Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 12, 2022, 03:56:25 15:56


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: www.poweresim.com - half-bridge topoloy circuit error ?  (Read 838 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
OrciBorg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 10


« on: June 24, 2022, 01:44:33 13:44 »

Hi guys, I'm using the powersim site to help design a power supply.

In the half-bridge topology, the voltage going to the transformer is half the input voltage, but the sch shown on the website is different. This is normal ? See link below.

https://www.poweresim.com/index2.jsp?pc=1095
Logged
vern
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 142

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 40


« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2022, 04:14:30 16:14 »

I only see an empty sheet when I click the link
Logged
OrciBorg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 10


« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2022, 08:06:45 20:06 »


Try this
https://www.poweresim.com/index2.jsp?topologytype=89&lang=E&count=1&ACDCinput=AC&Vmax=240&Vmin=200&fo_max=&fo_min=&Vo0=55&Io0=20&Vo1=null&Io1=null&Vo2=null&Io2=null&Vo3=null&Io3=null&Vo4=null&Io4=null&deduct=40&HvStack1=false&HvStack2=false&HvStack3=false&HvStack4=false&HvSign0=1&HvSign1=1&HvSign2=1&HvSign3=1&HvSign4=1&Reinit=false&bShowVo=true&Loading0=-1&Loading1=-1&Load_ini_N=-1&Load_Iled=-1
Logged
vern
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 142

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 40


« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2022, 08:07:39 20:07 »

Quote
In the half-bridge topology, the voltage going to the transformer is half the input voltage

the input of the transformer is switched between full input voltage and Gnd, that is correct, but the other end of the transformer is connected to a capacitive divider, C2 and C3.
There you have 1/2 of the input voltage (if C2and C3 have the same value), so the transformer only sees half the input voltage, either  V+ to V+/2 when M2 is on  (polarity = + on top of transformer - on bottom) or V+/2 to ground if M1 is on (polarity = - on top of transformer + on bottom)
Logged
OrciBorg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

Thank You
-Given: 92
-Receive: 10


« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2022, 12:32:37 12:32 »

I do not think so. The value of C2 is 100pF and together with R10 it forms the snubber.

The value of C3 is 6.8uF and it is there to not let the DC level pass to the transformer.
Logged
vern
V.I.P
Active Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 142

Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 40


« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2022, 03:15:54 15:15 »

you are right, I didn't look thoroughly enough at the schematic and it doesn't show values anyway which makes it harder to interpret it.
Anyway,  the half bridge with the capacitive divider is used very often, the advantage is the voltage levels on the components are lower because the input voltage is divided in half.
In your case I think you have a kind of a resonant converter, I have no experience with that type, but I think you have the full voltage levels.

Logged
Sideshow Bob
Cracking Team
Hero Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 852

Thank You
-Given: 216
-Receive: 858



« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2022, 05:33:49 17:33 »

I looked at your schematic a day ago. I noticed it was an inductor that did not had both pins connected
Logged

I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC