08:54 »

There may be some problem with your code. Check out the code again.
Logged

Never Never Never giveup
technovm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 104



« Reply #16 on: August 09, 2011, 10:13:46 10:13 »

there is no problem with the code. If i cut off the capacitor the code works or if i replace 89S52 with 89C52 the same code works. Huh
Logged
microkid
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 130

Thank You
-Given: 44
-Receive: 19


« Reply #17 on: August 09, 2011, 10:33:34 10:33 »

In 89S52 the pin P1.7 has extra operation(i.e. used as clock pin for ISP) compared to 89c52 which may be the cause.
Logged

Never Never Never giveup
Rony
Inactive

Offline Offline

Posts: 1

Thank You
-Given: 8
-Receive: 0


« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2012, 06:08:31 18:08 »

there is no problem with the code. If i cut off the capacitor the code works or if i replace 89S52 with 89C52 the same code works. Huh
I feel the DC level maintains at pin because of cap
Logged
technovm
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100

Thank You
-Given: 65
-Receive: 104



« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2012, 06:43:08 06:43 »

I feel the DC level maintains at pin because of cap
But if I use the same with 89C52 it works. So there is some difference in the two IC's(89C52 and 89S52) which is not mentioned in the datasheet, though they say they are same, besides the low voltage programming.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 06:47:38 06:47 by technovm » Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC