Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2016, 03:24:35 15:24


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Enable Reset Pin  (Read 2768 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
cowwyland
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 1


« on: July 21, 2008, 12:47:56 00:47 »

Hi,

When I program ATMega8, I set 8MHz internal clock and Disable RESET pin (as
PORTC.6) using AVRProg
The program is running well, but when I want to reprogram again, I can't enable
PORTC.6 as RESET again.   Huh
Help me out of this problem !  Sad
« Last Edit: July 21, 2008, 12:51:29 00:51 by cowwyland » Logged
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2018

Thank You
-Given: 514
-Receive: 477


Top Topic Starter


« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2008, 01:14:25 01:14 »

You need to use parallel programming. If you have ever looked to the ISP schematics, ISP programming header or JTAG header, you will find that RESET pin is used to as a part of the programming/debugging task.

Look at the datasheet page 223 Note 4:

4. When programming the RSTDISBL Fuse Parallel Programming has to be used to change fuses or perform further programming.

BTW, why did u disable it ? How lucky you are any way, before you perform any operations on the fuses, read the datasheet to be sure of what you are doing Smiley
Logged

nothing to say..
otter
V.I.P
Junior Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 56

Thank You
-Given: 195
-Receive: 2


« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 12:58:03 00:58 »

Yep, been there, done that.
I make sure I don't use that pin now unless I really, really have to, because using a parallel programmer means that a) you have got to have one and b) you have to unsolder the device and put it in a socket. That's not too bad if it is in DIP, but SOIC or QFP or worse still uBGA is just a pain. Probably safer to remove the device and replace it ( and try not to use that pin for anything other than reset/programming)
Logged
sacoroxo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23

Thank You
-Given: 29
-Receive: 26


« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 02:11:03 02:11 »

Here ( http://www.der-hammer.info/hvprog/index_en.htm ) you can find a easy to build parallel programmer.
The autor says "the only possibility to 'rescue' AVR controllers when you i.e disabled the reset or SPI fuses"

Good Luck.
Logged
pak
Junior Member
**
 Muted
Offline Offline

Posts: 61

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 17


« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2008, 04:49:08 16:49 »

try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak
Logged
anatom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8

Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 0


« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 09:18:52 09:18 »

try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak

Did'nt work for me... Must try using parallel programmer   Sad
Logged
Mega32
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175

Thank You
-Given: 71
-Receive: 38


« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2008, 10:47:22 22:47 »

try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak

This is usually done when the clockfuses has been set wronlgy.

Won't work for a Reset disable...

The only thing that can cure that , is as suggested above .. a HighVoltage Parallel programming.

Mega32
Logged
LEAS
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 19


« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2008, 11:15:29 11:15 »

For thise aim exist another way. You mast have same another MCU and second MCU mast be programmed special program. I see thise in internet and download it(though I have parallel programmer). if this whomever it is necessary i find it in my discs and attach or upload anywhere.
Logged
johnri
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

Thank You
-Given: 21
-Receive: 12


« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2008, 05:35:47 05:35 »

You could try this simple AVR Fuse-Lock Bit Programmer.

It comes with source code.

http://rapidshare.com/files/141207604/Simple_AVR_Fuse-Lock_Bit_Programmer_v1.0_beta.zip.html
Logged
LEAS
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 19


« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2008, 03:01:36 15:01 »

http://startcd.narod.ru/rstdisbl_mega8/rstdisbl.htm
RSTDIS in Mega8 change to start condition. Who can read in Russian.
Logged
dennis78
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74

Thank You
-Given: 118
-Receive: 129


« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2008, 02:00:39 02:00 »

http://startcd.narod.ru/rstdisbl_mega8/rstdisbl.htm
RSTDIS in Mega8 change to start condition. Who can read in Russian.

try translate with http://translate.google.com
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC